We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delicious and Relaxing Retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnegat Light
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Minerva's by the Sea
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My weekend at Minerva's was a treat. Our room was tidy and comfortable, and every little detail was well considered. I enjoyed a book from the library and appreciated all of the care Emma took to make us comfortable.

Emma's food is delicious! I came home inspired by her innovative recipes, and have her to thank for the vegetarian French onion soup that's in progress for my dinner at home tonight. She takes great pride in meeting all of her guests' preferences and dietary restrictions.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Minerva's by the sea offers the best in quality and location. If you are looking for a weekend excursion or a week long siesta it offers the best accommodations and boasts a kind and warm hearted staff. So if you are looking for a good vacation location. You have found it.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank friendly36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have been to Minerva's three times, and all have been restorative and marvelous. The accommodations are extremely comfortable, clean, and quiet--the rooms are charming and peaceful. The food is always healthy, beautifully presented and I love the family dinner-table setting. Minerva's is quickly becoming one of my first choices when I need to step out of the crazy and into serenity. Emma is a gracious and remarkable innkeeper, making comfort for her guests seem effortless. I always feel welcomed! It's also an easy walk to the lighthouse and shore, so the location is fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dylene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Got into this place through a comedy of errors that left us on Long Beach Island, NJ, with no place to stay for two nights. We ended up wishing we were able to stay for two weeks. Immaculate, modern rooms, excellent breakfast and indescribable hospitality. Emma and her staff are devoted to making every guest's experience memorable--in the very best possible way. We unhesitatingly and unreservedly recommend Minerva's by the Sea B&B to anyone coming to the Jersey shore.

Room Tip: Two front rooms on second floor are probably roomiest. Mermaid has best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at Minerva's for two nights in August as part of a long road trip round the US, and wanted somewhere welcoming and peaceful to relax for a couple of days. Minerva's was perfect. From the first hello to the last goodbye, everyone we met was so welcoming, friendly and helpful. This is a real hidden gem. The breakfasts are wonderful, the rooms well equipped and very comfortable, and it was especially lovely to meet the other guests each morning. Barnegat Light is delightful - a quiet spot at the end of the island, with beautiful beaches. As for the location of the Minerva's, there's a great bar at one end of the road, and the BEST ice cream parlour almost next door. The beaches are a very short walk away. Thank you, Emma and everyone, for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in the Emperor Penguin room - just right for family of 4 with 2 kids age 8 & 11. We used the kitchen for lunch and snacks. The girls loved meeting people at breakfast. The breakfasts all were delicious and comfortable on the 3rd floor roof deck. And, Emma reminded us that we were there to make memories and forget our usual routines. Of course, the soft white sand beach and the biking and ice cream at Poppy's next door made this easy. We certainly hope to return next year for our 3rd year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We love this Bed and Breakfast; Emma makes you feel very welcome. The kitchen is very beautiful and you will have several healthy choices for breakfast, which you will see Emma preparing for you. You will have the choice of either eating breakfast at the comfortable kitchen table, or outside on the deck, adjoined to the kitchen with a scenic view. There is an elevator, in addition to the stairs, which will bring you to the second and third floors. The bedroom and bathrooms are also very beautiful, comfortable and inviting. The library is also bright, beautiful and has many reading and video selections, in addition to being very inviting to children of all ages. There is a continuing puzzle in both the library and the entrance room downstairs, which is also very comfortable. If you enjoy bicycling, there are bicycles to be borrowed. The neighborhood is quiet and close to the Barnegat Lighthouse and beaches, Emma also gives beach badge during your stay. The beaches are beautiful. As you can tell, we have enjoyed our stay at Minerva’s By the Sea very much.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful and quiet. If you are planning to stay for an extended visit with a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnegat Light
8.4 mi away
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
10.0 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
123 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Spray Beach Hotel
Spray Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Beach Haven
170 reviews
13.7 mi away
Mariner Inn
Mariner Inn
#9 of 12 in Beach Haven
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sand Castle
The Sand Castle
#1 of 5 in Barnegat Light
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva's by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva's by the Sea

Address: 13 West 7th Street, Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island, NJ 08006
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Barnegat Light
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Barnegat Light
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minerva's is a year-round family-friendly bed and breakfast, with five units, all with private bath and comfortable distance/separation between each unit. One unit has a private entrance and a full kitchen. Free wi-fi, attractive library and lobby sitting areas. Two rooms have a private decks. Convenient to shops and restaurants, beaches and fishing.Rates from $265, including full breakfast,and use of beach tags, beach towels, beach chairs, and bikes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing