We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Axe Throwing class w/ spa visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Really great place for a family kickoff to summer. The resort had a full range of kids activities, that give parents time to golf and book a spa visit. The view of the mountains from the covered front porch is amazing! The ax throwing class and contest was a great start to the weekend!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank bobodeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear bobodeman,

Thank you for your review. Your kind remarks are appreciated and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,011 - 1,017 of 2,110 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Late April 2014 Destination Wedding at Mountain View Grand Resort was pure pleasure. Could be a place your parents or grandparents stayed as well. They have put a ton of money into its renovation and it has been re-done to perfection. It is old world elegant with the ballroom to match. It is fit for any bride and groom to feel very special. Food presentation did not disappoint; gentlemen's bar (for all) it was great fun to gather there in the late afternoon after various activities to meet with friends for cocktails before function or dinner in or out. Wonderful staff welcomed you as you arrived and two days later your luggage collected from your amazing rooms & sent to your cars. The staff wish you well until next visit "safe trips home". . .

Room Tip: Book early - very popular destination from NY, MA, and more . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear gconroy,

Your review is appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind remarks. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and we would be more than happy to welcome you again soon.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Our stay at the Mountain View Grand was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We had dinner both nights in the tavern and it was excellent! The bar tenders Jim and Bob were fun and provided great service. The smores by the fire at night made for a fun sunset. Our room was very comfortable and had a beautiful view of the mountains from our private deck. The hotel is up to date with modern amenities, but has a lot of the original historical structure and decor.
My only wish would be for the hotel to have dog friendly rooms because we normally travel and hike with our dog.
Thanks!

Room Tip: It is worth the upgrade price to get a room with a view because the view is incredible. Splurging on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Terry N,

Thank you for taking the time to review. We appreciate your review and your kind words about the resort and its staff. We have shared your review and we hope to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have just finished a five night stay in this beautiful hotel which I have to be honest and say I booked by mistake! What a good mistake to have made. This is a very special hotel, it is stunning, in a beautiful location and has exceptional staff. Exceptional!
From the start we were made to feel most welcome. We booked in on Monday afternoon and were a little disappointed with the vista of the room but not for long. The long walk to the room was perhaps the only negative of our stay here and would probably be a deciding factor in my not staying again. We were on the third floor. There is one lift which has to be operated by a member of staff so we only used it on taking our luggage up and then down again when we left. So other than that it was three flights of stairs and then quite a walk from the stairs to the other side of the hotel where our room was. My husband does triathlons and the stairs wore him out so goodness only knows how the more immobile cope. On one of the nights I just couldn't face coming back up the stairs so we didn't go down stairs!
But as I say. This is the only negative. We both partook in the spa which was fantastic. We ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast on a number of occasions. The usual rather large American portions with a lot of sauce but really great and super attentive staff. On the first night we were the only people in the restaurant at 8pm which was awesome for us in terms of service. The server couldn't have been more attentive.
We tried the axe throwing which was interesting and we did the hotel history tour which was interesting. We borrowed the hotel cinema to watch The Shining - which had to be done. This is a really nice touch, popcorn and a big screen. Excellent. We loved the parlour and had a game of chess. We ran every morning along the nature trail which was fab and got to see the cattle out back.
Housekeeping was exceptional. The tips we got from the doorman were phenomenal. He couldn't have been more helpful if he tried.
The location is great for the White Mountains, everything is a good drive away this is quite central for those drives. Or you could just sit in the hotel which we did one morning and relaxed in front of the fire.
Thank you for a lovely stay made so special by your lovely staff. As I say I guess the only downside of an exceptional hotel was the distance to the room and I think that I'm all the more surprised that the room was so located given how few people were staying in the hotel whilst we were there.

Room Tip: Consider being near the lift as this will save on the walk particularly if you are fairly immobile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macavity22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear macavity22,

Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear you were able to take advantage of many of the activities and amenities we have to offer. Your kind remarks about the resort and its staff are appreciated and have been shared. We hope to welcome you again.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Took the lady out for a birthday getaway mid week 5/1. 2 night ROMANCE stay package. I was informed by some friends that have stayed to get the Sok tub no matter what because it will BLOW YOUR MIND.

Only negative of the entire stay was the boiler was being refurbed and was not able to partake in this. We opted to use the credit for a facial at the spa instead, which ended up costing me more because of gratuity...irritated at the principle of this not the gratuity. Not a big deal either!

The hotel is really beautiful, the weather looked to be horrible but managed to cooperate after we arrived, and the views are downright impressive. Coming up the pretty yet desolate 93, it really was almost out of nowhere to see this hotel among the ramshackle huts and little camp sites.

Room was cozy and the bed was comfy, tvs are old in the room but more than fine down in the bar. Sadly forgot the barkeeps name but he was a very nice man and the lady says his bloody mary mix was amazing.

Food at the pub and the breakfast each day was really spot on. Great chowder, buffalo chicken pizza was delicious, pulled pork sandwhich really good. BUT THE PANCAKES. ARE YOU GUYS NUTS WITH THESE PANCAKES? Best pancakes ever.

We threw axes with a very nice man, it was unexpected how fun it was to be throwing axes like an animal in this pretty golfcourse fancy place. A medal and bragging rights were had.

Pool and hot tub were nice, fun murals all around the place for the kids to enjoy if we had brought him, the gym is pretty well equipped also for a hotel gym.

The fanciest thing i've ever taken part in, dinner in the Wine Cellar, was amazing. Keith the maitre de was so nice, he had done a wine tasting earlier in the day and was really smart with all his suggestions, the room was super romantic and just perfect really. Food was amazing, Sam the sous chef plated our meals for us at the table, lamb and filet were both perfect, and the desserts were incredible.

Everyone here is so nice, the bellmen and the front desk girls it's great. Even delivered a little birthday card/gift to the room and I dont even remember telling them it was her birthday. TOP NOTCH. 6 Thumbs up.

Room Tip: Probably want to splurge on the view rooms facing the mountains but the lobbies and porch have so mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Tim L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your constructive feedback is appreciated and has been shared. Thank you for your complements. We're glad you were able to enjoy the amenities we have to offer. We hope to welcome you to the resort again in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was an amazing, professional, beautiful resort and spa. Ms. Baker runs activities,and was amazing!!! we were all laughing throughout and she was a draw that would bring us back. Food was delicious, everything was very clean. Personal Movie Theater was a great perk.

Room Tip: Grab a mountain view room if possible, the suite was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Mike L,

Thank you for your review. We're glad that you were able to enjoy our amenities. We hope to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at the Mountain View Grand this weekend while my wife attended a planning conference on 5/3/2014. We have a 6 and a 3-year old daughter and while it was both fantastic and peaceful to have a bit of time removed from our day to day lunacy, after we experienced what the hotel had to offer, we fervently yearned for our little tadpoles to be with us.
As we walked the hotel grounds inside and out, we witnessed innumerable events that would make any family thrilled and ecstatic.
We lived it up the first night after cooking up smores right in front of the hotel, something so simple and childlike, yet magnificently lifted us reeling back to seemingly irrecoverable youth.

We met Ms. Baker the next morning after my wife shamed me into participating in the axe throwing competition, and were immediately drawn to her warmth and welcoming inclination. She ran the event and managed several other events throughout the day.
I also took a guided hike with a hotel employee, straddling the green and the blue trail. The employee was super friendly and flexible to what sort of hike I wanted to do that day. He was 19 and extremely friendly.
The Farm area was another experience that stood out to us, as the staff was very receptive and offered up as much time as needed to answer any questions we had.
Next time we visit, our we are extremely optimistic that our daughters will enjoy the Mountain View Grand and all the activities that they offer.

I can't convey enough how kind, amiable and welcoming the staff was and I highly endorse and recommend you to visit the Mountain View Grand!
Craig Harris

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CraigRHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear CraigRHarris,

Thank you for your review. Your kind remarks about the resort, the staff and Ms. Baker are appreciated and have been shared. It's great that you were able to take advantage of many of the activities we have to offer. We would be more than happy to welcome you again with your daughters.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
12 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
326 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
777 reviews
9.8 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
218 reviews
12.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,853 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range: £127 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa Whitefield, White Mountains, New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing