We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be avoided”

Topsides Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wolfeboro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Topsides Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Wolfeboro B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This B&B looks the part, a charming Victorian house in a charming New Hampshire town, walking distance to the shops and restaurants...BUT find another place to stay.
The house is cluttered to overflowing with chattels the rather diffident owner has collected and they are all covered with dust and grime. We have never stayed anywhere so grubby.
We perched in our bedroom, defeated by the lack of space to put anything and by the overall feeling that nothing had been cleaned for a very long time. Especially the bathroom.
Despite the assurances of the owner, South Main Street was like a motorway from 5am.
The breakfast dimension of this B&B was laughable. There were four guests staying and there were 4 thin slices of melon and 2 or 3 Danish pastries (which we were assured came from the supermarket opposite) cut into pieces. One guest asked whether there was cooked breakfast available and when she was told no, asked for some toast. This was duly delivered, but in the most offhanded manner. None was offered to the others.
The owners were keen to tell us about themselves and you all know what that is like.
Wolfeboro does not offer many places to say, but I would certainly avoid this one.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the front of this B&B are incredibly noisy from very early in the morning. Not sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nonamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed one night at this charming Bed and Breakfast during a driving tour of the New England states in May/June this year. Our room, the Coastal French Room, was spacious, very comfortable and exquisitely decorated. Located at the top-end of the main street, this B & B was a short and pleasant walk to the downtown area of this delightful resort town on Lake Winnipesaukee. Cindy, the innkeeper, was a most hospitable hostess and the continental breakfast served in the elegant dining room was delicious. It was a wonderful overnight stay and we wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RosemaryMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Topsides B&B was a great place to stay. Great value. A short walk to town. Free parking in back. House was very clean. Room was beautifully decorated and beds comfortable. Very nice breakfast. Innkeeper Cynthia was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

After reading all great reviews, we're excite to meet the inkeeper. They are hard to to be reached. We called twice, no one returned a call, or answered the phone. After checking in, shortly they showed up and took our credit card, and gone. Our room was nice looking. But hairs in the bathroom and toilet's not cleaned well, thick dust all over the table, etc. Maybe a maid didn't clean the room well (just one day?), or not doing a good job. Enjoyed cupboard-cookies and ice. our room did not have a water view -- as advertised. Very basic breakfast, cereal, toast and coffee. My coffee was cloudy with unfiltered grounds. I guess it's good place for budget traveler -- nice as long as you don't expect more than average. Town was quaint, and 4 small beaches near by.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Provence06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

we were fortunate enough to have booked "Topsides" for our one night stay in Wolfeboro.
we were greeted warmly by our hosts Cindy and Dennis. we stayed in the "Nantucket" room...so lovely, with a most comfortable bed. after dinner, at a restaurant recommended by Cindy (Garwoods - fabulous!!) we sat on the porch reading and felt completely relaxed with the world!
in the morning Cindy had prepared a marvellous spread for continental breakfast and we were treated as special people.
we would say this is about as good as B&B's get and if we are fortunate enough to return to the area we would certainly return to Topsides.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We would really recommend this bed and breakfast in Wolfeboro! The room and bathroom was lovely and clean, free wifi, great breakfast and within walking distance of the center of the town - and the owner Cindy was extremely kind. A great stay for a reasonable price!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie_B82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

During an overnight visit to Wolfeboro, my husband and I had the good fortune of staying at the Topsides B&B. The inn is situated close to the town eliminating our need to drive and park which can be difficult during the high season. The inn is charming, nicely furnished and clean. We stayed in the spacious Nantucket room which had a side room perfect to keep our suitcases and hang our clothing. Our bathroom was extremely clean and generous in size. The continental breakfast was varied and sufficient although we would have appreciated hot food items as well. I should also mention the beautiful gardens and lovely porch. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldiva627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolfeboro
0.7 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
331 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
497 reviews
0.8 mi away
123 North Main Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Windrifter Resort
The Windrifter Resort
#7 of 7 in Wolfeboro
30 reviews
8.8 mi away
Belknap Point Inn
Belknap Point Inn
#3 of 6 in Gilford
101 reviews
9.8 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topsides Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topsides Bed and Breakfast

Address: 209 S Main St, Wolfeboro, NH 03894-4412
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Wolfeboro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Wolfeboro
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing