We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful restaurant and impressive menu”
Review of Washington House

Washington House
Reserve with OpenTable
Washington House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant and impressive menu”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We dined in this restaurant for a romantic Friday evening meal. The atmosphere and service were impeccable.

The restaurant has been renovated and is fresh, clean, and calming.

Our food was delicious and our server was very knowledgeable and helpful.

Next time we will make reservations and request a beautiful window seat overlooking the downtown area of Basking Ridge.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traingos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    40
    22
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A revival worth celebrating....”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Washington House stands proud where the Ridge Tavern once did business. The Tavern closed in August of 2013. That venue was known as a reliable, if unspectacular, eatery with a local bar scene. In its place is now The Washington House, and it is an improvement in every way over the prior iteration.

The bar and dining areas have been completely and beautifully renovated. The bar smacks of understated nautical décor, while the dining room is sparsely, but tastefully furnished with a great ambiance. The motif is broad wood plank floors, white wainscoting, with a muted bluish gray paint above that. The a/c ducts are large pipes that snake across the ceiling, but because they have been painted white to match the overhead color, they are less noticeable than one would think. In the dining area, there are no window treatments whatsoever. The bare windows let in a great deal of light, as well as increase the heat load on the interior of the building during summer, but the new HVAC system is up to the task of keeping the interior comfortable.

Besides the alteration of the physical make up of the new venue over the Ridge Tavern, the kitchen also exhibits a drastic change, but decidedly for the better. This is well conceived, excellently prepared, and expertly served food. There is a broad selection of appetizers. These range in price from $7- $14. This includes diverse selections such as shrimp and grits, salmon tartare, steamed mussels and fries, chicken liver pate, and parsnip and onion tart. The salads include an excellent ceaser, a wonderful Washington House Salad (both $9) and a beet salad ($12).

If you want to go modest, the hamburgers ($14) are delicious and cooked to order. The French fries that accompany the burger are fresh and hand cut. Entrees range in price from $23 to $38. I recommend the grilled NJ lamb, and grilled organic Scottish salmon. Both are excellent choices. But whatever you order, you can hardly make a false step in this venue.

Desserts are home made, and all are $9. The ice cream is a superb way to perorate your meal, though for those among you who crave more decadent fare, the granny smith apple tart is the way to go.

The service here is beyond reproach. This is a well trained and expert staff. They know when to appear at your table, and when to respect your privacy.

This is not an inexpensive restaurant. Be prepared to spend $50 per person at minimum for dinner. They are open for lunch, and that will typically be a $20 experience. The drinks are also pricey (e.g. $7 for a bottle of Lagunitas Little Sumpin' craft beer, tap beer $6-$7, $9 minimum for a glass of wine, and $12 signature cocktails). However, you do not come to eat The Washington House if you are watching your pennies.

The Washington House is a wonderful venue for special occasions, but also a fabulous place to enjoy an upscale burger and a cold beer. There is a large parking lot behind the restaurant, which is fortunate since parking in downtown Basking Ridge can be a bit of a chore. If you are in the area, and crave a fine dining experience, The Washington House is your destination.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manasquan. NJ
Level Contributor
274 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great Addition to the Basking Ridge Restaurant Scene”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We dined here with two grandchildren on a Sunday evening and had a very enjoyable experience. The renovated dining room is bright and welcoming, but with no sound deadening materials, is a trifle noisy. That was the only minus. The menu is eclectic. My wife had the Grilled Griggstown Brick Chicken with house made chicken sausage, field greens, potato gratin & thyme gravy. She thought the potato gratin the best she's ever tasted. I ordered the Grilled Organic Scottish Salmon with celery root puree, caramelized onion, grilled lettuce & citrus creme craiche. I've never tasted better. Prices are reasonable and the bar area appealing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerseyShoreJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a lovely new restaurant in Basking Ridge”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Went here the other night with my family, primarily to check out the brand new renovations of this historic building in downtown Basking Ridge. If you are a local and know the work of the contractor who did the renovations, it will come as no surprise that everything was done in a meticulous manner and the decor and renovations are gorgeous.

Since Washington House had only been open for about a week, I wasn't expecting too much in terms of food or service, since it can take a little while for a restaurant to get all of their systems working, but I was more than pleasantly surprised! The service was warm, welcoming, and professional from the very first encounter at the door. We all ordered different items off the menu and each were well cooked, well spiced, tender and delicious. My kids each ordered burgers and said that they were the best that they had ever had! I had the Brick Chicken and ooh la la-- yum! It came accompanied by a grilled Romaine which was to die for. My only quibble with the entire visit was that since the Romaine was so good, I would have loved to have seen some more of it on the plate. And that did go in general for all of the entrees that we ordered-- a little more on the green veggie accompaniment to the main meat would have been lovely.

Wishing Washington House the best-- we will absolutely be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunterdon County, NJ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the food”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is the same restaurant that used to be The Store, then Ridge Tavern. The latest version has been significantly remodeled. You now enter into a large and appealing bar area. The rest of the restaurant is bright and stark. The new more open floor plan is noisier than the original. The menu is a little odd I have to say, including a fried quail and waffle entree. I had a chicken flatbread sandwich for lunch, without the bacon. I thought it was very good. The chicken was high quality and sliced thin. The flatbread was nicely warmed. It came with an option of salad or fries on the side. I enjoyed the salad. It also came with an interesting house made pickle. I liked the not too large portion sizes. (If you want a heap of food, eat at a diner, not here.) I a;so tried the chocolate hazelnut buttercrunch cake and found it to be pleasant and light. It is not your standard super sweet chocolate cake and I liked that. The waiter was pleasant and attentive, keeping the iced teas full. I will return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank northeastkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Washington House also viewed

 
Basking Ridge, NJ
Basking Ridge, NJ
 

Been to Washington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing