We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need to change replace their mattresses!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allen A Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wolfeboro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Allen A Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Wolfeboro
Pelham, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Need to change replace their mattresses!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I just stayed here with my family last weekend. I pretty much agree with many of those who gave this property a bad review, reason being the mattresses! The Allen A Motor Inn is exactly what the name saids, it's a motor inn, nothing more...a place to sleep and clean up, old furniture, but that's okay as one is not looking for a resort type accommodations. This was fine with our family, since we weren't spending much time here. On the plus side, great location for where we needed to be (was attending a family reunion), nice small beach behind the motel and within 5 -10 minute drive to downtown Wolfeboro and the State Parks. On the Negative side, the Mattresses which were extremely old and had stains on them, this is a health issue. Also, when you first walk into the room, there is a musty smell, the a/c is old, bathroom fixtures are old (but, I do have to give them credit that at least the bathroom was clean). New carpets, linens are needed and the most important new mattresses. New pillows would be nice as well as they were flat as a pancake. I did address my complaints to the front desk, but I feel it fell on deaf ears, no apologies, "only it's the weekend, we cannot do anything"-SERIOUSLY!!! The outside of the motor inn can also use a paint job, as the doors and walls were peeling.

I've been a travel consultant for the past 32 years and NEVER have I encountered mattresses that looked the way that these did and in good conscience, I cannot recommend this motor inn, until the owners replace ALL of the mattresses and give the place a paint job!

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here, I suggest that you check out the mattresses to see if they have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    2
    2
    8
See reviews for
8
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
154 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We have stayed here the last few years for a Golf Outing. Its a place to lay your head. Thats about it. The owners are fantastic people who will do anything to make your stay easier. Yes the rooms are small, yes they are outdated. Yes they are close clean and cleaned daily. Small bathrooms and outdated TVs but again we knew what we were getting into. Staying here saves us a ton of money compared to staying at the Wolfeboro Inn. They let us grill out in the parking lot and just have a good time.

Room Tip: The pool has been closed every time we were here so I would not even bother. Also if you have kids t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bostonshovel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Better off to Sleep in your car, back to the 40's, sticky bedspreads and carpet, small room, old paneled walls, must have been nice in the 40's but needs a major update, I was looking for Norman all night,could not wait to get out of there! Never again!

Room Tip: Better you should sleep in your car! Bates motel! Small room, carpets were so old, bedspreads dubiou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

The location is convenient, nice beach just behind it. But, but....the rooms smell moldy, windows may stick, a/c not kept up. The pool in the yard locked and shabby. Almost no amenities and
bathrooms are small. A small porch is off the rooms, the view is nice, but would not stay there for a vacation. If only passing through and there is no other choice in Wolfeboro, one night is more than enough. Be sure to open all windows (if you can), and open sliding door to porch to allow air in to clear the musty odor. It could have potential with care and improvements. Price is good for over priced Wolfeboro hotel/motels, but current $ not really worth it. We were actually in the area to attend an event in another town and needed only one night. Later found another hotel in that town closer to the event, quite reasonable and good.

Room Tip: Whatever room you choose, open windows and sliding door to clear out moldy odor. There is no restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahlyanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northboro, MA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

I go back to the days when the Allen A resort was a thing to behold. Tennis courts, indoor theater, cabins tucked away in the woods, an owner who dressed like a cowboy and rode his beautiful palamino during periodic fireworks displays open to the public. Those days were maybe 50 years ago. That resort closed and a new motel was opened, containing a restaurant, play areas for kids, etc. Well, much of that is gone and we now have the motor inn, at which we have been staying for maybe ten years.

Having camped for twenty years or so up the road we have come to like this part of Wolfeboro. From the motel its a two minute drive a beautiful free beach, there is a state park nearby, and places to pull over at Lake Wentworth to swim or canoe. This said it is five minutes into Wolfeboro for lunch, dinner, and hob nobbling with the Romney set or wannabees who have populated this part of the world for years.

As to the motel itself, it is managed by very nice and accomodating people who are slowly upgrading the rooms. The one we had last week had wi-fi and a fridge. It was clean and comfy and the air conditioner got us through a serious hot spell. The pool out back is extremely nice; clear, clean and refreshing....never used it seems. We like sitting on the little deck out back and watching a sunset.

Ok, as one can tell from other reviews this is no Hilton. The outside needs a serious paint job, as does the wooden furniture. Some of the in room furniture is on its last legs. It would be nice to have a coffee pot or coffee served in the reception area. But there are signs of progress and if Romney gets elected president maybe the owners can strike a deal with Marriott to start over. In the meantime, if you are in the mood for some North Woods simplicity in near perfect surroundings......

For us the bottom line is something quiet a level or two above a camping trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side; they are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rkgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
229 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Allen "A" has two types of rooms and we were upgraded to the better of the two. The room was hot and musty smelling. The AC was off and minimal when on. The curtains were threadbare. The blinds would not go to the bottom of the window. The bathroom fan unit had a burning lint smell when on. The bedding was 1950s. The carpet was filthy. The walls had cracks and no pictures. Worst of all there were little bugs on the pillows.
All this for $99 per night! Needless to say, we left and were fortunate to find a room elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DACETC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

We booked my son and daughter into the Allen A because we were in Wolfeboro for a family wedding. They were put ina room around the back with a door with a flimsy lock.
My daughter did not feel safe. The room clearly had not been cleaned recently as there were dead bugs in sight in the bathroom and beneath the air conditioner. When "clean" towels were left in the room they had dried toothpaste still on them.
I only found out about the conditions on the ride home, so I wrote a letter to the management and received no reply! I strongly recommend that you avopid the Allen A in Wolfeboro NH!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank BPS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolfeboro
2.2 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
14.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ossipee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Windrifter Resort
The Windrifter Resort
#6 of 6 in Wolfeboro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Days Inn Tamworth
Days Inn Tamworth
#2 of 6 in Tamworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
10.9 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
9.9 mi away
Belknap Point Motel
Belknap Point Motel
#3 of 6 in Gilford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allen A Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allen A Motor Inn

Property: Allen A Motor Inn
Address: 427 Center St, Route 28 North, Wolfeboro, NH 03894-4814
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Wolfeboro
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Wolfeboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing