We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more!”
Review of The Bentley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bentley Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Bay Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Fabulous location (beach across the street) and amenities (beach chairs, towels, beach access, lite breakfast included). Rooms were comfy and clean .... Glenn was super helpful and friendly. Recommend to anyone interested in getting a true Jersey Shore experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaRai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

The Bentley Inn is truly special and the best in Bay Head! Glen is wonderful and so attentive and the Inn is absolutely charming. Just steps from the beach and restaurants. A real gem at the Jersey Shore.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkRunner_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The Bentley Inn is a quiet and beautiful sanctuary. Glenn, the innkeeper, is friendly and ready to accommodate needs. I appreciated how impeccably clean the place was .... what I like about the breakfast was that it was so much like our regular breakfast at home. We eat light in the morning. The inn is a few blocks from a superior restaurant for dinner. We enjoyed the wrap around porch in the late evening. The amenities are many... towels, tags, showers and easy parking... plus TV in the room. Most B&Bs do not have TVs however with the blasting heat during this week... it gave us the option to visit the weather channel many times.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lopo460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I just returned from a weekend stay at this B & B. The accommodations were clean and quaint. However, I am stunned how other reviews are raving about the breakfast. We were offerred cold cereal, bagels and English Muffins. They claim a "hearty" breakfast but there was nothing hearty about it. I am quite sure the other visitors were as disappointed as we were. I would not recommend this to anyone looking for a B & B. We had to go to a diner to have a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilhamstfolks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bentleyinn, Owner at The Bentley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

In our struggle to recover from the damages Hurricane Sandy caused us both financially and emotionally, we were faced with the choice of raising prices to cover the high costs of our breakfast or change the breakfast. Given the economic climate and considering the prices of competing properties (which are similarly priced and don’t offer breakfast) we opted to offer a Continental breakfast with a wide variety of choices, and extend the time we serve breakfast. We offer a variety of fresh bagels, English muffins, homemade coffee cake, hot and cold cereals, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, fruit juices and unlimited coffee and tea. There are more choices with a breakfast like this and we satisfy more people. We have rebuilt after the storm but not as many people are visiting the shore so we are forced to make cut backs. We have had much support from the majority of our guests who love the inn and it’s location. It is indeed disheartening that one of our guests was so disappointed. I would have gladly paid for their breakfast at the diner had I known. Our goals are to make all guests satisfied by the time they leave us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The Bentley Inn is a jewel of a B&B on the Jersey Shore. It is less than 30 seconds from the beach, it's is impeccably maintained, cleaned, and welcoming. The breakfast was hot & fresh in the morning, Glenn was a friendly and fun host, the free beach passes were appreciated (as was the easy parking).

I would absolutely stay here again, I would highly recommend this to any friends/family, and have no doubt anyone who still will enjoy themselves. The large patio/terrace was also a relaxing place to sit and read at night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahasbrookc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

By all accounts the location is beautiful (across streeet from ocean). Its close to many restaurants, amenities etc.
The room was adequate and there was direct access to a wrap around balcony on second floor. Very nice. I had only two issues...the coverlet was stained, obviously so, BUT the sheets themselves were clean! Was surprised to be informed that there was no full breakfast avail, as advertised in brochure...only continental...so we went elsewhere. The bathrooms were clean although I had tough time regulating temp in one of shwrs...please note that depending on room choice you may end up sharing a bathroom. Not a big deal as other guests are respectful of same and act accordingly. Would def recommend for families with kids.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HibernianFemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My 4th time back to the The Bentley Inn. Comfortable, clean, with plenty of places inside and out to get comfy with a good book....and quiet enough to take an afternoon nap. I always feel instantly at home here. Every morning I make a cup of tea and go across the street to the beach to watch the sun rise over the ocean. My first time back since the hurricane. Beach is clean and nice, some stores are reopening...call ahead first. Bay Head is a wonderful beach community, friendly people and great for walking. You will have no problem finding places to eat or things to do. I will be back soon!

Room Tip: Have stayed in many rooms and love them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGTAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay Head
1.8 mi away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
221 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grenville
The Grenville
#1 of 1 in Bay Head
264 reviews
1 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#9 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Atlantic Motel
The Atlantic Motel
#12 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
200 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Tower Cottage B&B
The Tower Cottage B&B
#1 of 6 in Point Pleasant Beach
143 reviews
1.7 mi away
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & ...
#11 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bentley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Inn

Address: 694 Main Ave, Bay Head, NJ 08742-5346
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Bay Head
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bay Head
Price Range: £96 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bentley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bentley Inn is an 1886 Victorian Bed and Breakfast located just 3 houses from the ocean in historic Bay Head. Features 19 guest rooms with TV/VCR, A/C, full-serve multiple choice breakfast, private off-street parking, beach badges & towels, 125' wrap-around covered porch, large living room, dining room and solarium. Small weddings, receptions, showers, business meetings (up to 45 people). Business travelers welcome (free wireless internet). Located 60 miles from New York City and Philadelphia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bentley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bentley Inn Bay Head, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing