We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of East of Suez

East of Suez
Ranked #13 of 41 Restaurants in Wolfeboro
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Very good food... Atmosphere is open air in the porch to tye died tablecloths . Reminds me of being in the Carribbean. Service was ok this year, previous year better. Remember this is a Byob place... Excellent sushi when they have it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dlion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Memorable for several reasons”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have driven by here for 12 years, and finally stopped. I should have read the Tripadvisor reviews first - didn't bring my own bottle, but saw the "no credit cards" sign on the door, and had enough cash to enter. Very quirky - loved the screen porch in the trees. Seemed odd to get a basket of popcorn when we got there. And the pile of "yard sale" stuff in the corner of the dining room was unique. The waitress was helpful, loved the soup, we decided to try something different and ordered a Philipine dish. It was disappointing, if I go back I'll try something different. No sign of sushi (which I thought I'd seen in an advertisement). Note that dishes are not served family style like other Asian restaurants. Entrees each come with rice. Ours came with half a sliced banana as well. The desserts were all-American and sounded delicious. But we headed to Bailey's Bubble for ice cream, instead.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I can't believe that I have been driving by this place for 40 years and this is my first visit. The place isn't much to look at, more like an old-time summer cottage than a restaurant. It's on Rte 28 tucked into the trees on the outskirts of town very near the Alton-Wolfeboro town line but it is always busy. The interior is also like an old-time summer cottage with odds-and-ends furniture and decor. The service isn't five-star either but it is adequate. The wait staff are young, eager and friendly but you should expect to linger a while. You will have time for conversation with your friends.

OK, I will admit that it's a quirky place but it is good where it counts; the food is excellent. The spices are mild so you may want to ask them to kick it up a little. They will prepare it mild, medium or hot. The recipes are asian in influence without following any particular style. They don't have a liquor license but you can bring your own wine. That alone will keep you bill low and the food prices are reasonable. Also don't forget to bring cash, they don't accept American Express or any other credit card.

You will need to make reservations, you won't stand much of a chance getting a seat without a reservation even during the week. This place is going onto my "I must dine here more often list".

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NHDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“It wouldn't be summer without East of Suez!”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

A local favorite that never disappoints. From the service to the decor, it's like eating at a friend's house...a friend who has an amazing cook in the family! The wasabi shumai on the specials list was terrific and the pancit canton (with chicken instead of shrimp) was perfect! Love everything about this place. If the weather is going to be nice, request a seat on the porch; it has a lovely, serene wooded view.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wellington24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atkinson
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“East of Suez”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Don't judge this restaurant by appearance,that keept us away for many years. Friends told us the food was excellent and they were right. The service is not up to big city standards but then this is a seasonal restaurant with seasonal help. It is an evening affair, a time to sit with friends or some one special and enjoy great Asian cooking. Don't forget it is BYOB and CASH and you need reservations.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billpeabody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed East of Suez also viewed

 

Been to East of Suez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing