We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
156
8
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
156
8
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones bed and breakfast eggs benedict beach chairs thought of everything private entrance long beach island fresh fruit annual visit outside entrance get away sunset vista grand piano beautiful heated pool bay breeze small porch breakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Three days of comfortable luxury, great views from our rooms, excellent swimming pool and jacuzzi, exemplary care and attention from the innkeeper, Nancy Gallimore and her team, the peace and tranquility of the surrounding harbour, beaches and quaint township, are the perfect ingredients for a our most relaxing and yet reinvigorating break ever.

Nancy Gallimore should run degree courses for 'chain hotel executives' on the art and skills of relaxing and charming their guests amid comfortable and unique accomodations.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BOUGHTON1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

I have wanted to stay here for years. The entire summer season books up probably by March. It is a gorgeous place. Beautiful setting. It is spottless. Not one grain of sand under feet. The pool and hot tub are great. The breakfast is delicious. But what really makes it memorable is all the special touches that Nancy has thought of to make your stay special. A bottle of wine, two robes, two mugs with packets of hot chocolate, ice buckets, wireless internet, plastic wine glasses for the pool area, make up remover pads and other toiletries, and phone with free local and long distance calls are all provided in the room. In the public areas of the building there are DVDs (color coded by genre), a baby grande you can plan anytime before 10PM, books, games, spring water, microwave popcorn, tea, ice, etc. She has bikes, chairs, and umbrellas for the beach. Nancy really thought about everything her guests could possibly need or want and provides it all...for free! By far our best bed and breakfast experience. I hope to stay again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank jmuamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2007

We stayed here for three days in August, 2006. The place was amazing. Great view of the bay, easy drive to the beach, plenty of rental boats across the street.

There was privacy which is unusual in a B&B - you have your own door, and don't need to walk past the front desk to come and go. Nancy, the innkeeper was amazing and so laid back! The place was very well maintained, but not uptight at all. There are bikes to help yourself to, beach towels, movies, etc. The pool is really nice, with a hot tub next to it.

We keep kosher and felt right at home. There is a full size fridge in the common area, and we brought a barbeque and Nancy let us set it up by the pool (there is a built-in BBQ by the pool as well). BBQ by the pool every night - amazing! Plus there was plenty of fresh fruit, juice, cereal, tea, etc at breakfast. Nancy could not have been more accomodating. (In contrast, we had originally booked at Julia's of Savannah in Beach Haven, and when we told the owner we keep kosher, she summarily cancelled our reservation without even telling us.)

We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank bs345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2006

My wife and I spent three nights at The Sand Castle Bed and Breakfast on Long Beach Island in New Jersey. It was one of the best experiences that we have ever had. The only thing that spoiled it was that we had to leave. We had never had the B&B experience before and Nancy Gallimore, the Innkeeper, her daughter Kelly, and her staff have set the bar extremely high.
There are only seven rooms in this large house that sits with a beautiful view of the Bay. Our room had a Queen Size bed, two rocking chairs, TV/VCR/ DVD/CD player and a gas fireplace. We had two entrances to our room. We could either walk through the house or use the entrance that leads directly to the outside. We found this to be a wonderful convenience. We parked our car right in front of our room.
Our bathroom had a two-person shower. There are other rooms with a Jacuzzi, including the two luxury suites with a Jacuzzi for two.
Breakfast was full service. Fruit, pastry (that included the best scones that you will ever have) and two tasty and filling entrees start out the meal. Plenty of coffee, regular and herbal teas and hot chocolate are at your disposal.
There are plenty of fine restaurants on the Island and Nancy furnishes a book in the room with menus of her choices as a guide. Movie, bikes, beach towels and chairs are all complementary.
Nancy and Kelly make it worthwhile. Friendly and personable, they made the entire stay comfortable.
We highly recommend it and we plan to get back there before they close for the winter.
Visit: [--] for more info.

11  Thank ZFAM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2006

From the minute you step foot into Sand Castle B&B, you are bathed in every possible indulgence imaginable. Nancy Gallimore, the inn keeper, was attentive to our every need. We stayed in the Sunset Vista suite that had an oversized two person jacuzzi, a gas fireplace and most importantly, a romantic view of the bay. The sunset was incredible! There are cold drinks and snacks available at all times.
Nancy's breakfasts were to die for. Eggs benedict and fruit stuffed french toast have to be tasted to be believed. If you are a coffe drinker (and I am) you will love Nancys gourmet coffee also available 24 hours a day.
We have been to many B&B's over the years, and we feel that Sandcastle is FIRST CLASS in every aspect. We will return for sure! Great job Nancy.....

Dianne and Mark

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ThePash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews