We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ocean view”
Review of Jolly Roger Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beach Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jolly Roger Motel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed at the Jolly Roger Motel at the extreme south end of Long Beach Island, right next to the wildlife preserve. Our room, room #1 had five windows all with views of the ocean which is just across the street. The room was comfortable, freshly painted with new carpet. The is a deck outside where we could enjoy breakfast or a glass of wine. Upstairs there is a large rooftop deck which offers spectacular views of both the ocean and bay, and especially wonderful sunsets. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There are fresh pastries and coffee each morning. One very big bonus is that guests are able to book this place for one night, a very rare possibility on LBI. The owners, Judy and Brad couldn't be more helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank porporaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

My wife and I wanted a quick getaway and we found the Jolly Roger online and could not have been happier. The motel is clean, quaint, and a few steps from the beach. The owners Judy and Brad, along with the manager Mary-Ann, were extremely cordial and welcoming. Best of all, the price was very reasonable.

The room was comfortable, equipped with a microwave, fridge and AC. You can also open the windows to enjoy the ocean breeze if desired. The decor of the room is also more modern... not a room that looks like it hasn't been updated since the late 70s.

One of the best features about the JR is the roof-top deck. The deck offers a 360 degree view of the lower part of the island allowing you to view the beach and best of all the sun rise and set. Anyone with a camera will love this, along with being only a few steps to the beach.

The motel is about 2 1/2 miles south from the main part of town, which means it's extremely quiet. This has it's advatages and disadvantages depending on what you want.

Overall, we were very happy with the Jolly Roger and will be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Awesome! Located at the very southern end of LBI, it is very quite and relaxing. Judy was very cheerful and welcoming. The whole place was indicative of a seashore get away. Bright, clean, and cozy. The personal touches were evident of Judy and Brad's hospitality and pride in the continuation of their family business. This area of LBI was hit hard by Hurricane Sandy and yet the people of this island have rallied together showing their strength and resilience. Come visit LBI and support this motel and community. The ocean waves, sea breeze, and peacefulness will will not disappoint you! Charming seaside motel! We'll be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are on the second floor as the buildings along the shore are built on stilts to survive ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at Jolly Roger the weekend of the 4th of July, just 2 nights. I called them on Wednesday, luckily they had one room left, it was the simplest one but it didn't matter, I found an available room in LBI!!!

The motel is very well located: next to the beach, very close to the "downtown" (Beach Haven) and on top of everything has an amazing rooftop with chairs and tables where you can enjoy the sunset even better than in a crowded rooftop bar. In the morning you have coffee and sweet buns, which is nice. Overall the vibe of the motel is cool because the owners (Judy and co) are very nice people. This hotel is perfect for a couple in a getaway.

So why the sad ending? It seems that the housekeeper (the owner, Judy) while doing our room threw a bag where I had my "road-kitchen"... all those elements that you need while traveling: knifes, coffee, milk, different openers, sugar, chopping board (Yes, we love picnics!!!) but the act of unintentionally throwing it wasn't as disappointing as the attitude of the recepctionist: just one simple sorry and a "If you'd have told us before..." hahaaaa hilarious! So it's my fault? Ok. Rule nr 1 of housekeeping: you never throw things that aren't in the trash can.

Conclusion: beautiful motel, I highly recommend it but be careful with your stuff and don't accept room nr 9 if there is other option, it is veeeeery noisy!!

Room Tip: Avoid room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalaGali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight at the Jolly Roger last night for a perfect getaway. We love this place and hope to return shortly with our adult children. Our second-floor room was clean, quiet, and came with a lovely private balcony. In addition, there is a small deck facing the ocean on the second floor, and a rooftop deck with a 360 degree view above, including lounging chairs. The hotel is ideally located steps from the ocean, where the beach was pristine and uncrowded. Hard to believe this is NJ! Our hosts Judy and Mary Ann were charming, friendly, and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. Please LIKE this place on Facebook - it's a true jewel of a find in a great neighborhood that is rising like a Phoenix from the ashes after Hurricane Sandy's onslaught. We can't wait to return.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ZoeandTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Looking for a place to stay on LBI?? Well look no further! You will enjoy your stay just as we did! The Jolly Roger is family owned and operated business located on the very southern end of LBI in Holgate directly across the street from an awesome beach and the world renowned Wooden Jetty! The JR decks and outdoor spaces are a lovely place to relax and watch the sunsets. The rooms are perfectly clean with comfy beds and a mini fridge and microwave. There is a deli next door for yummy sandwiches and cold drinks and a bike rental with ice cream shop only a mile north called The Boardwalk. The hubbub of the center of Beach Haven is a mere 2 miles away if you are looking for action. But it is very nice to return to the quietest part of the island to kick your shoes off and enjoy the sand and sun. Holgate is special...because of the people who live and visit there! Come see this special LBI ICON for yourself! Judy and Brad will be waiting for you with big smiles and warm Holgatian Hearts!

Room Tip: Southside Upper Level for great views! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iluvmygiants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I stayed at the Jolly Roger for three days and those three days were amazing. The rooms were clean and neat. The Jolly Roger was so close to the beach all you did was walk across the street and you were there at the beach. Anyone who wants to stay at this motel, your money is worth it! This motel is great! Brad and Judy made us feel like family and welcome. They introduced us to almost every one. I hade a great trip.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor have thier own balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swaggalicious109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beach Haven
9.3 mi away
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
3.6 mi away
Spray Beach Hotel
Spray Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Beach Haven
170 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mariner Inn
Mariner Inn
#9 of 12 in Beach Haven
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
123 reviews
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
1.2 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#7 of 12 in Beach Haven
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Roger Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Roger Motel

Address: 5416 S Long Beach Blvd, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-1013
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beach Haven
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Jolly Roger Motel And Gifts Hotel Beach Haven
Jolly Roger Motel Beach Haven, New Jersey - Long Beach Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing