We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is truly the best B&B experience!”
Review of The Sand Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sand Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We went to Sand Castle after our original beach hotel in Long Island, NY had not opened its doors yet and had not bothered to contact us! So with only a week to find a place by a beach, my boyfriend found the Sand Castle at the last minute. I am so glad he did and everything the previous reviewers said are very true. We booked 2 rooms, a suite for my parents who came over from Scotland and a regular room for us. Both rooms are very, very comfortable and very clean. I love the clean line decor... easy on the eye and very calming and homey.

We stayed from Sunday to Tuesday, June 28 - 30th. On the first day we drove to the beach, took no more than a few minutes, On the beach my boyfriend asked my parents for their blessing and by that evening he proposed!!

In the morning we had a fantastic breakfast and when we came back to our rooms, our rooms were already cleaned and serviced! We climbed up the lighthouse which is also no more than a few minutes drive.

The location of the Sand Castle is very convenient to restaurants, the beach and the lighthouse. Ample parking, right outside your door. Also no problem to park near the beach.

All of us had a great time and very memorable for me!

Last note, I forgot to pack a piece of clothing from the closet, I called up and I received it by post the very next day! What service!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purpleangelusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2009

Three days of comfortable luxury, great views from our rooms, excellent swimming pool and jacuzzi, exemplary care and attention from the innkeeper, Nancy Gallimore and her team, the peace and tranquility of the surrounding harbour, beaches and quaint township, are the perfect ingredients for a our most relaxing and yet reinvigorating break ever.

Nancy Gallimore should run degree courses for 'chain hotel executives' on the art and skills of relaxing and charming their guests amid comfortable and unique accomodations.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BOUGHTON1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

I have wanted to stay here for years. The entire summer season books up probably by March. It is a gorgeous place. Beautiful setting. It is spottless. Not one grain of sand under feet. The pool and hot tub are great. The breakfast is delicious. But what really makes it memorable is all the special touches that Nancy has thought of to make your stay special. A bottle of wine, two robes, two mugs with packets of hot chocolate, ice buckets, wireless internet, plastic wine glasses for the pool area, make up remover pads and other toiletries, and phone with free local and long distance calls are all provided in the room. In the public areas of the building there are DVDs (color coded by genre), a baby grande you can plan anytime before 10PM, books, games, spring water, microwave popcorn, tea, ice, etc. She has bikes, chairs, and umbrellas for the beach. Nancy really thought about everything her guests could possibly need or want and provides it all...for free! By far our best bed and breakfast experience. I hope to stay again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank jmuamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2007

We stayed here for three days in August, 2006. The place was amazing. Great view of the bay, easy drive to the beach, plenty of rental boats across the street.

There was privacy which is unusual in a B&B - you have your own door, and don't need to walk past the front desk to come and go. Nancy, the innkeeper was amazing and so laid back! The place was very well maintained, but not uptight at all. There are bikes to help yourself to, beach towels, movies, etc. The pool is really nice, with a hot tub next to it.

We keep kosher and felt right at home. There is a full size fridge in the common area, and we brought a barbeque and Nancy let us set it up by the pool (there is a built-in BBQ by the pool as well). BBQ by the pool every night - amazing! Plus there was plenty of fresh fruit, juice, cereal, tea, etc at breakfast. Nancy could not have been more accomodating. (In contrast, we had originally booked at Julia's of Savannah in Beach Haven, and when we told the owner we keep kosher, she summarily cancelled our reservation without even telling us.)

We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank bs345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2006

My wife and I spent three nights at The Sand Castle Bed and Breakfast on Long Beach Island in New Jersey. It was one of the best experiences that we have ever had. The only thing that spoiled it was that we had to leave. We had never had the B&B experience before and Nancy Gallimore, the Innkeeper, her daughter Kelly, and her staff have set the bar extremely high.
There are only seven rooms in this large house that sits with a beautiful view of the Bay. Our room had a Queen Size bed, two rocking chairs, TV/VCR/ DVD/CD player and a gas fireplace. We had two entrances to our room. We could either walk through the house or use the entrance that leads directly to the outside. We found this to be a wonderful convenience. We parked our car right in front of our room.
Our bathroom had a two-person shower. There are other rooms with a Jacuzzi, including the two luxury suites with a Jacuzzi for two.
Breakfast was full service. Fruit, pastry (that included the best scones that you will ever have) and two tasty and filling entrees start out the meal. Plenty of coffee, regular and herbal teas and hot chocolate are at your disposal.
There are plenty of fine restaurants on the Island and Nancy furnishes a book in the room with menus of her choices as a guide. Movie, bikes, beach towels and chairs are all complementary.
Nancy and Kelly make it worthwhile. Friendly and personable, they made the entire stay comfortable.
We highly recommend it and we plan to get back there before they close for the winter.
Visit: [--] for more info.

11  Thank ZFAM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2006

From the minute you step foot into Sand Castle B&B, you are bathed in every possible indulgence imaginable. Nancy Gallimore, the inn keeper, was attentive to our every need. We stayed in the Sunset Vista suite that had an oversized two person jacuzzi, a gas fireplace and most importantly, a romantic view of the bay. The sunset was incredible! There are cold drinks and snacks available at all times.
Nancy's breakfasts were to die for. Eggs benedict and fruit stuffed french toast have to be tasted to be believed. If you are a coffe drinker (and I am) you will love Nancys gourmet coffee also available 24 hours a day.
We have been to many B&B's over the years, and we feel that Sandcastle is FIRST CLASS in every aspect. We will return for sure! Great job Nancy.....

Dianne and Mark

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ThePash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2005

We loved Sand Castle. The inn keeper has thought of everything! Videos, wine, bikes, beach tags, cozy robe and slippers, sunsets, pool, jacuzzi, and gourmet coffee! Family run and worth every penny.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Get0utat0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnegat Light
8.4 mi away
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
9.9 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
123 reviews
9.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Spray Beach Hotel
Spray Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Beach Haven
170 reviews
13.6 mi away
Mariner Inn
Mariner Inn
#7 of 12 in Beach Haven
62 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#9 of 12 in Beach Haven
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sand Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sand Castle

Address: 710 Bayview Ave, P O Box 607, Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island, NJ 08006-1614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Barnegat Light
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Barnegat Light
Price Range: £169 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sand Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seashore contemporary, sparkling clean bed and breakfast accommodation with water view rooms and spacious suites, all with private entrance from the outside, private bath, some with jacuzzi, some with a porch and all with a sumptuous full breakfast each morning. Modern amenities including free wifi, HDTV, DVD player, library of current DVD's,common areas with grand piano and game tables, in-room hair dryer, robes, beach towels, beach tags, and beach chairs. Enjoy your day at the beach or out on the bay then return to our beautiful outdoor, heated pool (available summer only) and courtyard area or enjoy complimentary bikes to ride around town. We are close to restaurants and shopping and a short drive to golf. Relax on our beautiful rooftop deck overlooking a panoramic view of the Barnegat Bay and the Barnegat Lighthouse. Then celebrate our colorful sunsets as you pass another relaxing day at the Sand Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Sand Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sand Castle Hotel Barnegat Light

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing