We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the words of my kids best vacation "Eva"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
EG
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“In the words of my kids best vacation "Eva"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at Mountain View. It is a great family resort. Kids enjoyed the kids club and my husband and I had some free time to run, hit the gym and have breakfast. It was the best of both worlds. Kids loved the game room, movie theater and free popcorn. We all loved the restaurant each night, menu was diverse and the food was great. There are many activities we especially liked bingo with prizes and everything. Already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Jenn A,

We're glad you and your family enjoyed your return visit to the resort. We appreciate your kind remarks and we're glad to know that everyone in your family had fun. We look forward to welcoming you for your third stay.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,187
    466
    151
    91
    63
See reviews for
775
767
31
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a wonderful overnight celebration of our 50th anniversary. This is a beautiful 149 year of hotel that has adapted to today but maintained the charm of yesteryear. There are vistas to be enjoyed from nooks and crannies all through the hotel as well as from the rockers on the extended porch and Adirondack chairs placed around the grounds. There are plenty of activities for all ages but we chose to have a massage at the spa, drinks on the porch, and a delicious dinner at the gourmet restaurant "The Wine Cellar." There was a wedding party gathering and many families with children around but we found our own quiet space, relaxed and enjoyed. Next time I hope to partake of more of the amenities and there WILL be a next time.

Room Tip: We registered late so accepted a small room with a queen bed. It was very comfortable, with charm a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baron-1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Baron-1960,

It's great to hear you're planning a return visit. Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We're truly proud of our historic past and look forward to celebrating our 150th anniversary next year. We anticipate welcoming you back!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOSTON, MA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a very nice, romantic hotel with beautiful scenery and landscaping. We wanted a romantic, historic type lodging that would be close to Mt Washington. The staff were very friendly and the Bell "boys" were very attentive.
We didn't have much time to enjoy the activities on site, but from what we saw, everyone was having a great time.

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms are worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMSTOCKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear KMSTOCKS,

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for reviewing and for your complements about the Bell Staff. We hope to welcome you again and that you are able to take advantage of the many activities we have to offer.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stopped in at the clubhouse for a relaxing lunch in the mountains; got a table at poolside. Lots of people and kids there but was not feeling crowded. All the staff was excellent and provided quick service. Area around the hotel was very clean and well kept. Had a well prepared grilled chicken Caesar salad in a large bowl with a new england lemonade drink . Highly recommended on a hot day. Will certainly return whenever the weather permits!

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight, but prior stays have been quite satisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trebord90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear littlebob4u,

We appreciate you taking the time to review. We're glad you enjoyed your meal at the Club House and were able to experience our new menu. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Mountain View Grand was one of those places to get away from the big city and enjoy. It was very peaceful here. They have the best farm with several alpaca, sheep and goats. That was super fun. The food is good, not 5 star, but they don't pretend to be. The staff is foreign, that is true but they are learning English and are helpful to guests. We had the kind upgraded room and it was very spacious. The bed was comfortable. The best thing about it was the porch at sunset. Grab a glass of wine, sit, sip and relax.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momopies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Momopies,

Thank you for reviewing the resort. It's great to know you enjoyed your visit and we appreciate your kind words. We hope we will be able to welcome you for a return stay at some point in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Love this place! We have a summer home close by but we still stay here every once in a while for a treat. Old classic charm with amazing hospitality and views are awe inspiring! Axe throwing and mountaineering club were a big hit for this family, worth the $!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ENM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear ENM26,

Thank you for your review and your continued patronage. Your kind words are appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This resort has something for all of us. For kids, they have very organized game room. We ordered some movie and watched it in movie theater (popcorn included ).My husband and son was very happy in Big pool outside . Food was Excellent!!!!

Room Tip: Third floor is best for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinochkaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear MarinochkaS,

Thank you for reviewing. We're glad you and your family enjoyed some of the numerous amenities we have to offer. We hope to welcome you again to the Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
12.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
9.8 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
12.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Property: Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa Whitefield, White Mountains, New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing