We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the mold room”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beach Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coral Seas Oceanfront Motel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

have been going to LBI for 6 years now this was our first and last time at the coral sea
the room was infested with mold they did offer another room only if we stayed in the mold room for the nite we checked out with a full refund we also found a motel two blocks from the ocean a little out dated but no smell of mold or mildew

Room Tip: always check the room b4 you check
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

I moved to PA from Texas several years ago and I so missed living on "the island" and going to the beach daily...fortunately a good friend "introduced" me to LBI and I'm completely in love with the island! Last September (yes, I very late writing this review) I decided on a whim to head to LBI by myself (very last minute! decided on a Saturday morning to go that very day), I was ecstatic when the owner told me to "come on down, we've got a room for you". the only bad part is, I just couldn't leave after only one night :-) the location is absolutely the BEST, the owners, management, housekeeping, other guests, etc.. are all so warm and welcoming that I felt like I was back home in Texas after only just meeting them! Once I parked my car in their lot, I never drove again the entire time because EVERYTHING you would want to do is walking distance (including grocery store, restaurants, etc) but even better, you can literally walk right out on to the sand! I "set up camp" on the beach only footsteps from my room so the other benefit was I could easily go back to my room to use the bathroom, grab another beer, etc
I must admit this is the very first time I've ever written a review on tripadvisor but I felt compelled because this place has everything!! (and it's important to mention I've an avid business traveler who is accustomed to first class travel and 5-star hotels (granted, the Coral Seas is far from a 5-star, but the people and the location make it my 1st choice for LBI!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
2  Thank beachlovingML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

First of all, this is definitely a no-frills place, but that being said, with your expectation for what it is, this was a very nice place to stay for a couple of days.

My mother and I, plus my ten year old brother spent a few days here and we loved it. It's right next to the beach, we didn't even put our shoes on to go there. There's a little shower/hose to rinse sand off on the side of the building which was very convenient. We had a first floor pool-side room, which was very nice. The pool is soooo much better than what the pictures on their website show. It was a nice temp, and plenty big for a bunch of people to swim in. It went from a few feet to eight feet deep, and had sloping sides. There's chairs to sun in and a few tables with umbrellas, which were nice. We ate out on the tables once or twice.

The staff was very polite and friendly, and chatted or said hello when they passed by. My little brother is in the autism spectrum and was treated very politely as well. Mostly it seemed the people staying here were mothers, daughters, and children. It was decently quiet, and you could hear the ocean with the windows open at night.

One of the best things about it was the location. We got there, parked, and then didn't get in the car again until we left for home. It also had plenty of parking. If you got there before your room was ready, you could park and they have a changing room for you to use the pool or head straight to the beach. Also, everything in Beach Haven was a 10-20 minute walk away (for slow walking).

Our room came with a mini fridge and ac, and was exceptionally clean. Let me stress CLEAN. The sheets were spotless, our bathroom impeccable, and the shower sparkling. The decor is beachy and dated, but I enjoyed it. Surprisingly roomy as well for the three of us.

Overall we went to relax by the beach and the pool and got what we came for at a good value. Definitely would return and would recommend others staying there.

Room Tip: Our room on bottom floor seems to be newer, probably because of Sandy. If you don't care about a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Elisabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This place definitely has its ups and downs.

Pros:
Very close to the beach.
It was very quiet at night.
Nice pool. They seemed to take good care of it.
Room size was fine. The mini fridge was nice to have as was the small microwave.

Cons:

You might have trouble parking.

The website states there is no smoking allowed anywhere on property but there were ashtrays outside every room and plenty of smokers everywhere including by the pool.

My room had a weird, funky smell. It wasn't the typical beachy, musty smell you'd expect but rather an unpleasant mix of stale beer/cigarettes. I thought it was urine at first. I've been home since yesterday and can still smell it on my luggage which is currently airing out on my back deck.. Housekeeping came to clean up during our stay but I suspect that years of smoking and spilled beer have done permanent damage to the carpets and wood panel walls. (yes, wood paneling).

Bring your own pillows.

Wifi wasn't reliable which wasn't too big a deal for us..

I'm not sure I would stay again since it was almost $700 (including several different taxes) for two nights in a raunchy smelling room and surrounded by smokers. But if you are a smoker, go for it! You won't notice the raunchy smell and the location can't be beat.

Room Tip: If you are paying for an ocean front room, make sure it's on the top floor. Ours was on the midd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank S_MV4232JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great location! Just a few steps away from the beach, a pool outside your door and a short walk to town. The rooms are very clean and the staff is friendly. The pool is clean and well maintained. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 110 is located by the stairway. A little noisy at night hearing people walk upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DianeHi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I wish I could rate coral seas higher than 5....I'd give them a 10. Service, friendliness, cleanliness and location are out if this world. We will definitely be back. We just loved being able to spend time on the beach then walk a few steps and we were at the pool. It is amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hezzpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I stayed over night for my birthday. Room & grounds were clean, staff very friendly. Everything was within walking distance, which is always nice. Price was comparable to other motels in area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PATRICIA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beach Haven
7 mi away
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
1.3 mi away
Spray Beach Hotel
Spray Beach Hotel
#6 of 12 in Beach Haven
176 reviews
5.4 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Mariner Inn
Mariner Inn
#9 of 12 in Beach Haven
62 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#8 of 12 in Beach Haven
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windward at the Beach
Windward at the Beach
#4 of 7 in Beach Haven
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Seas Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Seas Oceanfront Motel

Address: 21 Coral St, PO Box 1175, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-1600
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Beach Haven
Price Range: £91 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are oceanfront in the heart of Beach Haven. Our oceanfront rooms each have a private balcony. Our standard rooms and suites overlook the pool. We are a quiet, family and couples oriented motel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coral Seas Oceanfront Hotel Beach Haven
Hotel Coral Seas Oceanfront
Coral Seas Oceanfront Motel Beach Haven, New Jersey - Long Beach Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing