We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hosts in a fun house” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Whitefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hosts in a fun house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Wonderful old Victorian house close to town. Our first floor bedroom was convenient and comfortable. We enjoyed having our own porch and access to outdoors. The hosts went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. They had several recommendations for places to eat and walk while we were there. This was a wonderful accidental find for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imoxymoronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
112
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The two of us stayed in the Egyptian Room, which has its own balcony and a jacuzzi, both overlooking the hills to the west. The room, with a king bed, was decorated with fun Egyptian-themed furniture and furnishings.

There was plenty of hot water for the jacuzzi, plus a shower. Ventilation was great, so we didn't use the a/c. Breakfast was very good and homemade by Chris and Roger, the owners.

We stayed here on a Saturday night, and next day went to the Fiddle Fest in Groveton. This was a convenient place to spend the night (we ate in Littleton Saturday night). Definitely would recommend this pleasant B&B!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I made a quick trip up to the area for a wedding and stayed one night at this charming B&B. The owners could not have been nicer and more helpful, and the room was great - well kept, good character, but with all the necessary amenities. And breakfast was delicious as well! Would definitely recommend this spot for anyone visiting this area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles area
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We would definitely stay there again if we get a chance to hike again in Franconia Notch. Very nice room (downstairs) which included a sitting room, comfortable king bed, and fridge. Easy to book on booking.com and good price. The hosts are great and very knowledgeable about the area. The breakfast was very good. We were a little disappointed we didn't get the famous french toast, but as the only guests that morning, it was understandable. The entire place is very interesting, filled with antiques. They do have cats, although they don't go into the guestrooms, so only a problem if you are highly allergic.

Room Tip: We usually don't choose a downstairs room because we like quiet, but theirs is very quiet and ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camelSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is my first stay in a B&B and felt very nice about it. My wife and i had thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Chris and Roger are very friendly and made us feel like home. They gave good guidance on what attractions to see in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bhargava s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a lovely stay in the White Lilac Room. Chris and Roger were very welcoming and accommodating of our needs. The room was both pretty and immaculately clean, with a just-right mattress and comfy bedding. The room also had a coffee maker and a mini fridge, which I did not expect to find in a B&B. Breakfast was delicious and elegantly presented, and Roger was happy to give us a tour of the house and tell us about its history when we inquired.

Room Tip: The White Lilac is on the first floor just off the kitchen; a good choice if you need to come and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabrook, New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed at the B&B in Whitefield,NH ,The Lion and The Rose for my birthday. Upon arriving Chris and Roger meet you at the door and make you feel welcomed. The Egyptian room really hit the mark with the decor and loved the king size bed and amazing sheets. The Inn was well kept and very clean. Chris booked us a dinner reservation and even let the restaurant know it was my birthday so they could sing to me. Breakfast was stuffed french toast and another birthday wish. Really down to earth people and my husband and I will be back.

Room Tip: Just look at there web site to see which room fits your taste. All the rooms are decorated different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vance L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
7.5 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,236 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem
6.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Lancaster Rd, Rte 3, Whitefield, NH 03598-3050
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion And The Rose Bed And Breakfast Whitefield, White Mountains, New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing