We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wolfeboro Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wolfeboro Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Wolfeboro
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Complete Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

I was surprising my boyfriend with a 2 night getaway for his birthday. I had emailed the Inn and been very specific with my questions and expectations. I was assured that the Inn was everything I was looking for.... well, it Definitely was not! The lobby and the Inn itself is very nicely decorated and has a welcoming feel, however they do quite the sell job on the website. The pictures and descriptions are very deceiving. The website says they have a private beach area for swimming, one of the main reasons I chose this place. It turned out to be a boat slip with a ferry, not just a boat, parked in it. They said you could still swim there. Where? Around the ferry? The room I booked was a King Mini-suite and was supposed to have a water view from the balcony. I paid extra to get this feature. The view was of the parking lot and if you moved to the other renters side, (it was a shared balcony) you could see a little water through the trees. When we first walked into our room, the whole place smelled like cheap plastic from the new shower curtain liner. You couldn't open any windows to air it out because the bugs would come in. Of course, there weren't any screens on the windows. We tried to make the best of it the first night and sat on our balcony to have dinner. We ended up going back inside because the Tavern at the Inn is apparantly a local hangout for anyone in town that wants to go drinking. Loud trucks were driving in and out of the parking lot (which, remember, is our view) with people yelling and swearing back and forth to each other from the Tavern deck. When we finally went to bed, the air conditioner didn't seem very cold, so we turned it up to high... or so we tried. It operated on the same low setting whether you had it on low or high. It never got cool enough in the room to be comfortable and then the air conditioner would shut itself off, only to loudly come back on later with a bang. We slept a total of about 2 1/2 hours. For the price the Inn was charging me for my "water-view mini- suite" I went downstairs and cancelled the 2nd night. Thankfully, after that, we had a great couple of days enjoying NH. As far as this Inn is concerned, the best thing we did was check out!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sunshi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POTUS1234, General Manager at The Wolfeboro Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2011
Dear Sunshi,

I am truly sorry you did not have the experience you had envisioned. Knowing how important this weekend was for you we recommended that room because we typically receive very positive reviews due to its location and large deck. Our Rooms Division Manager personally inspected the room which lead to the decision to replace your shower curtain liner which has that "new car" like smell. We did so with the best of intentions I assure you. Admittedly, the Winnipesaukee Belle was docked, uncharacteristcally at our dock which I admit consumed more open lakefront than usual. It was in that weekend for repairs and I am pleased to say it is operational and primarily at the town docks now.

Sunshi, thank you very much for your honest and helpful feedback. It is always helpful when guests share ways we can improve our hotel and very much appreciate your candid review. We will certainly take all of your comments into consideration

Warm Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    104
    40
    15
    29
See reviews for
71
166
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

We travelled to NH for a graduation and chose to stay at the Wolfeboro Inn as in the past. The grilled salmon dinner was delicious and the waitresses were attentive and very friendly. This time we got a very large room with cathedral ceiling, two balconies and two TV's. The bed was very comfortable and we got a good night's rest. Every night we had cookies brought up to our room. The view of the lake and the city from our room was great. We enjoy staying there when we go to New Hampshire.

Room Tip: If you like a large, open room ask for number 300.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChinaDoll50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

Not only is the Inn located directly on the lake, but it is within walking distance to the shops and quaint village of Wolfeboro. The staff was very friendly and well trained. The guest rooms are huge, clean, well appointed with nice in-room ammenities. We had both dinner and breakfast in Wolfe's Tavern which was wonderful.... especially the breakfast - everything cooked to order. The Inn is a great destination for a quick get-away for anyone living around Boston metro.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ppaulaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Great location for an older inn with updated rooms. Inn is quite, rooms are clean staff is nice. Beds were very comfortable. View of the lake is great. Close to down town and an easy walk. The restaurant is just ok, some dishes better than others, but very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funk5658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

This is not a gran lux experience but is perfectly nice for a night or two. We were in the rooms that had not been renovated recently. The tavern downstairs has a nice feel on a cold spring evening.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noah_Webster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

Stayed at this hotel years ago and recently went back. The hotel was great years ago but is even better now after recent renovations. The rooms are spacious and immaculate with very nice bedding. I especially enjoyed the food and service in the Tavern. You can't beat the view of the lake from the inn. I would recommend a stay at this hotel in any season.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lethier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Stonington, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

This was my third trip to the Wolfeboro Inn and it never disappoints. Nice room, great service and convenience to all the local spots and shops in town make for a great little vacation. I like the fact that I don't have to drive once I get there. Restaurants, pubs, shops, are all within walking distance of the inn, and the town is a gem in itself. Add to it that it borders beautiful Lake Winnipesaukee, and you've get yourself a great long weekend getaway. They have a terrific restaurant and an old timey rustic pub on the bottom floor. Try the smoked salmon! I don't know where they get it from, but it's awesome! And make time to take the inn's paddle wheel boat trip out on the lake. The view is great and it gives you an idea just how big and beautiful the lake is. Planning a Spring getaway with friends. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasG8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolfeboro
16.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ossipee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
11.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
14.8 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
1.3 mi away
The Windrifter Resort
The Windrifter Resort
#6 of 6 in Wolfeboro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wolfeboro Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wolfeboro Inn

Property: The Wolfeboro Inn
Address: 90 North Main Street, P.O. Box 1270, Wolfeboro, NH 03894
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Wolfeboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Wolfeboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wolfeboro Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn was renovated in 2009 and has 44 guestrooms with an eclectic mix of traditional and contemporary furnishings. Rooms are identified with the variety of views we offer from the lake, to gardens, limited partial views of downtown or surrounding neighborhood. Each room has 32" flat screen TVs, complimentary wireless internet access, Sealy plush mattress top bedding as well as upgraded amenities including cotton bathrobes, slippers, ironing boards/irons and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities. Some rooms have work desks, and some include baclonies or petite balconies. The property has striking and relaxing common areas with a large stone fire place in the lobby, and picturesque landscaped grounds that lead to a small private beach add to your enjoyment. Wolfe's Tavern, an authentic New England pub, is one of Wolfeboro's most popular restaurants to spend an informal afternoon or evening. Enjoy traditional New England cuisine with a contemporary flair, and choose from our famous beer list featuring over one hundred domestic and imported beers. The Tavern has three fireplaced rooms, two bars, and a seasonal outdoor patio. Open every day, year-round for breakfast, lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch. Wolfeboro, the jewel of Lake Winnipesaukee, offers year-round activities, including golf, tennis, swimming, mountain biking, boating, New Hampshire attractions, shopping, museums, and of course beautiful Lake Winnipesaukee. Winter brings cross-country skiing and snowmobiling, downhill skiing is only thirty minutes away, skating or ice fishing on the Bay. Sit by our fireplace enjoy a book or games take a leisurely stroll in the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wolfeboro Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wolfeboro Hotel Wolfeboro
The Hotel Wolfeboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing