We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Absloutely Excellent Museum”

Wright Museum of WWII
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Wolfeboro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This Museum's purpose is to educate, entertain and inspire visitors with the story of WWII-era Americans often called "the greatest generation". The Wright Museum is open seasonally from May 1st to October 31st.
Camillus
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An Absloutely Excellent Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This museum is definately a two thumbs up must see! Anyone in the "Baby Boomer" generation will get an instant appreciation of what our parents that were part of the "Greatest Generation" lived thru. What a great mix of military and home front displays. During WWII My dad drove the Stuart, Sherman and Pershing tanks similar to those that were on display. What a wonderfull experience to see the tanks that he was involved with up close to get a real sense of size and scale rather than just seeing them in a picture. My wife is not really a WWII buff even though her dad was a Screaming Eagle in the 101st Airborne. She commented on what an excellent museum it is and how well they told the story of that era. Well done Wright Museum.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CamillusDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    25
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deer
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Wonderful and fun WWII Museum. Clean, well kept and organized, very informative. Brought my 95 yr old Dad here as he is a WWII vet. People shook his hand, thanked him and was offered a wheel chair if he was tired of walking. Wonderful experience!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 95022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Wartime Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

When seeing the outside of this great museum you would think it's just about the military, but you'd be wrong. This museum is about life during WW2, what people were doing and using, and what homes and businesses looked like during the war. You go through each year of the war and experience what they experienced during those years.

I the back you get to the military section; tanks, vehicles, motorcycles, planes, guns, you name it they have it.

This is a must visit location for all ages to really experience what wartime was like during WW2

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SgtFrenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford Springs, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great history museum, not just war items”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We recently visited this museum, and thought it was great. I loved how it wasn't just war items for show. A lot of it was how the US was during WWII. What the regular folk did while it was going on. They had some cool tanks, etc also. We spent about hour and half in here. Very fascinating!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank michelleneuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“A National Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Ever wondered what it was like to live in the United States from 1939-1945?.
Ever wondered how the American people pulled together to save the world from tyranny?
Ever wondered what it was like to be in the Army, Navy, Marines either as a man or woman?

You need to visit Wright Museum... This is a national treasure.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank obrienpa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wright Museum of WWII also viewed

 

Been to Wright Museum of WWII? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing