We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Softshells not so soft!”

Restaurant at Engleside Inn
Ranked #8 of 89 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Softshells not so soft!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Yay, softshell crabs are in season! Was happy to see them on the menu here- at $28ish. They came sauteed in a garlicy sauce- I wasn't asked if i wanted them fried. The sauteed sauce was tasteless. The crabs were definitely past what I would call softshell. Chewing was impossible. Had to eat the insides. Side was mashed potatoes, again, not asked if I wanted mashed potatoes; they were cold. Told the hostess- reply :"oh". Service was mediocre. Prices do not warrant service or food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jerseygirl347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    46
    18
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Negril, Jamaica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

It's one thing to be at the NJ shore. it's another thing to have the opportunity to enjoy the best sushi. They get daily deliveries from the north end of the island, where all the fishing boats come in at Viking Village, the largest scalloping port in the northern hemisphere. If you have time, on Fridays at 10am, go to Viking Village for a tour and educational 1 hour experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
322 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Much more than sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

For years, the Engleside has been our "go to place" for sushi and for good reason. High quality, professionally prepared food coupled with good service. That said, I strayed from the sushi bar this past weekend, opting for a table and ordering off the regular menu. I don't know why I was so surprised, but the food was awesome. Two outstanding items were the wasabi scallops on the appetizer list and a special that evening, a prime rib eye--basically a well prepared prime rib, seared and served with a delicious cabernet sauce and accompanied by the best potatoes I have ever eaten (tossed in a roasted garlic sauce). Great service as well. Needless to say, the Engleside will be seeing much more of me in the future.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Onthebacknine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“thanksgiving dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

for the 3rd time in about 10 years, we had thanksgiving dinner here. there seemed to be a smaller group of diners than in previous years although others in my party disagreed with that guess.

they offered a traditional turkey dinner plus 3 or 4 specials plus the full regular menu. that in itself is amazing. the server - lara, i think - was very pleasant and attentive. the restaurant allotted 2 hours which was more than adequate and we were certainly not rushed in any way.

2 of us had the turkey and 1 the duck special. the food was quite tasty and we enjoyed the meal. our thanks go to the staff who were willing to work a holiday so that we, who for various reasons could not celebrate at someone's home, were able to have a celebatory meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 365ekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well Prepared, Fresh Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Great place for dinner. Very good service. Busy atmosphere, but attentive service. All dishes we have tried have been seasoned well and used fresh ingredients. We will return often.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JQ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at Engleside Inn also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Restaurant at Engleside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing