We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
158
20
9
5
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
158
20
9
5
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunflower roombeach chairsbaked treatsice packsbrilliant cooklovely smellinvigorating showergift bagfeel instantly at hometrip homelovely garden areafresh fruits juiceswell thought outabundant flowerscozy atmospheredelectable breakfastthe location is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Located 5 minutes walk from the beach, this warm and welcoming guest house is ideal for families, couples, and solo travellers. Wonderful food, beautiful (and spotless) rooms each with their own style, and an unfailingly helpful, courteous and friendly staff. A real family atmosphere is created by Joanne and Mark (who will show you his bike). It was a real treat to stay here - there's nothing about the place that doesn't make you feel relaxed and welcomed. I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

This was my first time at a B&B ever, and it was an absolutely fantastic introduction! My bf lives in London so we decided to spend Memorial day weekend on LBI.

The location of Island Guest House is fantastic--the beach is 3 (very short) blocks away, there's an arcade up the road and you're maybe two blocks from The Shell, which is a great place (perhaps only place?) to get a nice cold beer on the beach and listen to live music. The food and service was OUTSTANDING. Joanne will fatten you up with her absolutely outstanding cooking; we really looked forward to breakfast every morning--something new every day, from secret recipe cheese blintzes to sausage and eggs, to bagels and pancakes--you name it. For the price and the amount/quality of food you get, it really is a bargain.

Joanne and Mark are also just outstanding people, and they've selected equally outstanding people to work with them. Joanne is so warm and inviting, and Mark knows just about everything there is to know about the island (he has great recommendations). If you're lucky he'll give you a ride on the harley (which is a beauty).

The rooms were very comfortable--extremely clean with great amenities like shampoos and body washes, comfortable AC, and a great flat screen tv. It was also really quiet!

Great for young couples and even families with children--ask about the cottage (though during our stay there was a family with children and we didn't even hear them ONCE. a pleasure to be around).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikksters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

With a wonderful location, clean, comfortable rooms and friendly and welcoming proprietors, the Island Guesthouse is a delightful oasis in a sea of nearby strip motels and chain accommodation. Mark and Joanne, along with their lovely daughter Victoria, balance working hard to meet individual guests' needs while respecting the privacy and personal space occasionally too cloying at other Bed and Breakfasts. Breakfast served at the Inn is outstanding, with Joanne carefully supervising preparation and service to insure standards equivalent to finer resorts. In short, the Island Guesthouse is a wonderful destination and sure to please even the most discerning visitor.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSponholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed this past weekend and really enjoyed our time at the Island Guest House. Gracious hospitality and comfy beds were only the beginning. The location is ideal, walking distance to everything you can imagine. Only a few houses from the beach. Breakfast was not formal as I have had at some B&B's, but it was fresh and varied. There is a casual island feel about the place. We shared a bathroom because we booked late and the other rooms with private bath were taken. This semi-private bath was always clean, but there was a short wait one or 2 times. The place was quiet at night and made for a good nights sleep. There was some streetlights outside so if you are very sensitive to light bring something to cover your eyes. I found several of the rooms to be very small, but everything was immaculately clean and the owners are always available if you need something. They welcome kids which is unusual for LBI.
All in all a restful stay in a superb location.

Room Tip: top floor rooms have shared bath.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wkdwtch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I highly recommend this B&B!! The food was delicious, the rooms were perfect, and the hotel had its own historic charm. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madhatterxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews