We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We went here with our 3 kids this past Labor day weekend 2013.We had such a fabulous time! The kids enjoyed the camp fire and making smokes. There were so many things to do and sadly we did not have time for the day activities as we went to Santa's village(which was a blast as well!)
In the evening, the kids attended movie night and had popcorn and hot chocolate. The only downside was that during movie night, some of the guests were not too pleased with having to share the movie of their choice with the others, but all the same it did not let our spirits down! The views from the rooms (overlooking the whet mountains) is breath taking and absolutely amazing. It was well worth the 2 days we went and I felt like we could've spent at least another 2 days and we would still love it! We plan to spend our labor day weekend this year as well with the lovely staff of MVG who have been great and accommodating during our stay. We travelled with our 1 yr old and the staff came in with the pack and play and set it all up for us. Can't wait for labor day 2014:-)

Room Tip: Try and request for a room with the view of the White mountains. It really makes a fresh start in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarenDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear CarenDV,

Thank you for your review. Your kind remarks about the resort and its staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back during Labor Day this year.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

919 - 925 of 2,091 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

We spent a lot of money to stay in this "Luxury" Resort. Our experience was mixed. Dinner in the Wine Cellar was outstanding. It was the highlight of our stay. All 4 of us agreed we were willing to spend the money for the experience. Staff was outstanding; food was outstanding, and ambiance was exceptional.
The rooms are nothing special and I would rate them average or a bit below. The activities were fun - ax throwing, bocce clinic, however the spa tour and bocce clinic were lead by less than enthusiastic young men; clearly not excited about their job.
The most upsetting was dinner in the Tavern on our last night. We asked to be seated next to the window and were told "It's best that you sit over here." (not the window) Once pressed she agreed, but told us it was "a lot of work" to add the placemats and settings!
Drinks took at least 20 minutes to arrive; maybe even 30. Spoke to the manager and then our appetizers arrived before the drinks, even though we had requested our drinks before our food. Once again, we stated to hold our dinner, but that didn't happen. Orders were not correct, but we settled. Overall very poor. We complained to the manager and he said he'd see what he could do. Meanwhile the waitress came over and asked us if we were ready for our check. The manager did comp our dinners but still left us with a bad taste in our mouths.
If I am going to pay a lot of money to stay in a resort, I expect something above and beyond. This was not delivered.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeelie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, Food & Beverage Director of Operations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Jeelie B,

I appreciate you taking the time to express your concerns about the property's service levels and amenities. We personally examine every comment, good and bad, to try to ensure that our staff improves each day.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with our dining service. We have reached out to you through the Trip Advisor messaging system, but we have not heard back from you.

I have spoken with the staff you came in contact with in the Tavern to better understand your experience.

When you arrived at the Tavern, you were greeted promptly and seated. Water was poured and your drink orders were taken. After five minutes, you spoke with your server and expressed your concern that the drinks were taking too long. After speaking with the manager, your server, Petya, brought drinks within minutes. In response to your concern on the drink service, the manager on duty, Anthony went to check on your order. About ten minutes later the appetizers arrived and less than fifteen minutes later, the entrees arrived.

Just after the entrees arrived, one of your companions got up from the table and approached Anthony at the podium and said, “The service is terrible and slow, and just so you know I am not paying for anything!”

Anthony apologized for the inconvenience and comped your dinner bill. After saying goodbye to your server and tipping her, you then left and did not speak to anyone about the situation further.

The service level you experienced in the Tavern is disappointing, and I have personally spoken with those involved. I do however, regret that you did not find our efforts to rectify the situation amendable.

Adam Parker
Food & Beverage Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We've returned to the MVG every year for about 8 years. Our three kids always put it at the top of their list of things they want to do before summer is over. The location is absolutely beautiful, surrounded by mountains. The hotel feels elegant, but never stuffy. The front porch is a dream - the perfect spot to sit with a drink and enjoy the mountains. The kids love the indoor and outdoor pools, the game room with ping pong and air hockey and breakfast in the restaurant with views of the mountains. The food is amazing. There are so many things we've still never gotten to do there - like the family activities, the movie screening room, golf, tennis, bocce. We'll just have to go back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAMom16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear MAMom16,

Thank you for your continued patronage. It's great that you and your family enjoy your time at the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back next year for your return visit!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It was a pleasure to experience this remarkable restoration of one of New Hampshire's "Grand Dames," the great resort hotels of a past era. The public rooms, especially the library, are a day dreamers delight wherein one can muse and speculate upon the long gone lives of privileged guests from past decades and wonder if their muted conversations still linger somewhere in the cozy corners where, if one is very still, one might overhear a tidbit of Boston gossip or the opinions of the day in Hartford, Providence, or New York. The staff are bright, engaging, helpful and very eager to please. And please they do. They add their potions to the cauldron of magic that makes a stay here something akin to a happy dream creeping into an afternoon nap taken on the veranda with a myriad mountain peaks watching over the dreamer.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms offer the best panoramic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bangkokbard1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Bangkokbard1968,

Thank you for your review and your kind words about the resort staff. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our first trip to Mountainview with our family and I can't say enough about this place. The food was fantastic - I have a food allergy and they were very accommodating. The staff was very professional and the activities for the grandchildren were great. They really enjoyed the Mountaineering club and they are still talking about the Christmas in July Party. Ms. Baker, the Activities Director, did a great job keeping the kids entertained. We are looking forward to our next vacation at Mountainview.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Roberta B,

Thank you for reviewing! Your kind remarks about the resort and it's staff are appreciated and have been shared. We are happy we were able to accommodate your needs and that you are looking to return. We would be more than happy to welcome you again.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here 5 nights in July, with our 2 kids, 12 and 16. There is nothing in Whitefield but when you drive up to the hotel you are instantly amazed by the spectacular view and beautiful hotel. The gardens and grounds are in perfect condition, the hotel is historic and old but redone and modern while still charming. The view is worth the price of rooms. Huge front porch width of entire hotel amazing service cocktails and appetizers and relaxing music plays. We got an amazing huge balcony (more like large porch!) with adirondack chairs etc. and a beautiful garden and brook directly below - just beautiful. Hiking and biking trails, indoor and outdoor pools, excellent food (wine cellar worth one night out without kids) Tennis and golf as well. Kids club for small children, would have like to see more activities for older kids but we did the pool, tennis, gym, golf and walks. Game room and movie room lots of fun. Only had manicure in spa but would go back to use the tub in the tower w/360 views. Golf course was adequate. Staff in entire hotel was fantastic - very friendly, helpful, fast. I asked for a blueberry muffin and the Head Baker came out and told me he would bake some for next morning - they even went and picked the berries from their farm!! (next day fresh muffins and blueberry bread pudding appeared!!) He followed up to make sure I was happy!! Great service. Very relaxing vacation we all needed.

Room Tip: If you can get a balcony room on front of hotel, well worth every penny. HUGE balcony and view of mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GatcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear GatcB,

Thank you for your review. We're happy and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments about our resort staff and it's great that you felt you were well taken care of. We hope to welcome you for a return visit in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We are a family of five with three teens. I had originally booked a two night stay, but then added a 3rd night. The resort didn't have the same room type for the 3rd night (which wouldn't fit a rollaway), but we'd make do.

As soon as we arrived, there was a bellman to take our luggage. There are stairs leading up to the main porch, so this helped. We were able to check-in right away (about 2:00pm). Our room (and the other room we had for the 2 other nights) was on the 3rd floor, so be prepared for a lot of stairs. You could also take the elevator, but it needs one of the bellmen to operate it.

The rooms were clean and I found the the beds to be very comfortable. Both rooms had a walk in closet which made storing luggage for 5 very easy and kept the room less cluttered. The first room we had faced west (front of the hotel) which offered a nice view of the golf course and mountains in the distance. Our 2nd room was on the east side of the hotel and offered a view of the parking lot and farm. To me, the room is there to "hang your hat" and you should get out of the room to enjoy the views.

It was a bit rainy when we arrived, so we set about exploring the hotel. We came upon the game parlor on the lobby floor. My son and I proceeded to play chess. There were also checkers, backgammon, and other board games. Then the wine tasting began (4pm). They offered a red and a white and a cheese platter. It was a nice way to start the evening.

That night, we ate at the Tavern. In my opinion, the food was average. Not bad, but nothing special either. After, the kids went to the room and we had a cocktail at the bar in the Tavern. We went in the 3 nights we were there and it was a quiet place to have a drink before going back to the room.

The next day, we headed off campus to go zip lining at Bretton Woods. We got back in time to play some backgammon on the front porch and attend the wine tasting again. We went exploring the grounds, found the tennis courts (looked to be clay? or synthetic clay?) hit the ball for a bit.

We participated in the axe throwing the next morning. Ms. Baker (the instructor) was engaging and funny. We were allowed a practice throw prior to the competition beginning. I was able to hit the target twice and came in 2nd place, earning a medal. I did not earn the right to be called Axe Man, but it was fun never the less. Tip: aim over the target, at the lights on the tennis court behind the targets.

We header over to the clay bocce courts for the 11am clinic. The instructor was late, but he was very helpful in explaining the game as it is supposed to be played on clay (as opposed to grass). We did that for an hour before heading next door to the outdoor pool. We had 4 lounges and the waitress (Jana) was pretty good about checking in with us for drinks, food. At 2:30pm, they started playing Bingo by the pool. We all had fun that day.

Other items of interest: the outdoor chess/checker set, the farm with alpacas and goats, the lily pond/river in the back.

My wife and I would love to go back, this time bringing the golf clubs. The course looked immaculate and not crowded.

Room Tip: Wifi was a little spotty at times. If you have bad legs or hate stairs, request a room on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BonDotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear BonDotts,

Thank you for taking the time to review. We're glad to know that you and your family of five were able to enjoy many of activities and amenities we have to offer. Your comments and review are greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
773 reviews
12 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
323 reviews
9.8 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
218 reviews
12.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,791 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range: £135 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa Whitefield, White Mountains, New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing