We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They take such good care of you!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Whitefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is a casual bed and breakfast in a small New Hampshire town. The Inn has cute little "themed" rooms like The Egyptian Room, The Lion's Den etc. The rooms have refrigerators and coffee pots and often jacuzzis and are very comfortable. The owners, Chris and Roger did much of the work to construct the B&B so if there is a problem they can usually fix it immediately.
Chris and Roger, are very caring hosts. They have been in the area for years and years and know all the local restaurants, theaters and attractions and are happy to make suggestions. Not only that but if you mention a place you are going, they often hand you coupons! This B&B is super convenient for the Weathervane Theater (the best theater in New Hampshire!) There is a little grocery store within walking distance..
The breakfast is wonderful. Our family has some vegans and health food enthusiasts as well as typical diners. Chris and Roger provide a lovely meal that makes everyone happy. They are very flexible so talk to them and let them know if there is something special you want!
We've been staying there every summer for the past 5 years and we love it!

Room Tip: You may want to request in room in the back so that you don't hear street noise during the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

My fiance and I were visiting family and we decided to stay at this lovely B&B. We'd never stayed in one before so we didn't know what to expect, but we were more than pleasantly surprised by our stay! Our room was quaint and had it's own entrance! They provided us with two very warm robes that were fantastic! Breakfast was AMAZING! It was clean and well-maintained. Hosts Chris and Roger were friendly and helpful, and their cats were adorable! The B&B also had Wifi, which helped me get some homework done! It was a great experience and we hope to visit again!

Room Tip: The White Lilac is a nice room with it's own entrance! It is next to the main entrance/office ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KFaye1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The B&B is in a tiny village with scenic routes, we thought it would be a convenient stop between Boston and Québec. And it was even more than that. We were amazed by the hospitality of the place: we had a very personal and friendly reception even at late hours of arrival (after mid-night). Our room resembled a room from a French romantic bedroom - later we discovered it was the White Lilac Room. We had our own access to the porch. The breakfast was also amazing, we were served fantastic American style pan cakes and bunch of other things, while our hosts Chris and Roger were busy with making us feel good. Charming and not to be missed - especially on a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPwayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This victorian style B&B is beautiful and the housekeepers are very warm, tentative, and wonderful people. My husband and I stayed here since I was in a wedding 5 minutes down the road at the Mountain View Grand hotel. Instead of staying at the hotel (which is rather expensive) we saved money staying at the B&B for 2 nights and received a WONDERFUL breakfast every morning which is included. We are very happy that we did this and would definitely stay here again next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Avalon room and it had a VERY comfy king bed....slept very well after a very long a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJO11186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at The Lion and The Rose during a weekend when we had a wedding in the area. Hosts Chris and Roger were very welcoming and friendly, and made a point of introducing us to other guests each morning at breakfast. We were upgraded to the Egyptian room, which has a very comfortable bed and a big tub with a small private porch. We very much enjoyed the breakfasts, especially the beautiful fruit plates and Chris' stuffed french toast. I would recommend this B and B to everyone. We met some lovely fellow travelers and enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolagirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

If this is your first adventure to the Lion and the Rose, I promise you it won't be your last! Proprietors Chris and Roger will make your stay wonderful and inviting, right down to the home cooked breakfast. I have a very serious dairy allergy and I worry not because Chris is so accommodating. My favorite is the raspberry stuffed French toast with raspberry compote- so delicious! The rooms are clean and so fun. I say fun because each room has its own theme. I think my husband and I will try the "Egyptian room" for our anniversary. And unlike some B&B's, there is no curfew and you may stay out as late as you please. 5 star in my book!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The Fiance and I decided to come up to this area on a whim over the Fourth of July weekend and we were happily surprised to find out that this inn had an availability for Saturday evening. So, we booked the Far East room and came on up.

When we first arrived, the owners - Chris and Roger - were very warm and welcoming. They ushered us right up to our room, which was actually the Rose Garden suite. They had given us an upgrade! It was a pleasant surprise as it had a rockin' two person jacuzzi bath tub!

The room was very cozy and quaint. It had a mini fridge with a couple of bottles of water, a coffee pot and a nice flat screen t.v. (if you're into watching t.v. when you're on vacation at a B&B, that is). They had the little window unit just a blowin' and the room was a pleasant, cool temperature right when we walked in.

The bed was firmer than our bed at home - but not so much as to say we were laying on concrete. The sheets and the towels and the plush bathrobes were sooooo soft and amazing! The Fiance is a sucker for plush bath towels and wanted to give it a 10 star just based on that alone.

The breakfast the next morning was incredible. Chris made cream cheese stuffed French toast with a raspberry dipping sauce. And it was truly amazeballs! They had legit maple syrup that tasted as if they just siphoned it out of the tree in the backyard. There was plenty of coffee offered up with fresh cream (can't tell you how it tasted as we're tea drinkers) and a zillion types of teas were also available.

Overall, the experience was wonderful and we hope to come back very soon! Thanks for the wonderful and relaxing time, y'all!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank syriaevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
11.4 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
317 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
764 reviews
7.5 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
565 reviews
11.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 19 Lancaster Rd, Rte 3, Whitefield, NH 03598-3050
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whitefield
Price Range: £84 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion And The Rose Bed And Breakfast Whitefield, White Mountains, New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing