We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Vintage Boats, You Can't Pass Up A Visit”

New Hampshire Boat Museum
Ranked #2 of 28 things to do in Wolfeboro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Museum features many of the finest examples of vintage mahogany and antique boats on a rotating basis, including; Gar Wood, Chris-Craft, Century, Dodge, Penn Yan, Lyman and Hacker. There are runabouts, race-boats, canoes, guide boats, and sail boats. Whether you are an outboard, steam, paddle or sail enthusiast, the displays, enhanced with archival photos, trophies and models, bring to life a truly grand era of boating. If you love the fine craftsmanship of a vintage boat, the aura of a time gone by, or the camaraderie of being with people who share your interest in preserving the past; the New Hampshire Boat Museum offers you many venues to explore through exhibits, events, and educational programs.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Bayport, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love Vintage Boats, You Can't Pass Up A Visit”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Had a wonderful time looking and learning about these beautiful mahogany lake boats. Outstanding beautiful vessels. Also, enjoyed the interactive exhibits. This boat museum should not be missed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Whiterabbit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    23
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Although small, the museum was very interesting with antique boats and a car carrying a boat. Had some hands on stuff for kids, which the kids enjoyed very much! The staff was very courteous, and there was a little side area outside where people crafted canoes and kayaks of there own. Very good museum, and the boat ride was even better. Amazing host with very scenic views, and well worth the price! For boat lovers, a must see!

Helpful?
Thank laik g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Vintage”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Small, a little pricey, but for someone who likes boats, vintage ones in particular I'd say this is a must see. Some hands on stuff for kids, boat building camp next door where you can take a look at volunteers helping people craft their own canoe, kayak, or small sailboat. Staff very courteous and friendly. Received discount for Wright Museum down road as well as discount for vintage boat ride on nearby lake which we were disappointed not to be able to do due to weather.

Helpful?
Thank steakbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Vintage Boats on Display”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

A small unique museum, but very interesting, especially if you like the history of boats. There are
motors and other displays for viewing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maddie1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you love boats (especially antiques) its a must see!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Though the museum is small. I found it extremely interesting because I love boats. The museum only houses about 4 very interesting boats, but has interesting information all around. I loved answering the questions on the boards on the stage area. I also thoroughly enjoyed The Millie B (antique boat ride) that I got a discount for by visiting the museum. I also got a discount on the entry since I had visited the Wright Museum & they have some kind of agreement between the two. So I got great value for money. :-)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alp101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Hampshire Boat Museum also viewed

 

Been to New Hampshire Boat Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing