We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Destination Wedding Location + Helpful Staff= Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Olde Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Olde Mill Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Destination Wedding Location + Helpful Staff= Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here for a destination wedding right after Christmas which should have meant a ton of stress and minimal staff to handle things. We could not have been more wrong!

My wife and I both work in the hotel industry and are therefore painfully aware of when a hotel could do better. We were completely blown away however with this Inn's ability to handle not only the wedding we were attending, but FIVE...FIVE others over the same weekend. EVERY staff interaction was bright, cheerful, and extremely helpful as if we were the first people to walk through their doors. Let me add that we were travelling with our 15-month old daughter, two elderly parents, and a member of the party with physical needs. But every detail that had been planned out was flawlessly executed by the staff leaving us to be able to focus on the wedding. Every area seemed fully staffed and there was never a shortage of someone to help!

The food was excellent, from the groomsmens' lunch to the reception and dinner, everything was perfectly prepared and served with smiles. Changes were handled quickly and efficiently, and overall for the event aspect they were great. If I ever found out we were attending a wedding at this venue again I would jump at the chance (and recommend the mashed potato bar as well as several other items)!

On the rooms side, this was everything we needed. After a long and stressful road trip we found helpful Front Desk agents. We then got into our room to find it clean, quiet, and big enough (even with the king bed) for our daughter's portable crib we brought. Speaking of which our bed was SUPER-COMFORTABLE and we were both able to sleep very well. I feel I must again emphasize how CLEAN this room felt: sink and tub surfaces had that "sqeaky clean" feel when I touched it (again we know how these things sometimes are so I was impressed). I sometimes feel congested staying in hotel rooms due to air quality but this room was FRESH. Also, for a room that used the in-wall style of HVAC unit typically found in lower-end venues we were easily able to maintain a comfortable temperature all weekend. All I can say is there were a couple of MINOR things like a loose piece of trim work, a small crack in one tile that I could see had been patched, and overall the decor seemed too "old stlye" for me but A) Did not affect room comfort or enjoyment B) Had been repaired so just an observation C) just my personal taste. Plus I understand they are renovating the rooms next year anyway.

The floor structure and building design can be a little tricky to naviagate (two seperate floors have rooms in the 200-range but they had signage all over the place and in elevators to handle that. The few times anyone in our party got turned around staff was always able and willing to help.

Location was also good being close to the local family who was getting married, the church, and airport. Just don't count on taxi service being out there (not the venue's fault) which is how I found out you could throw the Best Man in a car and get to the airport in under 30 minutes (good access to 278/ 78).

PROS: Great staff, comfortable beds, clean rooms, able to handle multiple weddings, made our stressful weekend much less stressful. Made our event feel like it was "the only thing going on" and made us all feel welcome.

CONS: Layout can be confusing (check the signage), Decor looks dated (but goes with the theme of the building and surrounding town).

Room Tip: Not sure about direction in relation to the highway but we were in #226 and I never heard a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IKnowWhatImSayin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    77
    17
    12
    10
See reviews for
71
51
8
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple nights for a business meeting. Room overall was fine however looked and felt like your grandmothers house. Very dated decor and in need of some significant upgrading. Issues such as spots on the carpet, dated furniture etc.

The room however was kept quite clean which is positive.

The biggest issue I had was one that actually make me have two terrible nights sleep. The thermostat in the room incorrectly sensed that no one was in the room and then turned off of the heater...so I woke up absolutely freezing. Then I turned up the heat because it was so cold and next time I woke up it felt like 100 degrees.

The next night I wasn't able to figure out how to set it so it was equally uncomfortable.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank frogbog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omi2, Manager at The Olde Mill Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hello Frogbog,

Thank you for bringing to our attention, the issue you had experienced with your room thermostat. In our recent history, we do not have any reports from a guest with this issue. We have none the less elected to go through every guest room to check that our HVAC units are all functioning properly, ahead of our regularly schedued preventitive maintenance.
We are pleased to announce that our guestrooms are scheduled for an update in the first few months of 2014.
Hopefully you'll be able to stay with The Olde Mill again soon and have the opportunity to see these upcoming upgrades.

Norman Martin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

The Olde Mill Inn was our destination for a wedding this past weekend and the amenities were top notch. The reception for the occasion was catered by the Grain House Restaurant and the food was excellent. It's a building that is actually separate from the hotel itself and, from what I saw, orders may be shuttled over from the restaurant right to your door. A very nice touch. As a wedding guest, one could only wish a service like that was available to shuttle guests back to the hotel after a night of imbibing.

The room was nice. It was clean, first and foremost, but it also had a "guest room"-type, B&B feel to it. It made a guest feel like they were staying in someone's home rather than a hotel. The bed had more pillows and blankets than we knew what to do with, and we sank into the beds like they were clouds.

The only negatives were, being an older building, the insulation is, naturally, outdated and the room could get a little chilly. A heater was provided for the room, but we had to play with it 4 or 5 times throughout the night. Once we found our perfect temperature, game over. We were out like a light.

Another drawback was that we couldn't seem to locate the outlets anywhere except the bathroom. Even though the hotel is antique, the common traveler is not. There needs to be just one or two outlets that one doesn't need to rearrange furniture to find. Other than that, I hope something else brings us back to the area because I'd definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SleepingInn321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Don't let the name of this hotel lull you into thinking that's it's some rural idyll in some little village, it isn't. It hard against a busy freeway, with traffic roaring by until late in the evening and from early in the morning. The decor is a little twee for my tastes but that's just personal taste I guess. The rooms where clean and comfortable (if a little fussy) and the food in the restaurant was good.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the car-park! It backs on to the freeway.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKTravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldemillinn, General Manager at The Olde Mill Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your views with us. We are actually located in a small town with some wonderful shopping in the area, as well as historical sites to see. Im glad you found the rooms comfortable and clean. Please ask for a courtyard room on your next stay and that should help you with any noise sensitivity. I am happy to hear you ejoyed your meal at the Grain House Restaurant, they also provide room service for our hotel guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield nj
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My daughter's wedding was at the Olde Mill Inn this past weekend; we had guest from all over the US and even London England! EVERYONE loved the Inn-its charm, the staff and the comfortable rooms. Each of our guest commented on how helpful the front desk was--many guests needed car service which was easily arranged. The food at the Grain House and the complimentary breakfast were delicious. OUr wedding experience was perfect in every way! I am still getting calls and emails thanking us for having the best wedding experience most have ever been to!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starfish0817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldemillinn, General Manager at The Olde Mill Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We wish your daughter a lifetime of happiness.
Please come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
764 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

The welcome is genuine and the hotel has a lovely air about it; and after a long flight it was a pleasure to be therre. My room was spacious and comfortable, very clean and with a decent bathroom. The only thing that really let the hotel down was the road noise from the busy interstate. However, this was not the hotel's fault, just location an issue. Close to wehre I needed to be and in a very green part of New Jersey.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skippy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldemillinn, Manager at The Olde Mill Inn, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us know the next time your back and we will put you in one of our coutyard rooms, they are very quiet rooms. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Beds comfy...air cond worked well

Bar and event staff rude and unfriendly

Dont book your wedding here....we were guests at a wedding...awful food and service

Hotel was ok...elevators very slow....included breakfast was what you get at a cheap hotel and the staff would be friendlier at a the cheap place i am sure

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riandei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omi2, Manager at The Olde Mill Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hello raindei,

We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your time at the wedding that you had attended. Our food and our service always get terrific reviews and to hear that one of our guests did not have anything less than a wonderful experience saddens us to hear of it.
We will certainly make our entire staff and ownership aware of your feedback and hopefully correct any issues we might have.
If at any time, you would like to contact the property, we would appreciate any additional specific information you might be able to provide, so that we can do better in the future.
Glad to hear you liked the comfy bed though, If ever you'd like, please give us a second try someday.

Norman Martin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basking Ridge
0.5 mi away
Dolce Basking Ridge
Dolce Basking Ridge
#1 of 4 in Basking Ridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
6.0 mi away
Courtyard Basking Ridge
Courtyard Basking Ridge
#3 of 4 in Basking Ridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bernards Inn
Bernards Inn
#1 of 1 in Bernardsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge
Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge
#4 of 4 in Basking Ridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Morristown Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Mill Inn

Property: The Olde Mill Inn
Address: 225 US Highway 202, Basking Ridge, NJ 07920-1646
Region: United States > New Jersey > Basking Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Olde Mill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olde Mill Inn, a picturesque American Country Inn, welcomes a new generation of guests with its heritage of warmth and hospitality dating back to the Revolutionary War. Nestled in the rolling landscape of New Jersey's Somerset Hills, The Olde Mill Inn provides Inn Style elegance in weddings, meetings, dining, and overnight accommodations. At the Grain House Restaurant, experience the historic ambiance while savoring the tastes of today. Open for Lunch & Dinner Daily, Saturday à la Carte Brunch and Sunday Brunch Buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Olde Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Mill Hotel Basking Ridge
Olde Mill Hotel And Grain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing