We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanksgiving Dinner at The Grenville Restaurant!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grenville Restaurant

The Grenville Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Bay Head
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Relax and enjoy excellent food on the veranda or by the fireplace in dining room. Sunday Brunch Buffet, Lunch, or Dinner. Stroll to the atlantic ocean for pristine beach!Bring your Family and Friends. Visit our website for specials. Stay in our Hotel guests rooms.
Sturgeon, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Dinner at The Grenville Restaurant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Had Thanksgiving Dinner here it was amazing!! The food was everything we were looking for in a Thanksgiving dinner. Great food, Great environment, Great service & Great People!! It was a Great Family setting, Very friendly setting! They had all the Thanksgiving dinner essentials, from the turkey to the pumpkin pie. I was very pleased with my Dinner!! I would love to visit again some day! Loved It!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunderlands2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    15
    7
    5
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forked River, New Jersey
2 reviews
“wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I booked the Grenville for my wedding and reception. We were married at the fireplace and had a buffet brunch reception. Everything went smoothly and all the guests were impresses with the food. Four rooms were booked to stay over the night before, the rooms were quaint, we were not able to enjoy the visit to its fullest as we arrived much later than we had anticipated.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landing, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food...service & price don't add up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

On Sept 19, 2013, 2 of us went there for dinner. The hostess greeted us in bedroom slippers. There were 2 other tables filled. The server told us the dinner specials and unfortunately for us, we didn't ask the price. His description of one of the dinner specials was a "big bowl full of fish". My husband ordered it and really enjoyed it, there was a good amount of shrimp, clams, scallops and a piece of fish served over pasta. The price was $40 which seemed high considering the service, spotty at best and the fact we were sitting under spotlights. It was extremely bright in the restaurant. The server poured us our first glass of wine & we never saw him again. We had to flag him down for water refills. My dinner special was also $40, it had 5 large shrimp & 5 large scallops and was delicious, but worth $40...don't think so since it came with no sides or salad. It had been several years since we had visited and it will be several more years before we give it another try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clover, South Carolina
Level Contributor
225 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I dined at the Grenville last night. She had Filet Mignon and I had Shrimp and Scallops. A bottle of Champagne and all was very good! No room for dessert!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RAFincher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Grenville Inn Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We went to the Grenville for dinner the other night. The food was ok, but definitely too over priced. Its a very small menu. The restaurant wasn't crowded but there was only one waiter working and he was doing the best he could. We got there at 7pm and finally left at 8:30, service was very slow. The atmosphere was really nice and the hotel itself looks very nice, haven't stayed there so I don't know how the rooms are.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Momtozac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
We thank you for your comment. Every sauce and dish prepared here is made from start to finish here on premise and fresh daily. A large menu would not be controllable for any size kitchen. As we calculate at least 20 minutes between courses our average guests is here for 1:1/2 to 2 hours. We believe our guests should enjoy their evening and do not encourage rushing them unless they tell us they need to leave quickly. Although you may have seen one waiter in the dining room we do have back end waiters in the kitchen and additional helpers behind the scene.
We try to offer coupons and promotional discounts continually throughout the year. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grenville Restaurant also viewed

Bay Head, Jersey Shore
Bay Head, Jersey Shore
 
Point Pleasant Beach, Jersey Shore
Bay Head, Jersey Shore
 

Been to The Grenville Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing