We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we could have stayed longer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jolly Roger Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beach Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jolly Roger Motel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed overnight at the Jolly Roger last night for a perfect getaway. We love this place and hope to return shortly with our adult children. Our second-floor room was clean, quiet, and came with a lovely private balcony. In addition, there is a small deck facing the ocean on the second floor, and a rooftop deck with a 360 degree view above, including lounging chairs. The hotel is ideally located steps from the ocean, where the beach was pristine and uncrowded. Hard to believe this is NJ! Our hosts Judy and Mary Ann were charming, friendly, and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. Please LIKE this place on Facebook - it's a true jewel of a find in a great neighborhood that is rising like a Phoenix from the ashes after Hurricane Sandy's onslaught. We can't wait to return.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ZoeandTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    18
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
49
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Looking for a place to stay on LBI?? Well look no further! You will enjoy your stay just as we did! The Jolly Roger is family owned and operated business located on the very southern end of LBI in Holgate directly across the street from an awesome beach and the world renowned Wooden Jetty! The JR decks and outdoor spaces are a lovely place to relax and watch the sunsets. The rooms are perfectly clean with comfy beds and a mini fridge and microwave. There is a deli next door for yummy sandwiches and cold drinks and a bike rental with ice cream shop only a mile north called The Boardwalk. The hubbub of the center of Beach Haven is a mere 2 miles away if you are looking for action. But it is very nice to return to the quietest part of the island to kick your shoes off and enjoy the sand and sun. Holgate is special...because of the people who live and visit there! Come see this special LBI ICON for yourself! Judy and Brad will be waiting for you with big smiles and warm Holgatian Hearts!

Room Tip: Southside Upper Level for great views! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iluvmygiants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I stayed at the Jolly Roger for three days and those three days were amazing. The rooms were clean and neat. The Jolly Roger was so close to the beach all you did was walk across the street and you were there at the beach. Anyone who wants to stay at this motel, your money is worth it! This motel is great! Brad and Judy made us feel like family and welcome. They introduced us to almost every one. I hade a great trip.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor have thier own balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swaggalicious109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Jolly Roger Motel this past weekend. It was the first time that I stayed in this motel. From the moment we arrived, till the time we left Judy made us feel completely at home. You can tell that she really cares about her guests. The rooms are very clean.They are equipped with a refrigerator and a microwave. My room had a queen size bed, which was very comfortable. The room also has a TV, dresser and chair. Plenty of room to move around. One of the things that I loved most about this motel is that the windows open and you can get fresh air(yes, it had a working air conditioner as well). I loved hearing the sound of the ocean from my room. The beach is directly across the street so within two minutes you can be in the ocean. The Jolly Roger also has decks that overlook the beach. You can enjoy sunrise or sunset without leaving the motel. They do have beach tags for their guests as well. I highly recommend the Jolly Roger for anyone who loves being close to the beach. Lastly, you won't meet a more pleasant staff. Thank you, Judy, Brad and Maryann!!

Beverly Recchiuti, Bethlehem, Pa

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

The Jolly Roger is a warm and welcoming motel located at the end of the island. The room was very clean and basic. The staff was friendly and helpful especially for first time visitors. Coffee and sweet rolls awaited us in the lobby every morning. We were excited to find this get-at-way location and will be back very soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We have been going to LBI for decades and we stayed at the Jolly Roger last night for the first time. The place is great, very clean rooms, great location, great views. We will be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSIslandTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Jolly Roger for two nights (weekend) in July. It is at the very end of the island at the barricade. The location is great because it is very quiet. Amy was helpful in giving us excellent restaurant recommendations (we highly recommend the Maine Course). The room was basic, but it was clean and just what we were looking for for $180/night. There is also a mini fridge and a microwave in the room. We had a small balcony which was next to other rooms, but good for hanging beach towels out to dry. There are also two common decks with nice views. Checkout time is 11am, but Amy allowed us to keep the beach badges until 2pm. We used the bathrooms and outdoor showers across the street (at the beach) to clean off before driving home. It was great for a quick weekend getaway, and it's one of the lowest priced hotels on LBI.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSM2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beach Haven
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
14.1 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,606 reviews
13.5 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#7 of 11 in Beach Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
10.9 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Roger Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Roger Motel

Property: Jolly Roger Motel
Address: 5416 S Long Beach Blvd, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-1013
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beach Haven
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Jolly Roger Motel And Gifts Hotel Beach Haven
Jolly Roger Motel Beach Haven, New Jersey - Long Beach Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing