We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Wright Museum, A Look At How Life Was In The States”

Wright Museum of WWII
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Wolfeboro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This Museum's purpose is to educate, entertain and inspire visitors with the story of WWII-era Americans often called "the greatest generation". The Wright Museum is open seasonally from May 1st to October 31st.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Wright Museum, A Look At How Life Was In The States”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This museum is a must if you wish to see how life was in our country during World War II. It gave me a look back at the time when I was born and a small child. I remember fondly the furnishings and goods that I grew up with as displayed around the museum. Two gentlemen who were volunteers that day, gave us an overview of the reason for the museum and how important it is to preserve the way life was. We see so many movies of other countries being bombed during the war, but do not fully understand what sacrifices were made for the U.S.A to be able to enter the war. Each year, from 1939-1945, has a separate display showing the timeline of what was happening during this era. In a larger room they had tanks, an airplane, ship models and motor vehicles from the war. This is also a museum that should be seen by younger people to understand how life was and the sacrifices that women had to make. This attraction is well worth the visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    25
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

if you have an interest in boating and the history thereof in the lakes region.......beautiful vintage boats on display

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank newgalaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wright Museum shows a different side to the War”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I really enjoyed looking at all the information on the homefront. It doesn't focus on the war itself, but on America during the war period. The most fascinating part for me was looking at the cost of living for each year. The War Posters really stood out, it was a fun way to gain more insight into the war. Very nicely setup & well run.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alp101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globeseeker007
Level Contributor
1,099 reviews
633 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,142 helpful votes
“Great WWII museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This museum is easy to find. Just look for the building that has a tank which seems to be breaking out through the front. There's also a field piece next to it. Inside are two floors which are filled with information and memorabilia about WWII. One begins the tour by watching a short film about the years 1939 to 1945. There is another section which contains information about the women who served during the war along with a video. There are posters about liberty bonds and victory gardens. Within the building is an aircraft, motorcycles, a tank, a jeep, and other military vehicles. There are uniforms, military equipment, and weapons. The museum also has displays which include a dentist office from that era, an ice cream parlor, and a kitchen. There is so much to see and absorb in this wonderful museum. We spent over two hours browsing through this place. It has a gift shop and plenty of parking spaces outside.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank globeseeker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice museum for small town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

The exhibits for this museum are very good for a small town. I have attended several functions held here and feel they do a wonderful job.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wright Museum of WWII also viewed

 

Been to Wright Museum of WWII? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing