We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome the Little Leagers with Parents that do not manage kids!!”
Review of Spray Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spray Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Beach Haven
Reviewed 6 October 2012

This motel....The Spray Beach Inn (or a ChuckECheese for the night) was over run with kids (Little Leagers) out of control. Parents breaking all of the rules of the Motel, and a Motel Manager with no control over the situation after numerous complaints. Footballs being thrown off balconies into the pool. Playing football in the parking lot, hitting cars with the ball. Full coolers for drunk parents. Great place to stay on an October weekend....if you are ten years old.

Room Tip: Never stay pool side at this motel.
Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spray_Beach_Inn, General Manager at Spray Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

We sincerely apologize for your negative experience at our hotel, and certainly understand your complaint. Although we do wish to welcome all of our guests with open arms, we have recently put new policies into place regarding sports teams in order to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Spray Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

We were there in May when the restaurant and outside bar were closed. Went there again Sept. 17-20. Restaurant was open and we were VERY Pleasantly Surprised by the food. Ate there all three nights. Raw oysters and clams fantastic. Everything from sliders, salad, steaks and seafood were exceptionally good. Try the crab cakes. The bartenders and waitress's were friendly and professional. John deserves a raise-He is an asset to the restaurant and bar. We stayed on the 3rd floor-oceanview. Best views of the ocean. Short walk to get on the beach. Room was very clean and beds were great. We are used to private balconies but it was nice to visit with our neighbors sitting outside. The only down I had was the outside bar was only open one day.

Room Tip: get third floor oceanview to see the beautiful ocean.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spray_Beach_Inn, General Manager at Spray Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thank you for your review, and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

And older property (every hotel on the island is "vintage") but clean and well kept. Don't confuse the humid ocean smell for for poor housekeeping. The interior is 70's ish, but fits the island. The salt air smell should be expected sleeping 20yds from the ocean. The studios have a micro, stove top, 1/2 sized fridge, coffee pot and a sofa bed. You could whip up a simple meal if you wished. The restaurant is the best kept secret. Breakfast was disappointing, but appetizer, lunch/dinner menu were crazy good. Recommend the calamari and/or bacon wrapped scallops. Both are the best I have had on the island. My wife went crazy for the RAW clams. Unusual, but according to my lovely wife, to die for (I do not embrace raw clam). AVOID at all costs, the guy who sings in the outdoor/patio bar on Saturday night. Oh, the bed in our room was small, a double, but the room was quiet. I think the interior wall are cement to meet hurricane safety requirements, Slept like a baby. Pool is nice. Is a fun above ground design with live palm trees. Has a nice deck also. Only complaint is that is closes early, 9 PM or so most nights.

Room Tip: 1) Make a "happy hour meal" out of appetizers in the restaurant. Every one we had was outs...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmc505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights over the Labor Day weekend. Let's be clear about this place - - it's a motel, not a hotel and therefore does than have the amenities that one would expect in a hotel setting. The Spray Beach Inn is nothing fancy, but it is clean, has decent parking, has a beach bar and is located directly on the beach. Location alone is worth a great deal. Spray Beach is a few blocks north of the bustle of Beach Haven, but easily within walking distance of restaurants and shops. The beach was beautiful - clean and wide with lifeguard posts on either side of the Spray Beach Inn property area. We came for the beach, not the pool so I can't comment on the pool other than to say they expanded the seating a bit but still hard to get a spot and the pool was always filled with kids.

Our room was clean; they did renovations 3 years ago. Carpet and bathroom were clean, altho the room did smell a little musty at first, but you get that almost everywhere when you are located right by the water. We aired out the room for 15 minutes and it was fine. The sink is located outside of the toilet/shower area; the room has a microwave, decent sized fridge and wall safe. The beds can be moved for more easily accommodate a cot. The only complaint was the beds - the mattresses are hard. There are 2 chairs located outside each room. Ocean view rooms have a clear view to the ocean from the 3rd flr; partial view from 2nd flr (there's a large dune in the way).

We received $60 "Sand Dollars" for our stay, which is basically a credit to be used either at the bar or restaurant. We opted for the restaurant, which was OK. The food is average, nothing special, but decent and convenient if you don't want to go out for B/L or D.

All in all, we were happy with the Spray Beach Inn and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

as soon as you walk in the smell of the ocean hits you...hard. When entering the room their was a musty smell and my 9 year old was complaining of a headache. The beds weren't very comfortable(AT ALL) and the room was somewhat small. We opened the window and got to air out the room. The room was free of vermin and bugs so that was a upside. As soon as you left the hotel through the front door you only had to take 5 seconds to get to the beach. When we went we had the pleasure of seeing dolphins swimming out in the ocean. Don't expect a high quility well run place, its a little run down and sort of dated but the rooms are mostly clean we just wiped down the tv remote.

Room Tip: Book in advance for better room location
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Anniversary get away. Checked in and room was clean appearing but had an odor. Bathroom very small which included refridge, coffee maker and microwave. Also, too much large furniture in room. Went to the restaurant Saturday night with family for their Prime Rib night. Huge mistake!!!!! Sat down and got bread and water by another server. Our waitress came and took our drink orders then our food orders. Last we saw of her. When she returned half an hour later she had my appetizer, my meal and the rest of the tables order. My prime rib was raw(ordered med rare) my wife's potato was not cooked, my brother in laws seafood dish had 6 mussels in it that never opened indicating they were no good prior to being cooked. My sister in laws king cut prime rib came in 2 pieces and looked like something that was thrown out. when waitress was confronted with this the reply was "I don't cook the food". When the manager came he voided the entire check due to the terrible state of our meal. Next day we checked out and wanted to speak to the owner, whom we were told would be there but was not. The restaurant manger was also absent. Too many other choices to ever have to go back nor would we.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spray_Beach_Inn, General Manager at Spray Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

This is not our typical guest's experience in our restaurant, however, you did mention that you did not have to pay for your meal. Obviously the manager (who you claim was absent?) did the best that they could to ensure a happy guest -- which is what we are always striving to do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Upon entering the room, it looked somewhat clean, however the smell is enough to knock you out. It gave me a major headache. The bathrooms were somewhat updated , but could use a major bleAching. The beds were like concrete slabs and kept me up all night...I regretfully .booked for 2 nights and was trying to come up with a way to leave after 45 min. Very disappointed with the overall look/smell/comfort of the place....in my opinion, they should close it down, knOck it down, and start all over again. Very disappointed

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernamerf6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beach Haven
0.5 mi away
Mariner Inn
Mariner Inn
#7 of 12 in Beach Haven
61 reviews
5.7 mi away
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
4.1 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
2.5 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#9 of 12 in Beach Haven
156 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spray Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spray Beach Hotel

Address: 2399 Atlantic Avenue, Spray Beach, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Beach Haven
Price Range: £83 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spray Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can't get much closer to the ocean than this! All of our guestrooms have standard amenities including mini-fridge, microwave, hair dryer, coffee maker, iron and board, in-room safe, air conditioning and ceiling fan, free internet, and beach badges provided to all guests with a refundable deposit.Enjoy the breathtaking view from your ocean-front room, or laze around the new pool and Jacuzzi under the rustle of palm leaves. Enjoy your favorite tropical frozen drink at our Beach Hut Bar just steps to the ocean.Our full service restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and offers indoor or outdoor seating. Enjoy Happy Hour at our inside Lounge or make new friends at the outside bar just steps to the ocean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spray Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spray Beach Hotel Beach Haven, New Jersey - Long Beach Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing