We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now hiring???”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Grandma's Kitchen

Grandma's Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$22
Cuisines: Diner, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: NO RESERVATIONS~ FIRST COME - FIRST SERVED ~WE CAN SERVE PARTIES OF ANY SIZE.- MAXIMUM AT ONE TABLE IS TEN..IN THE SUMMER OUR PATIO IS ALSO OPEN WITH LARGE PICNIC TABLES *Classic American Diner food ! Good Home cooking** Fresh Seafood **Fresh Roasted Meats*** Fresh homemade pies*** Our Menu has a large variety of . Burgers.. Sandwiches ..Subs... Dinners, Daily Specials & A Kids Menu.. Reasonable Prices .
Littleton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Now hiring???”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Late morning visit on July 4th. No bus boy so sat at table with dirty dishes for 30 min. Waitress was great, she hustled. She could have used some help though. I have been here before plenty of times. The food was great as always, but the coffee wasn't.

Helpful?
1 Thank frogger750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lstreeter, Owner at Grandma's Kitchen, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
I am very sorry about your experience on July 4'th. We did have a bus person scheduled that called in sick. We were twice as busy as any other Friday, We were most definitely short handed due to circumstances beyond our control. I am surprised about the coffee . It's Green Mountain whole bean 100 % Columbian. We grind it here & never hold it on a burner more then 2 hours. We usually get a lot of compliments on it. Please try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    106
    29
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“inexpensive breakfast and dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

very inexpensive good food. rustic atmosphere. this is where the locals go to eat. nothing fancy. delicious home made pies.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RWG1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lstreeter, Owner at Grandma's Kitchen, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed our restaurant. We do have a lot of loyal repeat customers, both local & travelers. We try to keep our prices reasonable. Thank you for noticing our homemade pies. Our food & desserts are all homemade. Just like you would expect at Grandma's. Thank you for the good review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love it here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is the best restaurant in the area. It doesn't look like much but the food is consistently delicious. It's home cooked meals so you feel like you are in your grandma's kitchen. We ate every meal here as there are limited options in the area. The homemade muffins are delish!! We loved the service and the food.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank klondrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lstreeter, Owner at Grandma's Kitchen, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We appreciate your feed back. We try to make everyone feel at home. Thank you for giving us a such a good review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Eats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I ate Grandma's Mac and Cheese. It had a crusty top with ham mixed in with the cheese sauce. I would highly recommend it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Newell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lstreeter, Owner at Grandma's Kitchen, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you , This is new on our menu. It's nice to get some positive feed back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I love this place the food and the atmosphere is awesome. They make everything fresh you can tell by the first bit,no I take that back by the smell alone. I have been here for breakfast and for lunch both are as my title says amazing. I go up to the White Mountains once a year and won't leave until I have had some Grandma's Kitchen. I am very sad to see the poor reviews ands couldn't disagree more they have some of the most friendly servers and they have some of the best food you will every taste. Don't even get me started on the homemade desserts they are better than anything god himself could create. LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rbarrera911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lstreeter, Owner at Grandma's Kitchen, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for the great review! I'm glad you like our food & the service. Our staff is friendly and attentive. They all work very hard. I couldn't ask for a better crew. I'm sure your next experience will be just as pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grandma's Kitchen also viewed

Whitefield, White Mountains
Whitefield, White Mountains
 
Whitefield, White Mountains
Bethlehem, White Mountains
 

Been to Grandma's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing