We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lobster Bisque On The Island...”

Howard's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 92 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Valley Cottage, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Bisque On The Island...”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Howard's is a great place to have a nice relaxing dinner on the Island. It is a bring your own and there is a liquor store across the street. The lobster bisque is amazing! You must get it. We even get some to go! I also highly recommend the crab cake broiled. Staff was kind and helpful. We will be returning to LBI in a few weeks and we are looking forward to heading back to Howards.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    45
    29
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to Beach Haven for years, but this was our first visit to Howard's. The food was excellent and service was very good. You have to try the French fried lobster. We took our 3 kids, ages 1, 3, and 5. The place is kind of tight, so if your kids aren't well behaved they can get in the way and annoy other customers pretty easily. The service was quick enough that our kids kept it together, but not so fast that you feel rushed. We'll certainly return.

Helpful?
Thank mgfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Expensive for what it is”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Entrees are expensive considering that they are fairly mediocre and primary choices are different types of fried seafood. On the positive side, staff was friendly and food was served quickly. All in all, I am sure there are other restaurants on LBI that provide better value for the cost.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mbee1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Ever..”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

One of the best meals we ever had. Service was fabulous. View of the marina. Try the French Fried Lobster!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank palmfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Why the long lines?”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Poor service and (for NJ Shore) average but good fresh seafood makes you wonder about the long lines. Yes BYOB is awesome and there's a superb wine shop just across the road.

Have the NE clam chowder... some of the best we've had, and any of the local fish, sword, tuna, all good.

Avoid the calamari which is greasy and tasteless. The french fried lobster is a great way to ruin lobster.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bestrobots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Howard's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Howard's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing