We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intimate theatre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Professional Theatre Company

Ocean Professional Theatre Company
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Barnegat
Attraction details
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Intimate theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The show was entertaining, but the lead had an acoustic issue and was not able to correct. The distortion was hard to try to be able to enjoy the show.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gmiller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Like the Yellow Brick Road -- Well Worth the Journey!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Steve Steiner continues to make magic happen with wonderful talent and fantastic shows now at the Bengal Auditorium in Barnegat NJ. We were season ticket holders for 30 years on LBI and he brought the best shows to the island. Now he works his magic in a different location and it is well worth the trip to see some of our old favorite actors, like Andrew Foote, and the best shows in the area including those on Broadway. Buddy Holly and Titanic can't be outdone. A testament to this is national tours that won rave reviews in Laguna Beach, CA. Children's theatre is also a great, fun opportunity for the entire family. For those who appreciate great theatre and reasonable prices, OPTC magical wizardry is well worth the trip to Barnegat to enjoy an evening or afternoon of fabulous theatre. Steve also runs a fantastic program for summer interns interested in all aspects of theatre. What a treasure trove of talent right here in our community! Make the time to follow the road and enjoy!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Buddy Holly lives!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We saw a production of the Buddy Holly Story. The actors made you feel that you were actually seeing Buddy Holly and the Crickets. The dancers and musicians were terrific. They all belong on Broadway.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sweetsue13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Children's Theatre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

I had taken my niece to see the production of 101 Dalmations. I was quite disappointed with this production. Costuming was too simple and very little scenary. The entire show lasted 23 minutes. I have much experience working with a elementary drama club and so much more could have been done with this production. It truly was not worth my hard earned 20 dollars for admission. Would have been a better choice to take my niece elsewhere for a show or even a movie. For a five year to say. "Thats it!"

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skippylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manahawkin, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great performances”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

The shows are professionally done. The actors have beautiful singing voices and are talented in dancing. The most impressive show I have seen thus far was last year's Titanic, The Musical. It was amazing!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Professional Theatre Company also viewed

Barnegat, Jersey Shore

Been to Ocean Professional Theatre Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing