We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family fun Pirate Adventure”

Black Pearl Pirate Excursion
Holmdel
Level Contributor
296 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Family fun Pirate Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The crew of the Black Pearl engage kids of all ages if you give them a chance. There's plenty of fun and memories, so have a camera and video ready. Start by getting reservations, as safety dictates a limit on passengers for this increasingly popular attraction. We've gone three years running and it's usually a full boat. Hope for good weather, but that's the only variable...the fun is guaranteed. An early arrival let's kids get dressed in pirate garb and get face painting as part of the package. Bring cash for refreshments (adult included). The mates lead fun singinging and games, to and from a nearby site, at which point bandits in a high speed raft attack the Black Pearl. You defend the boat with water canons. Prepare to get very wet! The fun lasts an hour, but the memories will be around much longer. It's a "must do" regular event for this family. Enjoy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    29
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good hour for young kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a good experience for young kids and a good alternative to beach time for families. Arrive half an hour early for face paint and dress- up. To the management, I would recommend using some paint that dries quickly. I don't know what they used but it took awhile to dry and it got on everything. Usually face paint dries quicker than this.
The girls who played the pirates were very good and I thought that the whole experience with the map, looking for treasure, and water fight with the "attacking pirates" was a lot of fun. Probably ideal for kids 4-8. For adults, there's beer. Be warned that you may get wet. It ends by kids getting "treasure" - candy of course, plus some coins and beads.
Overall, a good experience that I would recommend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank NYEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“For Children under 8”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We made a reservation, as was recommended. We arrived about 3:20. At 3:30, 2 girls dressed as pirates set up for the face painting but never announced they were ready. They sat there looking as though they'd rather be anywhere else. My 10 year old grandson was not interested in the face painting or dressing up, and of course the 7 year old does whatever his brother does. Once on the ship the pirates finally started to show some enthusiasm. The younger children really got involved and seemed to have a good time. Once the water cannons started, my grandchildren started to get interersted. They gave out "grog" and treasure. I would recommend this for younger children, ages 4-8. Maybe it would have helped me if I had bought myself and "adult grog" beverage. LOL!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MzWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPFD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best money spent on family time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We arrived on the dock at about 3:30 my son was dressed in pirate clothing and face painted to resemble a crusty pirate! The girls that dressed and tattooed our son then lead us on to the magnificent ship that makes you think of old time pirate movies! It was an amazing site!
Our Pirate Girl leaders, 'shark bait' and 'knuckles' started with safety for the kids and taught them basic boat language, this helped them drew all the children and adults in to their story of losing the treasure and the map! The kids were enthralled! The kids even had a chance to do battle (using water cannons) with the treasure stealing 'pirate Pete'! The kids won back their treasure and they all got a chance to share in the bounty of their treasure chest! All the while sailing up and down the bay, getting a wonderful view of the island!

It is well worth the money and was a fabulous way to spend a summer afternoon!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Dawn lip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Pearl Pirate Excursion also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Black Pearl Pirate Excursion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing