We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic!”
Review of The Wolfeboro Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wolfeboro Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Wolfeboro
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed at the Wolfeboro Inn in late August 2012 and enjoyed a wonderful stay! The property location is ideal for walking access to all Wolfeboro has to offer. Our room was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Internet access was easy and we had no trouble with it. In spite of facing the ample parking lot, our room was quiet and our stay restful. The lawn down to the beach is lovely. The beach area is small and is next to a group of docked boats from the yacht club next door, but all the water in the lake is crystal clear and worthy of a dip if you're so inclined. I found the hotel dock with the adirondack chairs to be completely relaxing. We did not eat at the hotel but heard from folks in town that the Tavern food is very good. We did manage to walk to town every evening for homemade ice cream at Bailey's Bubble. Contrary to other posts, we found the hotel staff very friendly and accommodating - and the cookies are DELICIOUS! If you don't like the cookies, you probably don't belong in Wolfeboro! There is no fitness center, but the hotel offers access to a nearby fitness club. ...Also, the Lindt truffles for a bedtime treat are super nice touch!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Streetsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POTUS1234, General Manager at The Wolfeboro Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Dear Streetsurfer,

Thank you for taking the time to write and recap your extraordinary experience here. We are so pleased that everything met with your expectations and that you had such a wonderful here in Wolfeboro. We appreciate your comments on our staff as friendly and accommodating. I will be certain to let them know. They take great pride and strive to achieve this result. We are thrilled you took the time to relax and enjoy our gardens, Adirondack chairs, the beach, the food and as mentioned several times throughout these review’s the lobby cookies, homemade daily and rotated to offer a unique, abundant variety of choices. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

The hotel's website refers to its recently refurbished rooms so when we booked a deluxe double/double we had high expectations, especially as it promised a view of the lake.

When we arrived, there was loads of parking which was great and the entrance to the hotel opens onto a large rustic atrium with plenty of couches and chairs which is very welcoming. There's coffee here in the morning and lemonade and excellent cookies in the afternoon. Check in was quick and easy.

The room, however, was disappointing. It was slightly shabby, the bathroom was Motel 6 standard (albeit with upmarlet toiletries) and there was a tiny corner balcony too small to sit on offering a glimpse of the lake which is at the end of the long garden. I was left wondering what their interpretation of "recent" was as there was chipped paint and generally it all needed a refurb.

However, the room was large, there was a huge TV and sespite being next to the lift, there was no noise. I was, however, rather taken aback by the pre-used slippers. No doubt they'd been washed but any hotel I've stayed in before that offers slippers means new ones that you're welcome to take with you. Not here!!

The wifi was also free but flaky although it worked perfectly well downstairs in the atrium The hotel has its Tavern connected to it and although we didn't eat there at night, I'd recommend the $5 breakfast which was excellent.

The lawn leads down to a gazebu, which is turn leads down to a small beach area with towels, chairs etc. Here also you can see the hotel's paddle steamer that offers afternoon cruises on the lake although these actually depart from the town wharf.

It's only a short walk down into town to the wharf, shops and restaurants so it is a very convenient place to stay. Overall we enjoyed our time here and slept well but they really shouldn't imply that these rooms are something that they are not.

Room Tip: Go for a view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotel Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POTUS1234, General Manager at The Wolfeboro Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Hotel Harry,

Thank you for taking the time to recap your experience with us and for your generous comments as well as overall score. We are pleased that you found the parking to be plentiful, the morning and afternoon refreshments to be exquisite (the cookies are homemade recipes by our executive chef’s wife which we make here daily on property.) I am pleased you enjoyed the gardens, gazebo, and restaurant (specifically breakfast) our location to town and room/bath amenities. Wifi is complimentary throughout the property. We have expanded our bandwidth and based on your comments are currently investigating increasing our signal output. Having 27 years of experience in the hotel business in four-diamond hotels, I will say it is not that unique to wash slippers. The goal is always to discard them before they look in appearance beyond their life cycle. I will have the housekeeping supervisor remove the ones from your room. I will also brainstorm with the team on the balcony. It is small - standing room only but does offer a nice view (and does need a fresh coat of paint) which is easily accomplished, thank you. As for the guest rooms, the room you are in looks exactly like the pictures we have on line. New wall covering, furniture, carpet, window treatment, etc. Nothing remains from the prior to the renovation. The bathrooms are original though refurbished. As you noted we have added upgraded amenities and curved shower curtain rods. We appreciate your comments and are pleased you enjoyed Wolfeboro – the Jewel of Lake Winnipesaukee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I was greeted on reception by one of the most robotic staff I have ever encountered, and the exterior looked worn and in need of repair (particularly the woodwork on the door to the balcony which looks like it won't survive another another winter). Breakfast is expensive, so go across the road and go to the charming diner. Rooms were big but bland and aircon is noisy. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikonos44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POTUS1234, General Manager at The Wolfeboro Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Dear ikonos44

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are always appreciative the time guests take and the positive as well as constructive comments they share. In review of your comments, our staff service by and large does not typically get a review such as this so I am most anxious to hear from you (see contact us on web site) if you could share any specifics. The vast majority of comments have tended to be warm, friendly, engaging. I look forward to hearing from you as we want to address this as quickly as possible. You are correct the bottom of the door frame on the exterior of the building you describe is in need of attention. There is no structural concern. We have been reviewing options on the best way to address the repair and will make the final decision and necessary repairs in the spring. As for breakfast, we offer a $5.00 breakfast lowest in the area perhaps you didn’t see it on the menu? Most couples spend $20 or less for breakfast and we offer a wide selection/variety of options, I hope you will reconsider. Finally, I will look into the hvac unit you mentioned. We have had good success in addressing such concerns when guests have brought them to our attention. We have not been shy about replacing units if necessary as well, permanently or temporarily. Thank you for your observations, I look forward to hearing from you further soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

What can I say that hasn't been already said ?...the weekend was perfect..From the moment of arrival to the moment we left we were attended to..the room was phenomenal! We were in a suite with two balconies !We were very pleasantly surprised to be in that beautiful suite!.and the room service,like everything else was wonderful...never even saw anyone coming or going..just beautiful with many wonderful touches that weren't expected! and then the orchestration of our wedding....before,during and after..couldn't have gone smoother..every detail covered..even the gazebo,lawn and view were "dressed up"! It was wonderful to be able to be by the lake for our ceremony..outside on the well decorated deck and then inside for dinner and dancing..That went like clockwork as well..all day the staff was cheering us on...felt like extended family! Hard to say what was best!

Room Tip: we had a corner room which was so sunny and bright..never mind quite large ..wonderful to look out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POTUS1234, General Manager at The Wolfeboro Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Dear Karen S,

Once again, congratulations to you both on your wedding. We are honored to have been your host and to have played a part of such an important event in your life. Thank you for all your kind words, I will be certain to pass them along to our staff members. It was our pleasure and we look forward to seeing you time and again over the years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We found this place mediocre. Although historical in nature, the building and facilities were worn, our cave-like room faced the parking lot, their boasted-about private beach was really a small patch of sand sharing waterfront with many boat docks (and therefore with water not-so-appealing to swim in), the boat that they operate giving cruises around Lake Winnipesaukee turned out to only run on weekends after Labor Day (and our stay was on a Tues, Wed, Thurs!!), and they offered lemonade and not-very-good cookies during the time (e.g., 5-7 pm) when wine and cheese would have been nice. The staff at the front desk (there was no concierge) were efficient and business-like but not exactly friendly. Moreover, I have never seen a town shut down so fast after Labor Day!! Boats, shops, and restaurants just locked up and turned out the lights beginning the very following day. Even for a resort town this seemed on the extreme end of the spectrum. All-in-all, although very well situated (just a short walk from the main drag), a difficult place to recommend. Also, no fitness room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suzannah1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POTUS1234, General Manager at The Wolfeboro Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear Suzannah1234

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry you found Wolfeboro to be a bit “slower” after Labor Day. While it is true that things do slowdown comparatively from the busy summer crush, there are advantages to that, among them are the plethora of activities, especially if you enjoy being ”active”, such as boating, hiking, biking, zip tours, Segway tours, etc. The shops in town remain open all day, but do adjust to the “fall schedule”. I am sorry you did not enjoy the cookies in the lobby. This is typically a source great of pride. Our cookies are unique; we rotate 3 dozen different kinds for variety. They are purposefully made with unique ingredient combinations like poppy seed and lemon for example and made from scratch by the Chef’s wife. (By the way, I wish we could offer wine but it is against State law in New Hampshire!) We appreciate your comments on the Belle and are looking, as we speak, into extending the days we ply the waters of Winnipesaukee from Labor Day until mid-October. I am hopeful that we will be able to add 2 more days if not this year, certainly for the 2013 season. Thank you for your insight and recommendations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a suite with a shared balcony (although no-one was in the adjoining room when we stayed.) There are trees in front of the lake, but you could still see the water from the balcony. There is a small beach with chairs-nice to sit by the water or on the sand. The room was spacious and well equipped, with a desk, lots of plugs, fridge, large shower with nice toiletries including things like lipsalve. Any partly used will be recycled for charity. On Tuesday nights there is a live singer in the adjacent tavern, but he stopped at 9pm so there was no sleep disruption, although the fridge was noisy and can't be turned off if you're not using it. The communal areas were smart and peaceful. We took the breakfast package when we booked, which was good value and worth considering. My only gripe was the room bill had some additions and deletions (albeit for only a few dollars) but this was just handed to me and not explained at checkout. I didn’t notice it until we’d left, and although only for small amounts, this should’ve been mentioned to me.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POTUS1234, General Manager at The Wolfeboro Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear lilgecko

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities. We are glad you utilized them to their fullest. We appreciate the time you took to share your experience. We do offer entertainment on the deck Tuesday during the summer for Tiki-Tuesday’s where we also offer drink specials and on the Winnipesaukee Belle for “Thirsty” Thursdays only. We are considering off season entertainment on the weekends in the winter season (November –April) but have not com e to any final decisions at this time. I appreciate your comments regarding checkout. We could certainly offer to explain a guests folio once we hand it to the if they so desire. I have passed that along to the Rooms Manager. Thank you again, we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Wolfeboro Inn for two weekday nights in July. Wolfeboro is probably the nicest town on the lake, with plenty of shops and restaurants to visit. The Inn's location is excellent, just outside the center of town, but within a two- or three-minute walk. Our room was well-appointed, clean, and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The Inn has a small beachfront and pier, where we spent a few pleasant hours reading and relaxing. Its restaurant, Wolfe's Tavern, is reasonably priced, which is a bit unusual for a hotel restaurant. Its menu is broad, offering choices for anyone's taste, We found the food and service to be quite good. It was not at all surprising that the restaurant seemed to attract a clientele beyond those staying at the Inn. Overall, I would have no reservations in recommending this property to anyone planning a vacation in the region.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POTUS1234, General Manager at The Wolfeboro Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear babowebprof

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased you had such an enjoyable stay. As I have mentioned on several previous occasions, we are blessed to be in the town Wolfeboro, which is indeed the Jewel of Lake Winnipesaukee. As for the Wolfe’s Tavern, we strive to achieve exactly what you discovered. That we offer a wide range of quality menu items from pizza and burgers to sesame-crusted sashimi grade tuna and pan bronzed duck with everything in- between. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolfeboro
12.0 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
497 reviews
16.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ossipee
87 reviews
15.0 mi away
Mill Falls at the Lake
Mill Falls at the Lake
#2 of 3 in Meredith
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Windrifter Resort
The Windrifter Resort
#7 of 7 in Wolfeboro
30 reviews
9.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
11.7 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#4 of 13 in Laconia
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wolfeboro Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wolfeboro Inn

Address: 90 N Main St, P.O. Box 1270, Wolfeboro, NH 03894-4309
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Wolfeboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Wolfeboro
Price Range: £69 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wolfeboro Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn was renovated in 2009 and has 44 guestrooms with an eclectic mix of traditional and contemporary furnishings. Rooms are identified with the variety of views we offer from the lake, to gardens, limited partial views of downtown or surrounding neighborhood. Each room has 32" flat screen TVs, complimentary wireless internet access, Sealy plush mattress top bedding as well as upgraded amenities including cotton bathrobes, slippers, ironing boards/irons and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities. Some rooms have work desks, and some include baclonies or petite balconies. The property has striking and relaxing common areas with a large stone fire place in the lobby, and picturesque landscaped grounds that lead to a small private beach add to your enjoyment. Wolfe's Tavern, an authentic New England pub, is one of Wolfeboro's most popular restaurants to spend an informal afternoon or evening. Enjoy traditional New England cuisine with a contemporary flair, and choose from our famous beer list featuring over one hundred domestic and imported beers. The Tavern has three fireplaced rooms, two bars, and a seasonal outdoor patio. Open every day, year-round for breakfast, lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch. Wolfeboro, the jewel of Lake Winnipesaukee, offers year-round activities, including golf, tennis, swimming, mountain biking, boating, New Hampshire attractions, shopping, museums, and of course beautiful Lake Winnipesaukee. Winter brings cross-country skiing and snowmobiling, downhill skiing is only thirty minutes away, skating or ice fishing on the Bay. Sit by our fireplace enjoy a book or games take a leisurely stroll in the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Wolfeboro Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wolfeboro Hotel Wolfeboro
The Hotel Wolfeboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing