We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our family has gone to the Mountain View Grand a few times now and every time we pull in we get that great feeling that good and relaxing times are up ahead.

From having a cocktail looking at the gorgeous view of the mountains to going on a bike ride, there are many activities for adults and children.

And nothing like starting your day with a friendly game of axe throwing. Definitely recommended, Ms Baker from the Resort will get you throwing bull's eye in no time. In addition to Ms Baker, you will notice that all of the staff is very friendly and professional.

Looking forward to head back there

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear F B,

We appreciate your review. Thank you for your positive notes about Ms. Baker and our staff. It's great that you are considering a return visit and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

908 - 914 of 2,059 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great place! activities throughout the day and night. Child friendly. Great history. Will definitely come again. Try the axe throwing competition! Tennis courts are great. Kids loved the playground. Drop off the kids at the mountaineering club for a relaxing day.





Room Tip: Some rooms are a long ways from lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Axe Thrower E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Axe Thrower E,

Thank you for your review. Axe Throwing is a fantastic experience and we're glad you enjoyed the competition. We hope you will consider returning to the resort in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Mountain View Grand Resort is a wonderful place to stay in northern New Hampshire. There are a number of activities on-site (mountain biking, hiking, golf, swimming---to name a few. Staff members were extremely helpful and very accommodating. A shoutout to Shelby Stetson for her excellent "above and beyond" customer service. The on-site restaurant was fabulous with equally excellent customer service. Finally, the hotel was clean and very well maintained even though it is a historical property--it has been kept very nicely. I highly recommend Mount View Grand Resort as a place to stay in New Hampshire.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Mary G,

Your review and considerate remarks about our staff are appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to review and share your thoughts with us. We hope to welcome you again for a future visit.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The grounds are incredible, the staff are friendly and attentive. From the outside the resort looks like a throw back to days gone by, beautiful grand hotel. The inside is modernized and amenities are first rate. Now to the wonderful staff. Ms. Baker and her activities staff were super when my husband and 16 year old son did "axe throwing". Ms. Baker let my son spend some extra time after the session ensuring he "stuck the axe". This was one of our son's highlights of our vacation ( in addition to the glorious out door pool and indoor game room). Jana, our waitress at the outdoor pool was efficient and attentive to our food and drink needs. I took advantage of the resorts spa, where Olivia gave me a much needed pedicure. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bbtchr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear bbtchr13,

Thank you for your review. Axe Throwing is truly a unique and enjoyable experience and we're glad you and your family were able to participate. Your kind words about Ms. Baker and the rest of the staff are greatly appreciated and have been shared. We hope to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

What a lovely old rambling hotel. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and roomy. The lobby are is inviting with many comfy spots to curl up in front of the fire and read a book. The kids are able to roam around and enjoy the movie theatre, the rec room, and all of the children's program which include arts and crafts, candy bar bingo etc. the little pub is cozy and cute! The proximity to Bretton Woods and Cannon for skiing is great! There is ice skating, sledding, xcountry skiing, dog sledding! Swimming pools and more. A great place to go with a bunch of families for a good old fashion winter vacation! The staff are also wonderfully accommodating and try so hard to please!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owl90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Owl90,

Thank you for taking the time to review. We're happy to hear you and your family enjoy your stay with us this past winter. We hope we can welcome you back again soon to experience the resort during the warmer season.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

When we pulled up at the hotel we were so excited. The hotel and views were more beautiful then any picture I had viewed. The setting took my breath away. I felt like I was at the Grand Hotel on Mackinaw Island. The veranda and lobby were very sophisticated. My family couldn't wait to sit back and relax and enjoy all of the amenities. The physical appeal was the only similarity to the Grand Hotel Mackinaw. We went to eat at the tavern and the first thing we saw is a whole buffet just for children. Kids were yelling and running around the restaurant. The staff in the restaurant did not appear to be trained and the experience was disappointing. We tried to relax on the veranda and in the lobby but there were children running through the lobby in their swimsuits and the atmosphere felt like a chaotic water park setting. I am a strong advocate for establishments that cater to families and we traveled frequently when are children were younger. The problem is you can't sit and relax and enjoy a spa like retreat when children are running around unsupervised as they were at a a water park.

We were very disappointed.

Room Tip: Do not come if you are planning to come to relax and enjoy the scenery. Very loud and chaotic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Carol K,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay at the Mountain View Grand.

I have attempted to contact you to discuss your comments, but I have not received a response. It is our goal to ensure all of our guests are comfortable and have an enjoyable stay, and I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit to the resort.

We are a family friendly property and in the summer, the majority of our guests are families. As I am sure you can understand, children on vacation are sometimes excited. We do host numerous children and family activities away from our interior public space and encourage parents and children to be considerate of others.

I would be more than happy to discuss your stay in greater detail so I may gain more insight into what you experienced and better address your concerns. Feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience. Your feedback is very important to us, as it provides guidance in our never-ending pursuit of improvement.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed at this historic hotel earlier this week. They are doing so many things right, but we had some mis-connects that affected our stay. Firstly, the hotel has been beautifully renovated to preserve all the grace and splendor of the original grand hotel while providing modern day conveniences and amenities for today's guests. We appreciated having the choice of using air conditioning, ceiling fan or open windows in our room. Shower water pressure was terrific. Thank you for providing cable tv channel list right on the nightstand! The views are spectacular and we spent lots of time relaxing on the front porch.

Our frustrations came on the golf course and in the restaurant. Arriving a bit early for our tee time we were disappointed to find that there are no practice/warm-up spaces whatsoever. After our long drive to the hotel we asked to purchase bottled water for our round and were told that nothing opens until 11am so none was available,.. although we could find water jugs and paper cups at two holes on the course - not acceptable. Later after playing 18 holes we stopped in at the clubhouse restaurant to have a cold beer or two. We waited and waited and waited and finally the beers were brought out not opened and they did not have screw caps. We improvised (the old hand punch on the edge of the table trick) and got them open, and eventually ordered another round. Same thing...long delay, unopened delivery. Turns out, each time we ordered a beverage someone had to 'run' up to the inn and bring the beer back down to the clubhouse restaurant. How hard could it be to stock some beer at the clubhouse verandah?

We arrived early for dinner that evening and were rewarded with a wonderful mountain view table. Several in our party wanted to order filet mignon but our waitress explained that the chef could not prepare it to be red or pink...only medium-well to well-done. WHAT? So two of us ordered the sirloin and two chose fish dishes. The steaks were inedible - nicely pink but so tough and tasteless that they remained uneaten on the plate. The stuffed haddock and cioppino were delicious. So, lesson learned, order seafood. To the hotel's credit they were responsive to the uneaten dinners and offered alternative substitutions. We also found Chris and Eric at the bar to be very gracious and friendly and excellent bar tenders. We retired to the front porch to sip Irish Coffees and watch the sun set - perfect.

Breakfast turned into another dining disaster. We waited quite awhile for the waitress to come to take our order. We didn't want lots of food so decided not to do the breakfast buffet, but ordered off the menu. Simple eggs and pancakes were ordered. We waited, and waited, and waited, as folks who arrived after us got their food, ate and left. Finally after 45 minutes and many apologies our food arrived. Second lesson learned, do the breakfast buffet!

So all-in-all we had a nice stay, but it pains me that we can't say - we loved it! Some improvements to the food and beverage service are definitely needed, but the hotel itself is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Obviously rooms at the front of the hotel enjoy spectacular views of the mountain ranges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Boston-Travel-Diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Boston-Travel-Diva,

I appreciate you taking the time to express your concerns in regards to your recent visit. We have attempted to contact you via email in response to the guest survey you submitted, and have also contacted you through TripAdvisor direct message. In your written reply to our TripAdvisor message, you stated you would give us a call, but we have not heard from you.

I would like to offer my sincere apologize for the inconveniences you experienced in our restaurants. I have reviewed your comments with the individuals involved to improve our performance. For training purposes, I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you in the hope of amending your concerns. If you are willing, please feel free to contact me directly.

Adam Parker
Director of Food and Beverage Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
12.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
315 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
763 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
135 reviews
12.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,668 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range: £129 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa Whitefield, White Mountains, New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing