We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unhappy tourist” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marlin Restaurant & Bar

Marlin Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #71 of 89 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Hopewell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“unhappy tourist”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

went slightly out of season, no type of substitions availabe, nothing gluten free, 2 out of 3 of us ended up getting sick, never again.........altough we had the nicest waitress, wish i could remember her name, wasn't her fault!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karenmaryansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    16
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
87 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Mediocre all around. Kids food was fine. Pasta dishes ok. The rest wasn't especially worth noting. OK bar. Unlike many other restaurants on LBI they don't seem to feature noise.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Len B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What am I missing?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for an impromptu dinner, rather skeptical given the poor reviews. I can honestly say I don't know what you people are complaining about. Seated quickly with no reservation. Service was excellent. The scallop entree is simply amazing! I rarely get excited about food, but the pan seared scallops were perfectly paired with a creamed corn. It was excellent. Drinks were refilled timely and our waitress was very attentive. Just goes to show you shouldn't put a ton of weight on negative reviews.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jkaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

I brought my family out to the Marlin and I was pleasantly surprised after reading some of the reviews. The food was absolutely delicious and came out quickly! The menu had a variety of specials and something everyone could enjoy. Our server was very pleasant and accommodating. I will definitely be returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JaniceR6772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good place for a drink”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stopped in Marlin for a drink.

Place was empty at 6:30 PM on a Saturday and smelled as if they were flooded out once and never cleaned it up properly. You got used to the smell after a few minutes and/or drinks.

Service was good but again this place was empty. This place is in desperate need of a renovation.
Would I come back? Sure. But only for more drinks after eating at other restaurants close by.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marlin Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Marlin Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing