We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Treat”

Museum of NJ Maritime History
Ranked #4 of 23 things to do in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Beach Haven, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a Treat”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is like a trip back in history. the kids will love it. the breadth and variety of stuff to see will please young and old.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    21
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Small but interesting”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

$3 to get in...lots of old pictures and artifacts. I wouldn't go out of my way to see it, but there's not a whole lot to do otherwise. Most things in Beach Haven seem geared to fleecing tourists. Mostly overpriced.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank StanBoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly wonderful Maritime Museum on LBI!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a fabulous place! We heard about it from cousins that had gone and loved it, and we did the same. It is a treasure trove of historical information, data,and wonderful displays of all aspects of the maritime history of New Jersey. Information is everywhere in this well laid out, very informative, only seven years old museum. The staff we encountered were knowledgeable about the displays, resources, and research housed here. There are many, many organized, systematic files on shipwrecks and storms of New Jersey. It's amazing.
My 15 year old really enjoyed a conversation with a docent named Mike about the Titanic, so obviously their individual knowledge and interests aren't limited to NJ! We spent about an hour there, but plan to return again and stay longer. It's free, yet we were happy to leave a donation as it's definitely worth a trip. I believe there is something here for all ages to enjoy!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lovelondon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stopped for a break, stayed for awhile”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I love reading actual history, so I got caught up in shipwreck and storm stories with displays throughout the museum.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great resource”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Great place to spend many hours . Favorite spot on rainy days. Superb central source of information on the history of this island and Jersey shore with fabulous photos and articles. Don't miss it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of NJ Maritime History also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Museum of NJ Maritime History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing