We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again!”
Review of Spray Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spray Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Beach Haven
Mount Ephraim, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Never staying there again! Was located at the rooms across the street. Stayed there for 1 night and couldn't wait to leave. Room had a awful smell as well as the pillows. Kids partying and kept me up all night, and ended with a migraine. Would not recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spray_Beach_Inn, Manager at Spray Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel on Trip Advisor. I am so sorry that you were displeased with your visit. We would have been happy to move your room, had you given us the opportunity. I hope that you will consider visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    51
    38
    28
    11
See reviews for
80
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sewell, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Awful experience. Rude management and too expensive. DON'T STAY THERE!
The rooms are nothing special. The manager roams the building continuously barking at kids if they are noisy. The room rates are excessive as are their food prices!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spray_Beach_Inn, General Manager at Spray Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
"RUDE" It would appear that Mr. Nick who authored this comment on Trip Advisor about our
hotel did it eight days before his arrival on May 23rd. He complained about the price being too
expensive, funny but Mr. Nick has spent the 2011,2012,2013 and again returning for the 2014
season. Our prices can't be that bad to stay four years with us. As to the question of barking at
children. Unattended children with no parental guidance running around the hotel is a safety issue, as well as a comfort issue and a annoyance to our guests who stay at our hotel. As to Mr. Nicks statement about our menu pricing. Our menu prices and quality are very competitive with our competitors in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beach Haven hotels

MD
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were there for a weekend family wedding off season. The views are beautiful. Rooms are small with two queen beds. Bathroom is tight, too. Everything was clean and the mattresses were comfortable. There is a restaurant and bar where the food was, actually pretty good with assorted choices. Spray Beach Inn has dated decor and is small but very convenient and clean.

Room Tip: Ocean front is the best. The other side looks out on the pool and the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahanoy City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
159 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I've stayed here a few times during the off-season. Reasonably priced for that time-frame. Nice hotel but nothing fancy... it's a beach hotel - a place to put your clothes and rest your head at night.

Room Tip: There's also a 2nd set of room across the street from the main hotel. Ask when booking if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCFDTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Typical shore type motel-nothing fancy, but served the purpose. Was clean and quiet. A bit far away from the town of Beach Haven-so not so easy to walk to things. I'm sure it would be different in the summer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I can't believe this place has any good ratings. I read about their "Bait and switch", promising a room on the back side of their hotel and then placing you across the street in their annex. It is 1AM as I write this, I've been trying to get my family to sleep since 11, we have called the office 3 times, they came over one timem the walls a paper thin, not only do we hear the conversations as if we were at a keg party in a college frat house, we hear every toilet flush, every footstep and every noise from every room around us. We even heard the knock of the manager after the first call to the desk, they obviously ignored the subsequent calls.

Pros: None

Cons: Baiti and switch room booking, they don't tell you about the building across the road
paper thin walls - I can hear the toilets flush in the rooms next to us, below us and on each side of the rooms below us
Management ignores these problems,

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NashDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flippo147, Manager at Spray Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Guest referred to "bait and switch, promising a room on the back side of their hotel and then placing you across the street in their annex". Guest booked on-line, where the room description reads: "Standard rooms on the 1st or 2nd floor in the Atlantic Avenue Building which is steps away from the main building and beach." The night manager went over after the first call, and asked the offending party to close the windows and quiet down. After the second call he went back over, stood by the window and listened to them talk. Because they were only talking at normal volume levels, no further action was required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I stayed for 1 night over the Columbus Day weekend. We had a third floor room, not far from the elevator. The room was very clean and updated. The front desk was extremely helpful and customer- friendly. We had dinner in the restaurant (only customers) and it was fine. The bar tender was friendly and talkative. The waitress was attentive. Free continental breakfast was in the restaurant and although limited, was fine. Someone checked on us from the front desk to be sure we were taken care of. Although the place was pretty empty, I would recommend it and if we need to return to the area in the future, I would certainly stay there. The cost was very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boggie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beach Haven
4.1 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
17.7 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
La Sammana Resort
La Sammana Resort
#1 of 4 in Brigantine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#7 of 12 in Beach Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spray Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spray Beach Hotel

Property: Spray Beach Hotel
Address: 2399 Atlantic Avenue, Spray Beach, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Beach Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Spray Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can't get much closer to the ocean than this! All of our guestrooms have standard amenities including mini-fridge, microwave, hair dryer, coffee maker, iron and board, in-room safe, air conditioning and ceiling fan, free internet, and beach badges provided to all guests with a refundable deposit.Enjoy the breathtaking view from your ocean-front room, or laze around the new pool and Jacuzzi under the rustle of palm leaves. Enjoy your favorite tropical frozen drink at our Beach Hut Bar just steps to the ocean.Our full service restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and offers indoor or outdoor seating. Enjoy Happy Hour at our inside Lounge or make new friends at the outside bar just steps to the ocean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spray Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spray Beach Hotel Beach Haven, New Jersey - Long Beach Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing