We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A big roar for this B&B and a rose for Chris and Roger”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Whitefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A big roar for this B&B and a rose for Chris and Roger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were referred to the Lion and the Rose when the B&B we had originally chosen had overbooked. This turned out to be a wonderful bit of serendipity. The property is a neat old house in the small town of Whitefield NH. We had a nice room with old furniture combined with up to date additions like large flat screen TV and WiFi. Shower and whirlpool in bathroom. Chris and Roger were very helpful in suggesting places to eat and area attractions. We had a choice of 8 or 9 AM breakfast seating. The food was excellent and we enjoyed the fellowship and conversation with other guests very much.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCMjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
112
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakdale, CT.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I was there last year for Thanksgiving weekend. My wife and I had a wonderful stay,very relaxing the room was very clean and the owners are very good people. The rooms were like walking back in time. We will stay there again. I would recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: It was like walking back in time
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neftali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPorte, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We accidentally came upon the Lion and the Rose B&B and are so happy that we did. It is near MT. Washington and the Cog Railroad. The proprietors were the friendliest people and offered a wonderful room that was large with a king sized bed. There was a sitting area in this room and a separate sitting room. I had the best night sleep of any on our vacation. The rates were extremely reasonable. And, this B&B was very clean and easily accessible. Chris, one of the owners, is a caterer and the breakfast that she served was elegant and very tasty. The presentation was delightful. The owners, Chris and Roger, offered us advice on local eateries and attractions. Over all, we were extremely pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, IL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

From the moment we pulled into the parking lot I felt like I had come home. The owners, Chris and Roger were waiting to greet us and show us their quaint B&B and our room. From the beginning of our stay ( 6 days) to the end we felt like family. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and Chris's breakfast were delicious every morning. We went to Whitefield to go to the Weathervane theatre and take in the beauty of the mountains and the forest and in the process we found a place we will hopefully come to often.....and, when I do come back you can bet I'll stay with Chris and Roger at The Lion and The Rose.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I did an overnight here as part of a two day getaway. The hospitality was warm and friendly, and the facility (an older house built for a doctor) was beautifully decorated Victorian style. Breakfast was outstanding. Since they are very near Weathervane Theatre, the hosts even made dinner reservations for us at a place that also picked up our box office tickets, and the theatre was first rate. These folks are experienced bed and breakfast hosts and do a fine. job.

Room Tip: the larger rooms include hot tubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drdavedmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent only two nights in this B&B to visit the White Mountains National Forest and we really had a pleasant surprise.
Roger and Chris warmly wellcome us and suddenly make us feel like at our home. We was given the Avalon Room: a very big double room with a king bed and a "living room". Everithing very cosy and clean and very confortable.
The whole house is crowded with weird things and forniture that give it a unique and singular look. We really appreciated it. But the hot point arrives at the breakfast time: here Chris give her best! Every day a different menù of typical american cooking. I never left a chip!
Really really good, don't miss it. Thanks for all!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is a casual bed and breakfast in a small New Hampshire town. The Inn has cute little "themed" rooms like The Egyptian Room, The Lion's Den etc. The rooms have refrigerators and coffee pots and often jacuzzis and are very comfortable. The owners, Chris and Roger did much of the work to construct the B&B so if there is a problem they can usually fix it immediately.
Chris and Roger, are very caring hosts. They have been in the area for years and years and know all the local restaurants, theaters and attractions and are happy to make suggestions. Not only that but if you mention a place you are going, they often hand you coupons! This B&B is super convenient for the Weathervane Theater (the best theater in New Hampshire!) There is a little grocery store within walking distance..
The breakfast is wonderful. Our family has some vegans and health food enthusiasts as well as typical diners. Chris and Roger provide a lovely meal that makes everyone happy. They are very flexible so talk to them and let them know if there is something special you want!
We've been staying there every summer for the past 5 years and we love it!

Room Tip: You may want to request in room in the back so that you don't hear street noise during the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
7.9 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
7.5 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
11.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,285 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Lancaster Rd, Rte 3, Whitefield, NH 03598-3050
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion And The Rose Bed And Breakfast Whitefield, White Mountains, New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing