We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lions, Roses and Stuffed French Toast: Oh my!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Whitefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lions, Roses and Stuffed French Toast: Oh my!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The Fiance and I decided to come up to this area on a whim over the Fourth of July weekend and we were happily surprised to find out that this inn had an availability for Saturday evening. So, we booked the Far East room and came on up.

When we first arrived, the owners - Chris and Roger - were very warm and welcoming. They ushered us right up to our room, which was actually the Rose Garden suite. They had given us an upgrade! It was a pleasant surprise as it had a rockin' two person jacuzzi bath tub!

The room was very cozy and quaint. It had a mini fridge with a couple of bottles of water, a coffee pot and a nice flat screen t.v. (if you're into watching t.v. when you're on vacation at a B&B, that is). They had the little window unit just a blowin' and the room was a pleasant, cool temperature right when we walked in.

The bed was firmer than our bed at home - but not so much as to say we were laying on concrete. The sheets and the towels and the plush bathrobes were sooooo soft and amazing! The Fiance is a sucker for plush bath towels and wanted to give it a 10 star just based on that alone.

The breakfast the next morning was incredible. Chris made cream cheese stuffed French toast with a raspberry dipping sauce. And it was truly amazeballs! They had legit maple syrup that tasted as if they just siphoned it out of the tree in the backyard. There was plenty of coffee offered up with fresh cream (can't tell you how it tasted as we're tea drinkers) and a zillion types of teas were also available.

Overall, the experience was wonderful and we hope to come back very soon! Thanks for the wonderful and relaxing time, y'all!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syriaevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
112
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2013

we have family in twin mtn. but decided to try here instead of staying with them. we had been by the place several times and thought... one day. the stay exceeded our expectations. wonderful breakfasts, charming and loquacious innkeepers. we found roger and chris fun to be with and very helpful. they suggested the in as whitefield for dinner. it was great we stayed in the Avalon room and thoroughly enjoyed it. next time we will try the more elegant Egyptian room. it is a wonderful value for the price as well. when we return to visit family in September and catch the highland games @ loon mountain we will be back

Room Tip: themed rooms. check them out on line to see which suits you best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookeville, Maryland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The Lion and the Rose was a wonderful place to stay. Chris and Roger were so friendly and helpful. We had the pleasure of staying in two rooms for our stay. The Rose room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The Avalon room was spacious and so comfortable, Chris even offered us the sitting room next to the Avalon. The candelit breakfasts were delicious and filling and I just loved the conversations between other guests and our hosts. Thank you so much for your warm hospitality. You both made are stay in the White Mountains so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

It's a rare treat for me to get back to the White Mountains and I decided to book into a B&B as this time I was travelling with my fiancee and didn't want to bunk up with friends and family. I chose the place for the location and price. I get precious little vacation time and it was a big deal for me to take my fiancee back home to show him the sights where I grew up, and frankly the crummy B&B really made things uncomfortable for us. I am understanding and know that things will go wrong, but the attitude of the host/owners when problems were brought to their attention was nothing short of confrontational and downright belligerent. Being a Yankee, I'd paid for my stay and was too stingy to just leave so we had to put up with it for four days. Threadbare towels, lumpy bed, stinky bed (? mothballs??) flaccid room temp breakfast. Oh I could go on. I'd have thought in a small business if you go in with a smile and say, "I'm sorry but I've just noticed that the bathroom still has rather a lot of hair in drain" etc that they'd fall over themselves to do it right. Not this place. Please save yourself the trouble, your vacation time is special and you worked too hard for your money to spend it here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0fishcatw0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris197066, Owner at The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
We are sorry to hear about your experience BUT YOU DID NOT STAY WITH US.We have no record of you staying with us and no guests stayed with us for four days during either April or May.

All our rooms have plush towel,firm beds and not a moth ball in sight ! We serve a full candlelit breakfast each morning at the time you choose so it comes out hot and delicious.Housekeeping is done daily during a guest stay.

Our guests come from all parts of the world and we treat them with respect and they leave as friends.The positive posts on this website regarding our hospitality speaks for themselves.
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The Lion and the Rose is a great place to stay to have a scenic trip to the White Mountains. It's within striking distance from places like Littleton (with Chutters) and Sugar Hill (with Polly's Pancakes). Their rooms are themed (like the Egyptian room with appropriate decor), but the main house has a wonderful Edwardian feel.
Chris and Roger treat you like family and make you feel the need to come back for another visit.

Room Tip: I recommend the Egyptian room or a photo op with the throne and tiara/crown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santiago R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Freetown
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Our 1st time at a B&B .. We were met at the door with a great big welcome, Chris & Roger were great they made you feel like you were family.. Very clean and homey.. The breakfasts were very yummy and they gave great ideas for places to see and things to do.. Hope to be back this summer..

Room Tip: We liked the Rose Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, NH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

As noted by others, Chris and Roger are warm and caring folks who make it clear they love what they are doing. The place is clean, quiet and decorated with throughout with their collection of artifacts, paintings, funky furniture and lots of other cool "stuff". Breakfasts were great and their recommendations for other eateries solid.

Room Tip: The Egyptian Room is cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
7.5 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
200 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
278 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,400 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Skywood Manor Inn
The Skywood Manor Inn
#3 of 3 in Jefferson
20 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Lancaster Rd, Rte 3, Whitefield, NH 03598-3050
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion And The Rose Bed And Breakfast Whitefield, White Mountains, New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing