We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Enjoyable, & Pleasant B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Whitefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was my first time staying at a B&B and I had a wonderful stay at The Lion & The Rose. The owners, Roger & Chris, are very nice and welcoming. The atmosphere makes you feel like "home away from home". The next time I visit that area of NH, I hope there is a vacancy at The Lion & The Rose. They also provide a very delicious and filling breakfast each day. They provided great recommendations for places to visit and restaurants to eat at. They were excellent hosts.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lilac room which has a separate entrance that leads to the porch which is very conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Spent the night of August 3. First time experience in a B&B and it was an enjoyable one. Roger and Chris were attentive to our needs, and assured we were taken care of. They introduced us to the other guests and participated in the conversation ensuring that we were all comfortable. The breakfast was a ten out of ten. Served on time,and they assured my cup was filled with coffee. All the essentials, i.e. juice, fruit and coffee, and Belgium Waffles were served properly and in a timely manner. The decor of the inn matches the Victorian theme they desire. The only negative was the pillow in what was an excellent bedroom. The bath was outstanding. The wife and I strongly recommend this Inn.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Raymond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at the Lion and the Rose B&B in July 2014. Chris and Roger are wonderful and warm hosts. Breakfasts were great and Chris was always there to give us advice on where to go or where to eat.

Excellent area for all hiking lovers!

We ate 2 nights at GrandMa's restaurant in Whitefield and food (steak and seafood ) and service were excellent!

We also went to the Weathervane in Whitefield to see the musical Annie. It was as good as a Broadway show. Rien Schlecht did a wonderful job in managing the company!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank N L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Wonderful old Victorian house close to town. Our first floor bedroom was convenient and comfortable. We enjoyed having our own porch and access to outdoors. The hosts went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. They had several recommendations for places to eat and walk while we were there. This was a wonderful accidental find for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank imoxymoronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The two of us stayed in the Egyptian Room, which has its own balcony and a jacuzzi, both overlooking the hills to the west. The room, with a king bed, was decorated with fun Egyptian-themed furniture and furnishings.

There was plenty of hot water for the jacuzzi, plus a shower. Ventilation was great, so we didn't use the a/c. Breakfast was very good and homemade by Chris and Roger, the owners.

We stayed here on a Saturday night, and next day went to the Fiddle Fest in Groveton. This was a convenient place to spend the night (we ate in Littleton Saturday night). Definitely would recommend this pleasant B&B!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I made a quick trip up to the area for a wedding and stayed one night at this charming B&B. The owners could not have been nicer and more helpful, and the room was great - well kept, good character, but with all the necessary amenities. And breakfast was delicious as well! Would definitely recommend this spot for anyone visiting this area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We would definitely stay there again if we get a chance to hike again in Franconia Notch. Very nice room (downstairs) which included a sitting room, comfortable king bed, and fridge. Easy to book on booking.com and good price. The hosts are great and very knowledgeable about the area. The breakfast was very good. We were a little disappointed we didn't get the famous french toast, but as the only guests that morning, it was understandable. The entire place is very interesting, filled with antiques. They do have cats, although they don't go into the guestrooms, so only a problem if you are highly allergic.

Room Tip: We usually don't choose a downstairs room because we like quiet, but theirs is very quiet and ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camelSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
7.5 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
218 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
326 reviews
2 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,846 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
568 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Townhomes at Bretton Woods
The Townhomes at Bretton Woods
#2 of 3 in Bretton Woods
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 19 Lancaster Rd, Rte 3, Whitefield, NH 03598-3050
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whitefield
Price Range: £76 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion And The Rose Bed And Breakfast Whitefield, White Mountains, New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing