We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea Party and Easter Brunch”
Review of The Grenville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grenville
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bay Head
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My wife and some friends recently attended a Tea Party at the Grenville Hotel. She was introduced to the owners, Renee and Harry. She just loved the redecorated dining area. She said that the sandwiches were wonderful, small and very English style, just like in the movies, and the service was superb.

We returned to experience and enjoy their Easter Buffet. WOW! Was she right! The place looks great and the staff just made you feel at home.

The buffet was set up on the veranda. The food was delicious and plentiful. From stuffed French toasts, waffles, dishes of chicken, fish, meat, even shepherd’s pie and stuffed pork loin. If that wasn’t enough, they also had a large table of deserts, a chocolate fountain and bowls of freshly cut fruits.

Before leaving, I enquired if it would be possible to see a couple of rooms. Renee was most accommodating and escorted us up. This boutique hotel even has an elevator. Renee said that it is the only hotel in Bay Head which has an elevator.

Both rooms were bright, clean and inviting and had flat screen TVs. The color scheme matched that of the dining room.

We took a short stroll on the beach (a block away) before heading home.

I plan to recommend the hotel to my daughter in Pennsylvania for a romantic get-away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard_838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Wonderful cute, quaint atmosphere. Extremely friendly service! I attended the tea party and had dinner saturday night at the restaurant (always love the food here). I also stayed in the hotel which was recently remodeled and really enjoyed it. The new color scheme in the dining room is just so darling. Cutest little place. Thank you Grenville!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grenville3100, Owner at The Grenville, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

THANK YOU we are very blessed to have a new guest visit with their family and make us so much a part of their day. Taking your time to write such an eloquent letter and praising a new employee is tremendously appreciated. We thank you for realizing all the small things that are seldom noticed yet so important in presenting a great and highly successful Brunch that satisfies our guests and wants them to return. Thank You again and we sincerely hope to see you soon. Nicole is smiling so brightly after reading the review. Your letter expressed to her that people are watching the hard effort she and the others in our staff are doing. Harry and I as owners greatly appreciate our patrons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We got to the Grenville a little early since it was only 20 minutes from home. We were among the first to arrive. We were greeted by a few people, all of them trying to help us and get us on board. Within 5 minutes, we were at our table and met our server, Nicole. I can't tell you what it is, some kind of magnetic attraction, I don't know...but I LOVED Nicole instantly. When she spoke to us, it was just ALL HER, very real, tremendously sincere,...and as our server, she went above and beyond the call of duty to make Easter Brunch a wonderful experience. The food was excellent, the buffet clean, set-up very nicely to make your service and selections simple, neat and never time consuming. Getting everything you wanted was easy, and the food flavors and textures were magnificent. While getting a refill of some goodies, I met Harry...probably one of the nicest people I have ever met. We talked for a while, but he was very busy. After all, he owns the Grenville, so of course, he's going to be the busiest guy there.
So, on a scale of one to ten, I give the Grenville a 20. I have owned a restaurant and my family had a Hotel and Restaurant when I was growing up, so I can tell you from personal experience, this is no simple task...hospitality is a profession in which you enrich the lives of others, make people comfortable, happy, preserve the privacy, understand their dignity and make them feel honored to be here. The staff at the Grenville has this down to a science, and it's not boiler-plated rhetoric...it's sincere, it is warm, it is meaningful, and it just makes you feel welcomed. I love the atmosphere of the Grenville and the appointments, but most of all, I loved the entire staff. On an ending note...Nicole, you made our special day so much nicer, at a time when we needed that so much. Your sincerity, your warmth and your caring...makes you stand out way in front of everyone else. I had a great time because of you...Thank you Nicole. You are the best of the best! As long as you are there, I will become a regular customer and hope to see you a lot.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We booked a room for our anniversary weekend on 4/6/14 thru a living social gift that my daughter gave us for christmas. The night before we were going my husband's brother died unexpectedly. Neither the hotel or living social would work with us to try to make future arrangements for us. Even though their policy stated no refunds we thought that they would have exceptions under certain circumstances. They were unbending and no one cared about our situation. I would not use either the hotel or living social again. Not only did we lose the entire amount of the gift but also $50 dining credit. Completely and total heartless. Loretta R

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Loretta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Although you say we are heartless you were sent an email with several option dates which you have ignored. Your more than 1/2 Rate package was purchased in December through "Living Social". Unfortunately you did not make a reservation for your stay until the week the promotion was expiring, towards the end of March. Living Social requested proof which was not given. We do understand and try to help all our clients to reschedule their stay if illness or tragedy occurs but you have not contacted the hotel to do so. You called the same date simply requesting a cancellation and said you understood it may not be possible. Within a few days an email was sent to you with 3 option dates beyond the expiry date. You have not taken advantage of the offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had our daughters baptism celebration at the Grenville today March 30th. The experience was beyond our expectations. The staff was full of smiles and extremely accomodating. The food was AMAZING!!! Renee and Harry made us feel like family. Our guests left with full bellys, smiles on their faces, and wonderful memories. I couldn't have been happier. I can't recommend The Grenville enough.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed this past weekend at the Grenville Hotel in Bay Head. This was definitely the best place I have stayed in a long time. Staff was very polite and accommodating! Rooms look very nice and have been recently! Food was excellent! I highly recommend the avocado crab tower! Harry and Renee are very great good owners and take pride in there business. Yes the building is older and you might hear a few sounds through the walls but that comes with the old Victorian buildings. If you are looking for a cute accommodating place to stay at the jersey shore I highly recommend The Grenville Hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CityBoy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Grenville is a comfortable hotel with a VERY nice and accommodating staff. The furniture in our room (#403) was an "eclectic" collection of pieces [antique-y bedspread, 1970s entertainment center, modern futon]. The room was clean as was the bathroom. Bed was comfortable. Walls were very thin (we heard a couple's midnight fight - they were staying down the hall but it sounded like they were right outside our door). Small 'fridge in our room left everything frozen (even after turning dial down low). Stairway could have used a good dusting. Elevator was an unexpected surprise given the age of the hotel. We visited off season and the special price was very reasonable: $119 for a mid-sized room (plenty of space) with a $50 coupon towards dinner at the restaurant. Food there was excellent, by the way. Breakfast was not much to speak of but the Sunday brunch was excellent. Plenty of foods to choose from and good quality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay Head
5.2 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#9 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
158 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#4 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
55 reviews
2 mi away
Shore Point Motel
Shore Point Motel
#10 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bentley Inn
The Bentley Inn
#1 of 3 in Bay Head
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grenville

Address: 345 Main Ave, Bay Head, NJ 08742-4735
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Bay Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bay Head
Price Range: £70 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grenville 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
125 Year old Victorian Hotel 100 yards from the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grenville Hotel Bay Head
Grenville Hotel Bay Head
Grenville Bay Head
The Grenville Bay Head, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing