We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Perfect”
Review of Mariner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mariner Inn
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Beach Haven
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Was very hesitant at first, but took the plunge, and it was the best decision ever. Very easy check in, room was bigger than I expected, was very clean w/ an updated bathroom. We took the efficiency because of the kids and it was worth every penny (stove top, fridge, micro, toaster, dishes, couch, table w/ chairs, etc.). It faced the pool which was very convenient to watch the kids. And the pool came in very handy, because it rained for a few days, but the kids were able to swim anyway. Oh - and the pool was heated which was a big plus. The location was perfect as well. Many restaurants, WaWa, etc. in walking distance. It was truly and great find and would def. recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tzuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    29
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stony Point, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

The room was a "pool view "room. It had a small balcony to go outside. (great for the smokers) Also convenient to keep an eye on the kids swimming. The pool closed at 7:00 which was too early. Most Hotel pools that I stayed at ,closed at 9:00 or 10:00. It had a small refrigerator , coffee pot, & Microwave. The a/c was very loud and hard to regulate. It was either very cold or too warm. Overall the stay was good. You also get beach badges with a $45 deposit for each. You get it back when returned. I tried to get a late check out and they do not allow it at all. The front desk workers were friendly. There is an ok hamburger place across the street called "Woodies". A "Wawa" convenient store was a block away. The beach was a short 2 1/2 blocks. Everything is expensive as far as food goes. We lived on Pizza, french fries and still spent a fortune. The "Slice of Heaven" pizza was really good. I always loved "LBI". It is exactly the same as it was 4 yrs. ago.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catrine111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2009

We stayed here at the end of June when the rates were low and the beach was quiet. As part of a family reunion,three families reserved the top floor with three rooms facing the nicely heated pool. The balconies were perfect for drying towels or simply relaxing. It was convenient visiting with one another and the adults could easily watch the children's whereabouts from the balcony or from poolside . The shaded tables and chairs were perfect for our afternoon lunch and for the children to play boardgames. We brought snacks and drinks, that were kept cold in our mini frig. This was a plus for bottled water and juices. Many hotels keep their refrigerators stocked with pricey snacks and drinks, allowing no room for your own drinks. Good restaurants are everywhere, and Wawa made a nice sandwich to eat at poolside.The hotel is family oriented, exceptionally clean, and quiet.The beautiful beach is a few blocks away. I have come to the conclusion that the white sugar beaches of LBI are the best I have ever been to. They surpass the highly rated ones of NC,SC, FL and the Carribean. The Ocean was cold,(not as bad as the Pacific), but the active children did not mind.Who cares when you can go back to the Mariner to the heated pool at the end of your Atlantic dip! The pool by the way is tested and adjusted every two hours. I only wish we could have used it until at least 9pm.The staff was very polite and supplied us with as many towels as needed. They keep the grounds very neat and clean. We plan another get together next summer, but will probably reserve the second floor rooms this time. There is a nice lounge area on the second floor, which was perfect for get togethers.The Mariner would be a delightful retreat in the fall. Overall, this hotel is the best all around value on the island.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseyChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence Harbor, NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

First, I would not consider this an INN, it's really a motel. Anyway, we had very nice weekend here recently. Early June is not high season yet, we arrived before noon on Saturday and we were able to check in right away. We just got the standard room, however instead of facing the main street our room was faced the quieter side street. Good sized room with two queen beds, small tale with chairs, a refrigerator, microwave, ironing board & iron in the closet. The remote control for the TV was not working, they gave us new batteries at the front desk, still didn't work, but not a big deal. The bathroom looked like it had been recently redone, tile & fixtures were nice, good sized shower with good water pressure. We were left with plenty of towels (although they were skimpy & thin), several soap bars & shampoo in the shower. There was a blowdryer in the bathroom, this was not working either, however I had my own. They have a safe in the room that you program your own code, no keys to bother with............I love these, ALL hotels should have them. Good pool area, they had several palm trees in pots around the area, nice & clean..............the pool was heated, but not warm enough for me to try.

Good value for the money, considering they have a heated pool, beach passes & a fridge in the room.

Beach passes are included, with the weather, didn't get a chance to use them........... however it's a short easy walk to the beach. We went down to check it out, it's beautiful. Even if you come down in the off season, it you are this close to the beach, you have to go for a walk down there.

Location is very good...............lots of things within walking distance. Excellent bakery across the street that makes homemade donuts. M&M is next door for casual seafood, nicer restaurant Howards is across the street, liquor store & convenient store are within a block. If you don't mind walking, it's only about a mile into the main part of Beach Haven with several bars, restaurants & shops to choose from.

Would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJBeachbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixille PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2008

Just spent 5 days at the Mariner Motel and loved it! Stayed in a poolside efficiency for one nite - great room- clean, large, big bathroom and private balcony- a tad noisy in the am with kids in the pool at 9 am but it was poolside! Moved to a standard room for the remainder of time -which was clean, adequate size, faced the north side-could see the ocean from the balcony.Changed rooms due to late booking and availability.The pool was heated and delightful after an afternoon at the beach- again very clean. Easy walk to the beach and an added bonus was the beach tags, which were included with the room! Nice sitting area to read or talk with others on the 2nd floor. Definately a great buy!

  • Liked — accomodations proximity to the beach
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MisseyMBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

We spent 2 days at Jersey Shore, on beautifull Long Beach Island and loved it. We went to Wildwoods before and Beach Heaven was a nice change. No boardwalk close by, no highrise buldings. Island is narrow and easy to walk from beach to bay. Many restourants,bars, places to buy food and drinks. We went to very nice restoutant first night across the street and food was excellent! We did not do a lot for the 2 days - spent day on a beach and then in a motel's nice pool. Pool is big enough, has a deeper 6 feet end. It was not crowded at all.
Location is good. It's not a beach front, but not far from the beach. Easy to walk. But we usually drove there, unloaded beach chairs and umbrellas and then my husband drove back to hotel and walked back. Beach is not very wide and we liked it. Water temperature was refreshing, but not cold.
Room was big enough for 4 people - 2 queen size beds, refrigerator, microwawe, coffemaker with cofee, sugar and cream. Desk, dresser, round table for tea and snacks. Also on our second floor there was a common area with tables and chairs where you can eat and relax. There are chairs and umbrellas in pool area. Shower in a room was roomy and clean with small supplies of soaps and shampoo. There is an ice mashine on a floor. Room was cleaned every day nicely.
The host - Jenny - was wonderfull and friendly.
The only one problem we had - motel adreess confusion. When you enter the island you will not find motel on 33rd street! Actually you need to proceed for about 5 miles for the next 33rd street (the same crossing street ) and it will be south 33rd street. It was very frustrating to get lost with GPS!
But we'll recommed this place to our friends and may come back again.

  • Liked — Nice room, pool
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank babochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catasauqua, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2008

The Mariner Inn, Beach Haven, NJ
Date: July 28, 2008
We just returned from our trip to Beach Haven, we had a wonderful time. I took my Mom, Mother-in-law and sister-in-law down to the shore for a mini vacation. I was looking for a place that could accommodate us in a location that was in the center of things, the Mariner Inn was perfect, we were close to restaurants, shops, and the beach was just a short walk away. I had requested a room on the first floor by the pool, we had a round picnic table right outside our room it was perfect in the morning to get up sit by the pool and have our coffee, it was nice, quiet and peaceful. I thought that they could have kept the pool open at least another hour till 8pm because it seemed like people still wanted to stay in the pool a little longer. The room was plenty big for the 4 of us, it was also very nice and clean, including the bathroom. I would definitly recommend this hotel to everyone. My Mom and Mother-in-law are already talking about when we can go back there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — walk to the beach
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanitaRip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beach Haven
3.7 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
2.9 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#7 of 12 in Beach Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.7 mi away
Windward at the Beach
Windward at the Beach
#4 of 7 in Beach Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
6.1 mi away
J.D. Thompson Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Inn

Property: Mariner Inn
Address: 33rd Street & Long Beach Boulevard, Beach Haven Gardens, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Beach Haven
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariner Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
The Mariner Hotel Beach Haven
Mariner Inn Beach Haven, New Jersey - Long Beach Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing