We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beach Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Williams Cottage Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Beach Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

Although we lurched out with a perfect fall weekend, Williams Cottage Inn is worth the trip even during a monsoon. We stayed in the Rose Garden room (featuring a window seat and a sitting room with a gas fireplace - bliss!). Our innkeepers kindly suggested dinner destinations and made our reservation too - and while we waited we enjoyed delicious homemade cranberry chocolate chip cookies. Breakfast was superb and the house is beautifully restored. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alice_lenthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

Normally we vacation on OBX but with our limited schedule this year, we only had a few days to get away. Based on the on-line reviews we read, this B&B seemed to be the right fit for us and was it ever!
Bette and Merle are outstanding! Right from the start, we knew we had a made a friend while making our reservations. Friendly, Funny and efficient - Bette & Merle made us feel at home. We arrived in the middle of their breakfast hour yet they took the time to get us situated with their beach equipment including homemade fly spray! These 2 don't miss a trick...delicious, homemade and creative breakfasts welcomed us each morning, Freshly made cookies each day and a list of restaurants based on our palate were waiting for us when we returned from the beautiful and very private adjacent beach. Bette and Merle couldn't be any nicer or more helpful with dining reservations or directions to the closest entertainment or whatever you need. This is by far the best managed B&B I have ever stayed at. Treat yourself to a little slice of paradise on LBI - Call Bette and Merle - you will be glad you did!

Room Tip: The angel room was very quiet, well appointed and a great shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Couldn't have asked for a better place to unwind for a few days after our wedding! It was the easiest place to go, didn't have to think of much to bring, all beach accessories were provided and the bikes were a great plus. The location was perfect, steps from the beach and right near Bay Village and many great restaurants. The inn is beautiful with Victorian charm and elegance. We spent 2 nights in the dome room which had wonderful views of the ocean. All the rooms are beautiful though! Breakfast was always delicious and Bette and Merle were the nicest hosts! We are already talking about other special occasions in which to stay at the Williams Cottage Inn!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneneM924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

Bette and Merle are instant friends and they think of everything. The house is so clean and the furnishings interesting. The gourmet breakfast was a real treat. We forgot beach chairs only to find put they had everything: cool chairs, umbrellas, beach bags (!) and plenty of oversized towels. We stayed in the 'Angel' room which has the biggest shower we've ever seen with four wall jets and a rain shower head. Loads of fancy soaps and other ammenities. No need to bring anything-it's all there. Coming back next year for sure! Merle is taking me surfcasting. . Bob & Jane

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobPhiladelphiaPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My husband and I recently spent four days at the beautiful Williams Cottage Inn. It was the best vacation we have taken in ages! The Inn itself is a beautifully restored Victorian just a short distance from the beach. Everything is provided: beach towels, umbrella, chairs and beach badges. Bette and Merle, the innkeepers are wonderful! They provided a list of the local restaurants and made reservations for us. The breakfasts were amazing - delicious and beautifully presented. The freshly made cookies available every afternoon were yummy. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This welcoming B&B is not inexpensive, but it nonetheless offers good value. With ultra-strict zoning laws, Beach Haven has proportionately few by-the-night rentals of any kind, so prices are generally steeper. But, beyond that, the Williams Cottage Inn has done a terrific job of thinking through the needs of busy people slipping away to the beach for a few days. The location, a quarter-block from a gorgeous, uncrowded beach, gets you off to a good start, but the inn also gives you the "armaments" you need: The standard (required) beach pass, but also the use of good-quality beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, beach bags, cooler bags, thermos bottles--just show up with your clothes and toiletries. There are also free loaner bikes for those of us on childhood-in-Beach-Haven nostalgia trips. The innkeepers, Betty and Merle, are eager to help (including securing last-minute dinner reservations--and offering dependable recommendations), and Betty (with Merle's help) prepares extensive, superb breakfasts. With another husband and wife team, Christopher and Debbie, assisting with upkeep, there's always someone to help you with a problem--although problems at this well-run in are few. Rooms are handsomely decorated, mostly spacious, and spotlessly clean. And while the house may be over a hundred years old, the plumbing and wiring (and wi-fi) are state-of-the-art. There's even a lovely wrap-around porch to sit on in the gap hours of the evening. Hands-down, this is one of the best-run B&Bs we've ever encountered. Of course, perfection is the realm of the heavens, not the earth, and there was one brief initial glitch: The first afternoon of our stay, dreadful sort-of-Kenny-G music thumped up through the floor of our room (the Blue Room--lovely). As soon as I raised the issue with one of the hosts, the music immediately stopped being a problem--in off hours, they had been trying out a new sound system. Now, there is often background music on the main floor, but, while we're not humans-in-search-of-a-constant-soundtrack, it was generally inoffensive. If we returned--and we hope to--we'd try to book the tower room, which is farthest from any noise (the blue room is just above some of the speakers downstairs). Again, the hosts immediately fixed the problem--and we had a splendid stay over a long weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest room available--but all rooms appear to be attractive and well-appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We loved the William's cottage inn it was fabulous-great room and really clean. Innkeepers are terrific as well as the breakfasts! BRAVO!!!!! The location of the inn is right near the beach and they give you the beach badges as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beach Haven
7.2 mi away
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
0.2 mi away
Windward at the Beach
Windward at the Beach
#5 of 7 in Beach Haven
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
The Sand Castle
The Sand Castle
#1 of 5 in Barnegat Light
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Guest House Bed and Breakfast Inn
1.5 mi away
Spray Beach Hotel
Spray Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Beach Haven
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williams Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williams Cottage Inn

Address: 506 S Atlantic Ave, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-1640
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Beach Haven
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Williams Cottage Inn Beach Haven, New Jersey - Long Beach Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing