We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will return again and again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Have spent the last six birthdays celebrating at the MVG, and there's no need to go elsewhere. Absolutely fabulous grounds, spectacular food, and activities for everyone. the SPA experience is top knotch. Visit the barn for a learning experience for all ages, and welcome the three week old baby llamas. Even the most "type A" personalities will relax here. its got everything you need, state of the art fitness center, spa, golf, barn, two pools, even an indoor movie theatre.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sharon763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear sharon763,

Thank you for your review and for choosing the Mountain View Grand to celebrate your special occasions. Your comments are appreciated and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,037)
There are newer reviews for Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

909 - 915 of 2,037 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our family of 4 spent 3 nights at this hotel for the 4th and had a fabulous time. The hotel overall was very clean including the rooms. My best experience was the axe throwing for me and my husband with Ms. Baker - totally addicting. Also, our girls were entertained from the pools to the movie theater to the game room. The outdoor pool was sensational - fabulous pizza and cocktails. The staff were undeniably great and extremely accommodating. We will definitely be back, and to quote our 4 year old to the front desk our first day there "this is the best day ever".

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alabama-Slammah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Alabama-Slammah,

Thank you for reviewing. It sounds like your family was able to take advantage of many of the amenities we have to offer. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and that you are looking to return. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Six years later we returned with 2 kids in tow this time, ages 4 and 7, and having been able to take advantage of even more activities and amenities. Husband loved the ax-throwing, and we all enjoyed the fourth of July festivities, which included a parade, kids' carnival, and fireworks. Large studio room was bright and accommodated us very well. Adored breakfast each morning, especially the service and views... Enjoyed our dinner out on the porch - will do that now every time we're there. New hiking trails offered a lot of choices, and the farm tour entertained parents and kids alike. Thanks to the awesome activities staff at the Mountaineering Club, and to Ms. Baker for enthusiastically welcoming us! We'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ko13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear ko13,

It was great you were able to return to us for another visit! We're glad that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your kind remarks about Ms. Baker and the staff. They are appreciated and have been shared. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

just returned from another FABULOUS 4th at the MVG! Ms. BobbySue Baker makes this stay extra-special as she is the Director of Activities and (if you so choose) will keep you busy and entertained all day long! The outdoor pool is very relaxing as are the drinks served poolside!

The restaurant could use some of her EXPERTISE direction ..... FOOD IS ABSOLUTELY DELISH!!!! Staff, inexperienced and the whole restaurant/bar isn't used to it's full potential. Will look forward to returning!!!

The SPA is incredible and offer haircuts!! Who knew! ;-)

Room Tip: If you want to spend the extra few bucks...be sure to ask for a room with a view of the mountains...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenann0567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear karenann0567,

Thank you for taking the time to review. We appreciate your feedback about the resort and its staff. We have shared your comments with the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This resort was an amazing family vacation. The MVG is the perfect balance of kid time and adult time with family time. My husband and 2 girls (10 and 8) enjoyed every moment of our stay. The hotel was gorgeous, the views stunning. Our room (a queen bed with a queen sofa pullout) was exceptionally clean and very comfortable. We didn't spend any time in our room other than to shower and sleep and it served our needs very well. The game room, theater and board games kept us busy when it got too hot and when it rained. The pools were fabulous.

All the staff we encountered were courteous, polite and helpful. The Mountaineering Club staff was so good with our girls. I felt absolutely safe leaving our children in their care. There is one person who stands out for making sure we ALL had a fabulous time - Ms. Baker, activities director. She was equally comfortable with adults as she was with children. And when Arthur threatened the 4th of July activities, she still managed to pull off a spectacular parade and carnival that was just as much fun for me as it was for my girls. And having her teach my husband and I how to throw an axe will go down as one of our all time favorite things we have ever done together. You MUST do the axe throwing - no "axe-cuses" for missing this!!! The 4th of July fireworks were unbelievable and rivaled that of the small city that I live in.

The pizza at the Club House was fantastic. The Tavern food was delicious although service was a little slow especially at dinner on the 4th. There was a great buffet for kids at the Tavern on the 4th though so they were able to eat quickly and then wander off to the game room while the adults waited for their dinner.

We did not utilize the spa nor did we have breakfast at the hotel so I cannot rate those aspects.

Overall, a perfect family getaway. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We were on the front side of the hotel directly above the porch and it was very quiet for sleeping...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4H-Club
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear 4H-Club,

Thank you for your review. We're glad you and your family had a memorable 4th of July and were able to enjoy many of the activities we have to offer. We appreciate your kind remarks and we hope to welcome you back to the resort again in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We arrived on a Saturday, and although there was a wedding scheduled, and clearly lots of activity surrounding it, we were greeted and given instructions and taken to our room. The room was small, but the bed was wonderful, soft and comfortable. We were over the front veranda, but no noise disturbed us either night.

Since this was a spur of the moment trip, we weren't planning any special events,like golf, but there were plenty available. At the evening turn down service we received a listing of the following day's activities, which was wonderful.

We enjoyed the foreign students who were at the bar and restaurant. They were helpful and enthusiastic, and a delight to visit with. We did not find any language barrier, especially when you are there to enjoy the moment and the people.

We would definitely return here, at any time of year. Although we visited this time in June/July, It is very clear that the winter months would be as inviting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BookyNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear BookyNancy,

Thank you for taking the time to review. It sounds like you had a relaxing and enjoyable visit with us. We're happy to learn that you are looking to return. We look forward to welcoming you during the winter months.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was our second trip to the Mountain View Grand and it was as great as we remembered! The staff is unbelievably friendly and helpful. The staff to guest ratio seems very high, and there was always someone available to help answer any questions we had.
The views and the property are stunning, but the real charm are the multitude of family activities they provide (no extra cost).
Our kids had a great time at the pools, the farm, the game room and the movie theater. SO much to do there! At one point, we were swimming and the activities director came to the pool to do "Cardboard Boat Races" . They gave us cardboard, duct tape, and had us construct a boat (that our son rode in!) while we pushed him around the shallow end. It was hilarious and all of the families there had a great time. SO MUCH FUN!
I visited the spa for a massage and it was excellent. They are not missing a thing!
The Mountain View Grand Resort is truly a throwback to a time of wonderful customer service and good clean family fun. They even had iced tea and cookies in the lobby in the afternoons. Super, super, super!
If you are looking for the perfect family spot (only 15 mins from Santa's Village!), this is it. I can't honestly come up with a 'negative' to list!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris382014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Kris382014,

Thank you for taking the time to review. It's fantastic to hear that you and your family had such a fun and enjoyable stay here at the resort. Cardboard Boat Racing is one of our favorite summer activities and it's great you were able to participate. We would be more than happy to welcome you again for a future stay.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
12.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
310 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
758 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
126 reviews
12.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,610 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range: £128 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa Whitefield, White Mountains, New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing