We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LBI Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chicken or the Egg

The Chicken or the Egg
Ranked #1 of 89 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: When we boast that there is something for everyone, it's not without merit. There are classic items and ones that are completely original and unique. And then there are the wings... A lot of places talk a good buffalo wing, but the "Chegg" as it is now commonly known, truly delivers. The wings are big, juicy and available in 17 sauces, both Original Breaded, or Naked. The Chicken or the Egg has become know locally and Nationally for these big beauties. And best of all, the whole menu (breakfast too) is available 24 hours a day (in season). But for us, it's not just about the food. It's about family. It's about camaraderie. It' s about good times. So come io in and join the family. Join the fun. You'll be happy you did. Oh, and sorry about the lines. People dig us. But it' s worth the wait.
Aberdeen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“LBI Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had breakfast at the COTG the first Sunday in June. There was a slight wait. They are a 24 hour eatery, that sells wing sauces as well. The food was good, booths & tables, no views. Interesting decor. Service was good, food was served hot. We got wings to go - they also have takeout. I understand there are very long waits in season.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WWDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    164
    52
    27
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great Service. Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We decided to give this place a try after reading the review. It wasn't empty and there wasn't a line out of the door. Great clean vibe to the place. We were seated as soon as we got in. They have a wide variety of stuff to eat. My fiancé purchased buttercup pancakes which was awesome. I got wings and wasn't disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank PRINCE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach Island, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WINGS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you want wings, this is the place to go. Sometimes their is a long wait but it is well worth the wait. It is BYOB, and they will give you ice to keep it cold while you wait and while you eat. If you are on LBI you must make the trip. During the summer they are open 24/7.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mobile9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It's an LBI institution”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We didn't get down last year because our house is still being worked on post-Sandy. It's strange to go through a whole summer without ever Chegging it. There have been times I've had breakfast, lunch and after-bar food there on a Saturday.

The wings are of course famous and they should be because they're awesome. My personal favorite though is the nachos. Whatever you get you'll love the food and the atmosphere. It's a crazy scene at night, but some of my best memories are there when I was in my 20s at 3 am.

Of course the "when did you visit" choices only go back a year but I've been going to the Chegg for years and will go until I die or LBI is underwater.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuckerton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great place on LBI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Have been to Chicken or the Egg 4 times now with wife, mother in law, and son. We really like the atmosphere and food. Have had breakfast, lunch, and dinner there, with the wings (of course) being the real standout.

In the summer, you might be waiting a long time for a table; but takeout is always an option as well. Best restaurant in lbi for families.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chicken or the Egg also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Surf City, Long Beach Island
 

Been to The Chicken or the Egg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing