We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST stuffed French toast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Whitefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was our first time staying in a B&B and I was a little nervous because I heard they can be kind of... Creepy. Well, that is not the case at all. Roger and Chris are so friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was amazing- Chris made raspberry stuffed French toast and i haven't shut up about it since we left! The place itself is adorable with so much character. It was comfortable and clean. Didn't get to try out the hot tub - but if I'm ever back in the area we will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amscneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris197066, Owner at The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and the stuffed French toast! Please think of us again when you head North!
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights last winter and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was fantastic with its own hot tub and gas fireplace. The breakfast was outstanding, and the owners were very warm and accommodating. This is exactly what you want out of a B&B experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris197066, Owner at The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for your review, we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us!
Chris & Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Chris and Roger are very welcoming and have done an amazing job decorating this Victorian Bed & Breakfast. We stayed in the Lion's Den which was very comfortable. Each of their six rooms is decorated with a different theme.Had tea with them in the living room. Breakfast was a stuffed French toast with rasberry jam, sausages and fresh fruit which was delicious. They suggested dinner at the Inn at Whitefield. The owner there was also very friendly.. Plan to stay there again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: The Lion's Den was very nicely decorated located on the second floor with nice windows facing Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris197066, Owner at The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you Mary Ann for your great review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please think of us the next time you come up to The White Mountains.
Chris & Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

It's a beautiful Building from the outside and inside it's a cosy and beautifully decorated B&B. All rooms are themed - we stayed in the Avalon. Chris and Roger are very welcoming and make you feel at home. We would definitely choose it again.
The Location is perfect for trips to Mt. Washington and the White Mountains.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamia1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We had a great stay at the Lion and the Rose. The hosts are wonderful, welcoming people. They gave us many tips about what to see and do and served marvellous breakfasts! We loved the quirkiness of our room (The Lion's Den) and the house in general. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for good B&B accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGJM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed in the two room Avalon suite October 23rd. The host and hostess were wonderful and served us wine and cheese as we sat in the King and Queen throne in the beautifully decorated living room. The little touches were all here which is why we chose a B&B.

The town is very quaint and there is a wonderful Whitefield restaurant about 2 miles down the road.

Yes- Highly Recommend! Take a look at their web site, it paints a true picture.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrlandoMomlovesbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

If you are anywhere near the White Mountains, be sure to stay at this fabulous home. The house itself is amazing and the hosts have made the place extra special. You are sure to enjoy your time here between the delicious breakfast and all the local insights on where to eat and what to do.

Room Tip: The Egyptian room is outstanding with a very comfortable king size bed and amazing decor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda32802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
7.5 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
220 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
329 reviews
9.4 mi away
Thayers Inn
Thayers Inn
#2 of 5 in Littleton
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
571 reviews
11.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 19 Lancaster Rd, Rte 3, Whitefield, NH 03598-3050
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whitefield
Price Range: £74 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion And The Rose Bed And Breakfast Whitefield, White Mountains, New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing