We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel worth returns.”
Review of The Wolfeboro Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wolfeboro Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Wolfeboro
Rye, New Hampshire
1 review
“Fine hotel worth returns.”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Enjoy sunrise and sunset on the lake from dock. Excellent ambiance, comfort, service, food, scenery.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POTUS1234, General Manager at The Wolfeboro Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Dear Edward M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. I am delighted that your stay with us was so pleasurable. Wolfeboro is indeed unique in its charm and amentities among all the wonderful places that rest on Lake Winnipesaukee. It was our pleasure to have been of service to you and I am glad to see you maximized your time on our beautifully landscaped grounds. We look forward to your return and of serving you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    109
    40
    15
    29
See reviews for
72
173
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Love the location, the on-site restaurant was very convenient, matress was uncomfortable, but the room was very large and you cannot beat the location. Short walking distance to town. Small beach, not great for laying out, but perfect for reading a book in their Adirondak chairs. Very spacious lobby to curl up and read a book if you want to escape your room. The food in restaurant was great (bar service uber slow) but friendly. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMacNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POTUS1234, General Manager at The Wolfeboro Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear kMacNYC,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took and delight in the your glowing review. I am very pleased that your stay with us was so pleasurable. We look forward to your return and being of service to you again in the future.

Warm Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here during Hurricane Irene's August 2011 visit to NH. Because of some negative reviews on Trip Advisor, we were apprehensive before our visit. Our concern was unwarranted. The hotel was comfortable, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food was cheap and tasty. And there is a great selection of beers . The hotel is well situated for an easy walk into Wolfeboro and for some nice views of the lake. We would without question stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 158kofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POTUS1234, General Manager at The Wolfeboro Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Dear 158kofi,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted that your stay with us was so pleasurable. This is what we work so hard for and strive to achieve every day. I will be certain to pass on your review to all of our associates. I know they will be very pleased.

Our restaurant Wolfe's Tavern has been an icon of Wolfeboro since 1887 and home to the mug club offering 100 different beers and a chance for guests to earn their own mug where we encourage them to proudly display it hanging among the over 2000 others. Its quite a sight and accomplishment.

Thank you again for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Stayed just one night in this plush inn on the shores of Lake Winnipesaukee. The inn has good refurbished rooms facing the lake and although not cheap, were very comfortable and spacious. The inn has a small beach on the lake which was a hit with our 9 year old. We ate in the tavern which was fair - the food being pretty typical of our experience outside of New York City - plentiful but not that imaginative. The dining area is beside the public bar area which had some kind of Tammy Wynette sound-a-likey competition on the night we were there. Strange but not offensive.

Room Tip: Go for the new rooms facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POTUS1234, General Manager at The Wolfeboro Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Dear Barbes66,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took and the information we get from guests like yourself is invaluable. I am delighted that your stay with us was so pleasurable. Comments like yours are the pinnacle of success for us and source of great pride. This is what we work so hard for and strive to achieve every day.

As for the entertainment, we offer 4 solo artists 3 days a week, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. The artist you may be referring to is a rather popular local artist who varies her performances. Other entertainment options to consider are our "Thirsty Thursday" Lake Winnipesaukee Belle cruises as well as Sunset Tiki Sunday's on our Gazebo garden lawn which include "Jimmy Buffet" style music and a Fire dancer at dusk.

Thank you again for your kind comments.

Warm Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Charming clean inn with average size rooms. Our king deluxe room had french doors that opened up to a small balcony that allowed us to view the lake through the trees. Great location -walking distance to center of town and shops! They even offer turn down service with cookies. Shortfalls - No ice machines but ice is provided in a large covered container on the floor. NO ice scoop was available for the 3 days we were there. The ice buckets provided had water in them. We asked for fresh ice in a bag which was brought to us promptly. We were told by the front desk that having a scoop available was put on the suggestion list.

Wolfeboro Tavern is attached to the Inn. Bar area was comfortable and service was good. However, we were offered half price appetizers with our tickets from the Inn's boat trip and they only gave us a discount on one appetizer. We purchased the breakfast package and the food was good but the service was slow. Dinner was a nightmare! The restaurant was crowded and service was horrible. My husband's haddock dinner was so overcooked that they offered us a $10 credit and several appologies. We waited for water and sauce for my salmon for over 20 minutes. No coffee or drink refills were ever offered while dining in the Tavern.
We took the Inn's boat for a guided tour around the lake only to discover that the microphone/speakers were not working. It was a lovely but quiet boat ride.

Recommend staying at the Inn but dining elsewhere.

Room Tip: When making a reservation, call the Inn and ask about the size of the room and the noise level. We d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iristraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POTUS1234, General Manager at The Wolfeboro Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Dear Iristraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took and the information we get from guests like yourself is invaluable. We delight in the positive comments you made about your stay.

Having said that, I am disappointed we did not meet all your expectations during your stay especially as they relate to the Tavern. The service staff is typically very attentive and we have scored an average in the 90% since February. Clearly we did not deliver the level of service we are capable of during your visit - for that I truly apologize. I will share your comments with the entirer team as a reminder. There is never a "final destination" when it comes to improving on service.

Once again, thank you for you kind comments and construcitve criticism.

Warm Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed here for 3 days on the hottest days in years! The boat ride was wonderful and COOL! The Inn was nice, but the restaurant was good but extremly slow. The room was large and the bed was great! Would return for another stay!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannonculver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

It was a last minute thing in high season and Wolfeboro Inn had a room. It turned out to be excellent. A comfortable bed, nice sheets, fluffy towels and even a bathrobe! The reception area was pleasant and they had free morning coffee. The staff was cordial and friendly. They do have a $2 room cleaning charge--a bit odd I thought.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DACETC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolfeboro
14.8 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
12.0 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
476 reviews
15.0 mi away
Mill Falls at the Lake
Mill Falls at the Lake
#2 of 3 in Meredith
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
744 reviews
9.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
0.2 mi away
123 North Main Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wolfeboro Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wolfeboro Inn

Property: The Wolfeboro Inn
Address: 90 N Main St, P.O. Box 1270, Wolfeboro, NH 03894-4309
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Wolfeboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Wolfeboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wolfeboro Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn was renovated in 2009 and has 44 guestrooms with an eclectic mix of traditional and contemporary furnishings. Rooms are identified with the variety of views we offer from the lake, to gardens, limited partial views of downtown or surrounding neighborhood. Each room has 32" flat screen TVs, complimentary wireless internet access, Sealy plush mattress top bedding as well as upgraded amenities including cotton bathrobes, slippers, ironing boards/irons and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities. Some rooms have work desks, and some include baclonies or petite balconies. The property has striking and relaxing common areas with a large stone fire place in the lobby, and picturesque landscaped grounds that lead to a small private beach add to your enjoyment. Wolfe's Tavern, an authentic New England pub, is one of Wolfeboro's most popular restaurants to spend an informal afternoon or evening. Enjoy traditional New England cuisine with a contemporary flair, and choose from our famous beer list featuring over one hundred domestic and imported beers. The Tavern has three fireplaced rooms, two bars, and a seasonal outdoor patio. Open every day, year-round for breakfast, lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch. Wolfeboro, the jewel of Lake Winnipesaukee, offers year-round activities, including golf, tennis, swimming, mountain biking, boating, New Hampshire attractions, shopping, museums, and of course beautiful Lake Winnipesaukee. Winter brings cross-country skiing and snowmobiling, downhill skiing is only thirty minutes away, skating or ice fishing on the Bay. Sit by our fireplace enjoy a book or games take a leisurely stroll in the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wolfeboro Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wolfeboro Hotel Wolfeboro
The Hotel Wolfeboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing