We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cool spot for outdoor dining”
Review of Blue Water Cafe

Blue Water Cafe
Ranked #10 of 92 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Denville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A cool spot for outdoor dining”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My second visit to this place was as good as the first. Outdoor dining covered by a cool awning and rustic chandeliers, the tables of which they have a lot for two, are shielded from the traffic of Long Beach Blvd by ornamental grass and a clear plastic weather shields it when it rains or it too cool

Menu is casual although they have full entrees and specials priced $30 a $35. Their sandwich menu is interesting with PO boy oyster sandwich, crab cake sandwich, lobster roll, all served with old bay fries and coleslaw. Good appetizers too.

Service is well timed and friendly. Would definitely go back here- a nice change to some of the island restaurants who charge NYC prices and since it is byob, the cost for dining is reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    64
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The meatloaf is to die for! Huge piece with crispy onion toppings wrapped in bacon atop lobster mashed potatoes! Always start off with the crab nachos excellent as well. We're not wine drinkers so we usually get the lemonade which is just perfect! Just can't go wrong here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pixiedust K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOSHEN
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always a tasty treat!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

The food is always very we'll made and delicious. Enjoyed three of my four evenings here for dinner. Highly recommend the lobster roll, crab nachos, garlic mussels, fillet mignon, and vegetable panini. During our several meals here I did not hear one complaint from any of our guests. Everyone seemed to enjoy. As an added perk it is a BYOB! And the carrot cake as well as raspberry sorbet were delicious!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fine meal but variable attention to detail”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

With torrential rains falling, a large group gathered for breakfast under slightly leaky awnings. My meal of crab cake, fried eggs, Bay Seasoning home fries and toast was excellent. The crab cakes are almost solid crab, eggs exactly as ordered. Colleagues results ranging from equally good to various levels of mix ups and confusion. Similar looking entrees ended up at the wrong location, included sides required several requests. Minor things considering the crowd driven in by the weather, but at vacation location prices (more than you'd probably want to pay at home, but what the heck we're on vacation) you think they should be better able to handle. Staff were very considerate and available to handle the little issues.

Would gladly give them another opportunity to excel.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quality food”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Good was good and seafood was fresh! Oyster po boy sandwich was very fresh and tasty!! Crab dip was delicious as well. The lobster roll was pretty fresh but lacked flavor using possibly too much mayo but still good for being away from NE.

Helpful?
Thank mdev1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Water Cafe also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Blue Water Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing