We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early Summer Getaway”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beach Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My mom, sister, and aunt (ages 22-62) went down to LBI for a overnight getaway looking for a room with a view. The online booking said that the no rooms were available but when I called they said they had rooms (later on I checked and it was working so be sure to call and check!) The receptionist said that they had oceanfront rooms left but forewarned us that Thursday is their big club night and the waterfront rooms overlook the Tiki Bar. I am glad she told us this so my mom and aunt were prepared for the noise later that night. Arriving at SeaShell we were very pleased that they had an adorable beachfront tiki bar with pool and access to the beach. I can't imagine a better beachfront hotel! The view from our balcony in room 225 looked like we were in the carribean with palm trees, tiki huts, and blue ocean. You can hear the crashing of the waves from inside the room with the balcony door open. The beach was sunny and we had the option of poolside too. Lunch in the Tiki Bar was delicious and supposedly they offer a great breakfast but we went ended up at Uncle Will's the next morning to spread our support for LBI.

I would recommend this place to anyone but if you are coming for a quiet getaway I would stay sunday-wednesday as the oceanfront view rooms are right above Tiki Bar/Beach Club. If you enjoy being in the center of the action, observing the shenanigans from a balcony or joining in downstairs, then come thursday-saturday. "Thunder Thursdays" starts at 10pm and is packed with 20-somethings and the noise in our room was like standing right in the club itself with earmuffs on so if you aren't planning on partying til 2am at the club, I wouldn't go for thursdays. My sister and I didn't mind as we joined the fun but my mom and aunt were happy when the noise died down at 2:30am.

Seashell is walking distance to the Surflight Theater and shops as well. We wanted to see a show there but they didn't have tickets on that particular thursday night.

Rooms were clean and cute though bathroom showed some signs of rust but it is oceanfront afterall. Sea Shell rebuilt a lot of their back end and lobby from Sandy- the downstairs ballroom/lobby is beautiful.

Room Tip: Rooms away from TikiBar/Oceanfront are quieter. Oceanfront rooms are beautiful with amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 234 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

Yes it's back, just as good as always! Nothing stops the Jersey shore. Renovations complete on the hotel and up and running. Weddings were there entire weekend. Still as good as ever the only difference is the beach area. There is about 50 feet less of the beach due to the devastation of Sandy and some of the stores aren't back, but your your staple restaurants and stores are. Buckalews, Chicken and The Egg, Kaplers Pharmacy and so many others. Jersey Strong!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank ShazzG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We have been renting beach houses for 1 to 2 weeks every summer down in LBI since 2000 or so. This was the first time we tried out a hotel in the area. We already had booked our 2 weeks' rental at the end of this coming August, but we wanted to see how the area was coming along before the summer season kicked in and we also wanted a little getaway for our wedding anniversary.

The beach was quite clean overall, although you still come across strange items stuck along the rocks of the jitneys. We actually spotted a flag pole!

Granted, we were basically the only guests at the Sea Shell when we were there April 28 through April 30, however, the post-Sandy renovations were nearly all complete and the hotel is ready for business.

Everything was clean, nicely maintained. The cleaning staff was quick in finding us some flatter pillows as my husband has a bad neck. The room was lovely, nothing fancy, but it was clean, with a nice flat-screen tv, a mini-fridge, closet and dresser, a small table and a couple of chairs.

The room had a balcony with two additional chairs and a small end table that faced the beach and overlooked the pool and tiki bar area.

We ate our meals at Buckalew's and Willie's, as the Sea Shell had limited options before Memorial Day, so I can't comment on eating within the hotel itself.

Pat, who manned the reception area, was very nice and we discussed at length the sadness at seeing all the damage in person on LBI, seeing some of our favorite places completely demolished such as the Italian ceramics shop Gallmaufri.

But everywhere you looked there were contractors, dumpsters, repairmen, etc. LBI will come back stronger than ever. We are very happy to know that one of our favorite vacation destinations is working itself back to full functionality. We would definitely stay at the Sea Shell again.

Room Tip: There was a band Sunday evening and we enjoyed the music wafting up to us on the balcony, however yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VikLevitsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I am extremely impressed by the speed at which the Sea Shell recovered from Sandy. Not only were the rooms all remodeled, but the bar, the pool and the lobby are all finished as well. This is my favorite place at the Jersey Shore and I am happy to have contributed to the business this weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Visited almost all the hotels in Beach Haven today. None compared to the Sea Shell. The remodeling is complete and I was very impressed on how beautiful everything is. The pool area was gorgeous, the restaurant is spectacular and the rooms we were shown were pristeen and beautiful. I can't say enough about the friendly staff as well. We interacted with 4 different employees and were welcomed like old friends. I am looking forward to booking my vacation here.

Room Tip: We liked the ocean front rooms on the second floor the best. The second floor suite was beautiful b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GailM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

You are probably thinking how can you possibly have a destination wedding when you are only 1 hour and 1/2 away by car from your home. I was recently a guest at the hotel from Friday to Sunday and felt like I was transported to an island resort. Everything we needed was right there for the 3 days. It was off season so we had the place to ourselves. The motel was recently totally renovated because of Super Storm Sandy. The food was excellent, service great, setting just beautiful!

Room Tip: This is no frills motel but clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Educare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beach Haven
6.9 mi away
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
1.2 mi away
Spray Beach Hotel
Spray Beach Hotel
#6 of 12 in Beach Haven
176 reviews
12.1 mi away
Mariner Inn
Mariner Inn
#9 of 12 in Beach Haven
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
124 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
16.6 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club

Address: 10 S Atlantic Ave, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-1701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Beach Haven
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Beach Haven
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely rebuilt and remodeled after Hurricane Sandy, the Sea Shell Resort is nestled on two beautiful ocean front acres in the heart of Beach Haven just steps away from the beach and within walking distance to all of the town's attractions. The Sea Shell is a full service resort serving lunch and dinner daily (in season). We feature a full-size heated salt water pool and a private beach for sunbathing. We offer daily entertainment by the Tiki bars every afternoon and evening (in season). Dance the night away in our night club every Thursday and Saturday (in season). Whether you are booking a deluxe oceanfront room or a full one-bedroom suite, the Sea Shell gives you all the amenities that will make your stay special! We have 53 units in various configurations to fit your need. The Sea Shell Resort's room accommodations are the finest and most comfortable on Long Beach Island. Choose from First Floor Deluxe Rooms with two queen-size beds, Second Floor Superior Rooms with your choice of one king-size or two queen-size beds, Second Floor One-Bedroom Suites with a king-size bed and a living area that contains a queen-size fold out sofa, plus a separate Murphy bed, or our Luxurious Oceanfront Rooms with private decks where you can choose between one king-size or two queen-size beds. All rooms come complete with high definition direct TV, telephones, air conditioning, in-room coffee, private safes, ceiling fans, and refrigerators. Looking for the perfect location for your dream come true beach wedding? Look no further than The Sea Shell! Say "I do" on our private beach. We host destination wedding events each and every weekend during the Spring and Fall where get togethers become memorable events lasting an entire weekend. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Shell Resort And Beach Club Hotel Beach Haven
Sea Shell Hotel And Beach
Sea Shell Motel And Beach
Sea Shell Resort And Beach Club Beach Haven, New Jersey - Long Beach Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing