We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Whitefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed in the Key West Room - comfortable and cozy with a luxurious bathroom complete with corner shower and a soaking tub. It was in a private corner of the house - nice and quiet! Our hosts went out of their way to be friendly and helpful and to make our stay enjoyable - they recommended wonderful restaurants and secured reservations for us. Breakfast each day was elegant and delicious - we met many interesting fellow guests while sharing breakfast. The B & B is located in a sleepy, tiny town but is close to other more developed areas, so dining and recreation were not a problem. A lovely anniversary weekend!

Room Tip: The Key West room is spacious with a nice bath - Egyptian room was quite luxurious and filled with i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmollo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

Clean accommodations
Breakfast was great
hot tub came in handy after skiing
the owners go out of their way to make you're stay as pleasant as possible
i would definitely recommend this place to a friend

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Just back from what is probably close to our 12th trip (yup that's right) to The Lion and the Rose. Sometimes you just have to follow your heart to what you know you need. 1st class R&R, a room with creature comforts galore (the gas fireplace, the deck for star gazing and the corner hot tub for starters...). Not to mention the rest of the room, the B&B itself, the food, the innkeepers... I think you know what I mean.

The Lion and The Rose in Whitefield, NH. A little piece of heaven in Northern New Hampshire.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank khconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

There is a saying that there is no place like home and in reality that is true. However, if you could take home on the road, it would be located at The Lion and The Rose in Whitfield, NH. Roger and Chris have created a warm environment, a personable sense of hospitality, along with a unique sense of style that allows their quests to feel as though they never left home. I have family that lives in Whitefield, NH but the next time I visit, I will be staying at The Lion and The Rose. I do not believe I can make a more direct and affirmative statement than that.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

It's not as close to the White Mountains as it appears on a map, but the long, windy drive was certainly worth it. Chris and Roger were great and we enjoyed sitting out on the porch drinking wine and eating cheese and crackers the evening we arrived. The only downside to sitting on the porch (which wasn't their fault) was the X-Box booming from the house next door. Roger was going to go over to tell them to knock it off, but it really didn't bother us. The weather was great...we were drinking wine...we weren't at work, so no problem.

Our room wasn't huge but, like the rest of the house, it was furnished nicely (with probably the highest bed we have ever seen). Having a TV in the room was a nice added touch because there really isn't a whole lot going on in Whitefield.

Breakfast was great, with french toast covered in wild Maine blueberries. We had never had these blueberries before and we liked them so much we brought some preserves back home with us. We particularly enjoyed the breakfast conversation as it turned out that one of our table mates actually worked with my wife's cousin back in Wisconsin...small world.

To sum it up, we had a very pleasant stay and would recommend the Lion and the Rose to anyone who finds themselves in Whitefield, NH.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbpakrfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed here for a night during a leaf peeping trip to New Hampshire. Our room had an Egyptian theme, as in a pop culture way, versus a museum. It was great. We had a two person shower, two person Jacuzzi (great after a day of hiking), a balcony, and a comfy king size bed. The innkeepers, Roger and Chris, were very friendly and knowledgeable, saving us from unnecessary traffic on our return to Boston. Breakfast was simple and delicious. We will return on our next trip to the area.

Room Tip: Go with the Egyptian room if you can get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuclear_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Chris and Roger are the perfect hosts! My husband and I stayed in the "Lion's Den" room and it was gorgeous! Chris thought of every little thing to make our stay most enjoyable! She and Roger made you feel right at home! They were a delight to talk to and helpful in every way. Their home is beautiful and the breakfasts were delicious! We can't wait to stay there again!

Becky from Illinois

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong with any room. Each room has its own theme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binker52kron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
7.5 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
218 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
325 reviews
2 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,844 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
568 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Townhomes at Bretton Woods
The Townhomes at Bretton Woods
#2 of 3 in Bretton Woods
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 19 Lancaster Rd, Rte 3, Whitefield, NH 03598-3050
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whitefield
Price Range: £77 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion And The Rose Bed And Breakfast Whitefield, White Mountains, New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing