We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, Very Clean”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bay Head
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Conover's Bay Head Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Bay Head B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 June 2006

We spent a night here and it was a very pleasant stay. Our room was very clean and tastefully decorated. The innkeeper was very friendly and helpful. We've spent a lot of time in rental houses in Bay Head -- this was our first time staying at a b &b there. This b & b is well-located and fits the town's charming and classy ambience.

Stayed: June 2006
4  Thank new2bvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
A TripAdvisor Member
Brooklyn, NY
11
Reviewed 9 April 2006

This review is late but I just signed up for Trip Advisor! Conover's Bay Head Inn is the perfect B&B experience. My fiancee and I stayed for a weekend in the Love Nest Suite last summer. We had such a wonderful time and can't say enough good things about this Inn. The room was absolutely adorable. It was decorated in a bird theme...thus the "Love Nest Suite". The bed was so comfortable and we loved the privacy of being on the 3rd floor. Additonally the amenities at this resort are amazing. Beach chairs, badges, umbrellas, bikes, beach towels etc. They really have left no stone unturned. The staff was amazing as well--so friendly and knowlegable about the area. Additionally breakfasts are delicious and drinking iced tea on the veranda was so relaxing. We will definitely return...and can't wait!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2005

I could have sworn I wrote about Conover's when we stayed there, but perhaps it slipped through the cracks. It is THE best place to stay in BayHead, hands down (and we have tried them all). From our experience nationwide (and Canada for that matter) if the B&B is a member of The Select Registry ([-]) you can't go wrong. We stayed on the top floor in a beautifully appointed, quiet room. The breakfasts were to die for and the owners could not have been more accomodating and attentive to their guests. It is a short walk (block or so?) to the beach, and they provide beach passes, towels, chairs, etc. free of charge. There is also a nice hot tub outdoors in back, outdoor showers to rinse off the sand (complete with shampoo, creme rinse, etc.). It was wonderful. And because we so love BayHead, and have had such miserable experiences at other places, we will be back to Conover's next time, no doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keil38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2005

We stayed here over 4th of July weekend last summer.
We were more on a tighter budget and opted for one of their more reasonable rooms. The room was cute. Not big but we didnt spend too much time in the room. The beach is right up the block. Most of Bay Head's B&B's are on Main and all you do is cross over Main and another street and the ocean is right there. The Inn provided a great breakfast.
Beach passes, beach chairs and towels. It was very charming. Hot tub was nice and clean.
If you are looking for a low key, quaint, clean, charming B&B I would recommend this one. The Innkeeper was very nice as well.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jake0825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2004

We found the inn on the internet and from the pictures, it looked very nice. There were no reviews on Tripadvisor to check, though, so we hoped for the best. Bay Head is just past Point Pleasant and as soon as you cross over the bridge and see the boats, you begin to feel that you're "down the shore". The inn has not been owned by the Conovers for the past five years but the current owners built a house next door to it and keep a loving watch over the inn. Michelle is the innkeeper.

We stayed in the Victorian Wedding suite- it is not actually a suite in the sense of having a separate living room but rather is an oversized room with a sitting area with two chairs. You won't feel claustrophobic- a very romantic setting for a new bride and groom or a couple celebrating an anniversary. The room faces the front of the house and comes with a screened in porch. There is a gas fireplace- all you need to do is flick the switch. The bathroom has a whirlpool tub built for two.

There is a beautiful living room on the first floor- and sherry is available. There are always coffee and tea available there as well. Breakfast is served in tables for two- you can say hello to your fellow guests but still have your privacy. If you like to read the paper at breakfast, take a walk down the street to the deli/liquor store- they have papers from all over the NJ/NY/Philly areas. It was great.

The inn comes with many amenities. In the garage you can help yourself to beach chairs, umbrellas and coolers. There are outside showers to get rid of the sand, a clothesline to hang up your beach towels (found in the 3rd floor hospitality room which has a refrigerator for your use) and a beautiful outdoor hot tub in a garden setting with two lounge chairs- the cushions are found in the garage.

We walked around town a bit- there are churches, antique stores, a bakery which seemed to be the town hangout; a restaurant named Dorcas which served a great lunch and ice cream. We went into Point Pleasant for dinners- would highly recommend a seat by the window at the Lobster Shanty.

Enjoy yourself! We'll be back when we can.

2  Thank Greenbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Conover's Bay Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conover's Bay Head Inn

Address: 646 Main Ave, Bay Head, NJ 08742-5346
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Bay Head
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bay Head
Price Range: £55 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Conover's Bay Head Inn New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing