We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IT IS CLOSED”
Review of Ridge Tavern - CLOSED

Ridge Tavern
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Henry Street
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“IT IS CLOSED”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The Ridge Tavern closed down awhile back and has since been gutted, renovated and opened under the new name, "The Washington House."

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Caren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Old Style Tavern”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stopped in for a beer and burger, food was good, bar was a little dirty and you could tell they have served a lot of beer over the years and part of it on the floor, but it does give it some charm. In the middle of Basking Ridge with easy parking.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macungie
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Easter brunch left me hungry”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We went for Easter brunch, but they kept running out of food. Very little left on the carving station. I swiped the last slice of lamb, they ran out and a lot of it was fat anyway. The prime rib kept running out as well and you had to wait on a very long line to get any food at all. The person carving the meat clearly had no idea how to carve it correctly either. They clearly accepted too many reservations and didn't prepare enough food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank musiceast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
2 reviews
“Service Terrific, Delicious Brunch”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My family and I just attended Easter Brunch at this Restaurant and we really enjoyed it for a number of reasons. Their service was terrific - our reservation was at 2 pm, they were very crowded, however we got seated right away. The tables were spaced out nicely so that there was room to move around, and it makes it easier to have kids there. The staff was really great - even the manager went the extra mile to make the experience a good one. The brunch was delicious - the roast beef carving was cooked perfectly, they have delicious salads and sides. I would recommend this restaurant going forward.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tinamcguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manville, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I don't understand the negative reviews”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I don't get why there are so many negative reviews here. My family and I stopped in last weekend, not sure what to expect, but I'm glad we came. The help needs help, and it was a little dead, but the food made up for it! It took about 10 minutes to get seated, which was ridiculous because the bar tender was right there, and random employees walked past. We were going to walk out, but I'm happy we didn't. The 3 of us all ordered different types of burgers and they were ALL perfect. The fries were fresh and soooooo good. My husband ordered a BBQ burger which came with bacon and the bacon was perfectly done. Crispy but not burned. If the help can get a little bit more "with it" I'd say this place would be 5 stars. We werent in a rush on a Sunday so the slow service didn't bother us much, but if this were on a week night, I would have been annoyed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Singx19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ridge Tavern also viewed

Basking Ridge, NJ
 
Basking Ridge, NJ
 
Basking Ridge, NJ
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing