We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home! ”
Review of Sea Spray Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Spray Motel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Beach Haven
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

My family and I have stayed at the sea spray motel 2 years in a row, and have booked this year already! We love this place! Hospitality is excellent, rooms are very clean and well maintained. The staff is dedicated to making our stay the best it can be, and are always on hand and willing to go the extra mile for us! There is a beautiful pool, the beach is right across the street, it's close to the attractions, but far enough away so it is quiet and peaceful. They have an excellent tradition of holding your room for the next year, if you want it, this has really been a great thing for us as we travel to LBI every August with a large group, so nice to know we will be taken care of when we get there.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank kimcoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Sea Spray Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed at the Sea Spray for the second year in a row in September. It was one of thee most relaxing vacations that my wife and I have taken in years. The heated pool was great and the off season rates really help. We are planning to go back for a third year in a row. The fall is a great time to visit LBI. Our two major decisions of each day - where to have breakfast and where to have dinner. Most restaurants have early bird specials in the fall! Give the Sea Spray a try and I think you will like it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

What a great little motel. It's nice and quiet and across the street from the beach. Nice families staying there. The pool is large and heated. There is ping pong, foosball table, basketball court, large plastic bowling set, etc to keep the kids busy. Parking lot is large and easy to access. Staff is friendly and helpful. The room was large and clean with cable TV, small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer in the bathroom. The outdoor grills looked new and clean. I have stayed other places but this was the best of all the motels and I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor. There are chairs outside the rooms to sit and relax. Sort of a balcon...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiki2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The Sea Spray Motel is located between the Beach Haven business district and Holgate, a quieter place than the middle of town. I spent two nights off season in a basic queen bed room @ about $85 per night (decent price, booked when I arrived on LBI). In-season rates are considerably higher . . . check the website. The room included private bath, tiny microwave, decent dorm refrigerator, desk, cable TV, tiny table and a reasonably comfortable bed. Flooring was a Pergo-like laminate, and the room was immaculate.

The Sea Spray offers your basic, thin-towels lodging. The best feature is the handicapped access path to the beach immediately across the boulevard. It's incredibly easy to pop over with a beach chair, sit by the surf, and pop back. Free, onsite parking is easy. The motel also offers larger rooms with full kitchens, up to a 3BR unit. I didn't see any of those myself, but it seems like the kind of place that would cater to family groups in season. There is a decent pool, and games like beanbag toss and lawn bowling are available for guest use. The staff members were nice. The ice machine that serves the whole motel was broken for several days when I was there, with only a mini cooler of ice available until repairs could be made. Check out is 11:00 a.m., with no flexibility.

One suggestion: Be sure to ask for an updated room, just in case there are some that haven't been spruced up lately. I had an upstairs room, and there was little sound transmission.

Bonus: Coupons were available in the office for discounts at local breakfast places and RonJon Surf Shop.

I will return for more off season visits. Have to see the rates before considering summertime.

Room Tip: I like the higher floor (2 floors in building).
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NooYawkMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here for the second year in a row this past August.
Great amenities. Pool is clean.
Beach access is directly across the street. It's away from all the hustle and is very quiet. A great spot for people who just want to relax and don't need all the excitement of being mid-island.
We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VVoltaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We decided to go to Beach Haven for Labor Day weekend. Based on so many positive reviews about this place I decided to give it a try. I had gone there with 2 toddlers, my husband and my parents. As soon as we entered the room the horrible smell hit us like a truck. It smelled of dirt and mildew. The rooms look like they have not been updated since the early 80s. The staff is not friendly. The wifi did not work half the time even though I had paid for it. The best part? When I had gotten there I was told that they "don't allow" air beds. Why would they not allow air beds when every other hotel in the free world does? Not sure and I never bothered to find out. My guess is it's because they want you to use their smelly cots so they can charge you for them daily. I really don't understand how anybody could give this place a good review. They really need to renovate, or at the very least, get rid of that smell. Needless to say, we will not come back here and would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tanyag_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We took a chance booking our summer vacation here, without benefit of a personal reference and it really paid off. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. The facilities are very well kept and clean. We constantly saw housekeeping staff mopping the floors outside room doors and the grounds being maintained. Keep in mind, this is not a 5 star luxury hotel, but the facilities make for a fun and convenient beach vacation. The ping pong table, foosball table and bean bag toss made for hours of family competition. The poolside picnic tables were a nice alternative to eating out or in our room. We did not make use of the gas grills, but those would have been great, had we planned to cook meals.

The beach is just across the street and the motel provided us with beach passes. Stores, restaurants and the Fantasy Island arcade are a short 1.5 mile drive away. The motel does not provide pool towels, which would have been convenient. Instead, we used beach chairs and a large beach blanket to keep our beach towels free from sand, so they could be used at the pool. Plenty of lounge chairs and several tables with umbrellas are poolside. The pool was heated and large, with 3-4 foot and 6-8 foot depths.

During our stay, most guests were families with young children. The environment, staff and guest were family friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulTravel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beach Haven
2.5 mi away
Spray Beach Hotel
Spray Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Beach Haven
169 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mariner Inn
Mariner Inn
#7 of 12 in Beach Haven
61 reviews
8.2 mi away
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
123 reviews
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
6.6 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Motel

Address: 2600 S Long Beach Blvd, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-1299
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Beach Haven
Price Range: £205 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Spray Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Spray Motel is located at the Southern End of Long Beach Island. We are just steps to the Beach and Bayfront. Nestled in a secluded residential neighborhood one mile south from the center of Beach Haven you will enjoy the beach, heated pool and lounge area, picnic area with gas grills and tables in a clean, quiet, well maintained, family oriented environment. Sound like an LBI paradise? Warning: you may not want to leave our premise. Yet the lore of the Queen City abounds. Beach Haven has offered world class resort entertainment for centuries. All motel rooms are well equipped including refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, blow dryer, cable tv, ac, heat, phone, and wifi is available. We also offer efficiency and suites. The motel is across the street from the life guarded, fishing and surfing beaches. We will provide beach badges. We offer free off street parking. Our large in ground pool offers an area to lounge in the sun and umbrella covered tables. We access a several mile bike lane passing the motel. Basket ball hoop area and ping pong table for more fun in the sun. Our staff attends to details and are willing to assist. We look forward to accommodating you visit.Thank you for choosing the Sea Spray Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Sea Spray Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Hotel Beach Haven
Sea Spray Beach Haven
Sea Spray Motel Beach Haven, New Jersey - Long Beach Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing