We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good No Frills Italian Fare”

Calabria Ristorante
Ranked #31 of 89 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned and operated Southern Italian Ristorante specializing in fresh pastas, local seafood, and Italian style pizza with amazing deserts. We now offer Gloria winery wines from Nappa Valley California 1/2 bottles and full bottle service of a selection of white, red and sangria
New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good No Frills Italian Fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Good Variety of Italian food including pizza, pasta, chicken, veal, etc. Generally pretty traditional food without a lot of twists. Good size portions that can even be shared if not a big eater. The clams are a good choice for appetizer (prepared a few different ways). Entrees come with a decent House salad. The pizza is good but on the expensive side for what you get (like most of the rest of the menu). The service is attentive and the place is comfortable but basic. There are also a handful of outside tables that overlook the parking lot. No "value" here but you won't go home hungry or "wowed".

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanoNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    13
    9
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
164 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Decent Overpriced Italian Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I suppose the prices are in line with Jersey Shore Prices,but they are a bit high for a glorified pizzeria.the place was clean,the staff was friendly,fast,and attentive.I would like to give a shout out for server Mike,especially friendly a,helpful,and attentive to our needs.However the food was very ordinary,could be had at any pizzeria for cheaper prices.It was a decent night out though and i could recommend this place for that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tojo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food with good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Came in with a party of 12. Place is a bit small, but they handled us very well.
One very competent waitress handled the entire group.
Bread was warm and fresh, apps delicious, entrees very tasty and LARGE also.
Those who had dessert were pleased with them as well.
I'm a sucker for a good family run Italian restaurant and Calabria is right in my sweet spot.
Supposedly their pizza is the best on LBI, will need to check that out next time.
Remember that it's BYOB and enjoy !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank POK_LAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We are an Italian Family and visited Calabria's by accident on July 23, 2013. What a great accident!!!!!
The food was great and the service was even better! Our server was Tina and her professional attitude and delivery enhanced the visit.
We came back the next day for a carry-out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“an LBI must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Calabria is one of my favorite spots on the island. Whenever a couple friends and I want to avoid expensive bar prices, we pick up a bottle of wine and go to calabria to sit on the outside deck, relax and enjoy some excellent italian. The pizza there is a must, but every seafood dish I've ever tried is delicious as well. The scallops are my favorite, prepared any way on the menu, and the prices are some of the most reasonable on the Island with huge portions! Definitely hit this spot up, it's a great place for all!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calabria Ristorante also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Calabria Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing